We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bedford
Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not so great area”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

When a group of us suddenly decided on a holiday weekend away, we picked French Lick, Indiana, out of thin air. With rates at the French Lick resort running over $500 per night, we opted for this Holiday Inn in Bedford.

Rates were reasonable, the room was comfortable, and we got "goodie bags" at check-in. The breakfast downstairs had a pancake machine (if we had had children with us, it is possible they would have refused to leave that machine) and all sorts of hot and cold items. Rooms had fridges and coffee makers, and excellent showers. The pool area was good, if a little cholorine-y.

The only problem with the hotel was an occasion stampede of elephants...I mean, small children...outside the room. Early on Saturday morning. But we can live with that.

However: if you are planning to stay in Bedford, and want to eat at any ethnic places or even national sit-down chains like Olive Garden....you will be driving to Bloomington. There's nothing in Bedford, save some fast food places and a Golden Corral. Also, shopping is in Bloomington.

The French Lick area is about 30 minutes away, with excellent spas and lovely resorts. The towns are in serious need of love. Maybe the recession hit particularly hard here, but there wasn't much open, aside from the resorts themselves.

Do visit the French Lick Winery. Yum!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabeinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    48
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
56
16
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Great Customer Service, Clean, and Quiet Room. Pet friendly as well. Free hot breakfast and pancakes are the best, Will definitely stay again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay for just one night. This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. It is right off of 37 but pretty quiet. Make sure to get a room on the top floor if you need to sleep bc the floors and walls seemed a little on the thin side.
However, it was:
gorgeous, new, clean, modern (flat tv..super nice bathroom), white duvets, your choice of a firm or flat pillow, ac units that work and are controllable with a fan option to drown out any noise at night.
Free breakfast was perfect! Your choice of coffee, hot water, cereals, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal, scramble eggs, biscuits and gravy, and all kinds of condiments, teas, and sweeteners and juices.
Pool was beautiful. Staff was incredibly helpful and we got in late, so I was also granted a late checkout (2pm) when I requested it! Awesome!
Fridges in every room.
Also, there were very bright lights in the parking lot, which made me feel extra safe leaving my car there at night.
Again, this is a really nice hotel in a nice area for the price.
I've stayed in 4 star hotels that were not this clean. I mean... I couldn't find anything to complain about .. and I'm super picky. lol.
Also, hit up Mamma's restaurant downtown! I couldn't believe how nice this tiny hole-in-the-wall place was. Unbelievable salad bar.. all you can eat.. 5.99!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiefacejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I was put in a room with a balcony over the pool. It was VERY noisy with kids screaming and music blaring. All my doors were completely closed. I was trying to get some work done but it was impossible.

Also, the hotel is 100% non-smoking, which was not noted on the reservation web-site.

I am starting to remember why I quit staying at Holiday Inns several years ago.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy46815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I experienced the same situation as another reviewer. Arrived at the hotel, checked in and went to our room to find we had a king room instead of the double we had booked. Went back to the front desk to be told they were full and we had been upgraded since we were priority members. I wanted 2 beds in my room not one king and that is what I had reserved. Very rude at the front desk, after demanding I get a double they reluctantly switched another unknowing future guest so we could have our double. After leaving the hotel, I realized I had left 2 pillows and a phone charger. Upon calling the hotel, I was told they would COD them to me. I called back to see the status of my package and they said their policy had changed and would not be able to COD the items. I said I would see if I could get someone to pick up the items. A few weeks later I had someone go by to pick up items. She checked 3 times. First 2 she was told, items could not be found and the third time she was told they had been destroyed. I personally called and was treated very rudely by the manager while being told items are always kept 60 days and I pointed out NO they aren't because it hasn't even been 60 days. Also I received a call at home asking why my credit card was denying charges by the hotel. After talking through the situation with the Bedford hotel employee, I realized they had the wrong credit card number. I helped them with this situation. They had never actually swiped my card during my stay. This happened only a week or so before I was told my items were destroyed. I definitely wish I had never given them the correct number. Customer service is lacking. Facilities are updated and nice. However, I would pick Super 8 down the road any day after all the poor customer relations we endured. Tried to contact the owner but he never returned my request.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kccheatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
3.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bedford
87 reviews
35.9 km away
Comfort Suites French Lick
Comfort Suites French Lick
#3 of 5 in French Lick
165 reviews
33.9 km away
Best Western Plus French Lick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Big Splash Adventure Resort
Big Splash Adventure Resort
#4 of 5 in French Lick
411 reviews
35.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bloomington
3.4 km away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#3 of 5 in Bedford
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bedford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bedford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Address: 2800 Express Ln, At Hiway 37 & 50, Bedford, IN 47421-8903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Bedford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bedford
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,366 - ₹ 11,759
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bedford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bedford has 64 rooms, jacuzzi suites and mini-suites available. Guest room amenities include: 2 phones with 2 lines, data port & voice mail. We also feature two large meeting rooms, 24 hour business center, 2nd floor rooms with pool view. Wireless high speed Internet access available. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. We offer: free Express Start breakfast bar, free local calls and Priority Club Rewards benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bedford Hotel Bedford
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing