We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indoor car show, fun for the whole family”
Review of Volo Auto Museum

Volo Auto Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Volo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Elgin Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Indoor car show, fun for the whole family”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Volo auto museum. First street north of hwy 59 and 120. Our group of 7 including 2 kids 8 and 10, and 5 adults all enjoyed this sunday outing. We drove from schaumburg ill and it took just around an hour to get there.
The museum itself has 4 show rooms with classic,hollywood,fantasy,and custom cars and trucks to see. some of them you can sit in and take pictures. Each room has around 30-50 cars in them. Out side has military vehicles to see and there is several large buildings with antiques I would guess around 300 venders or so in all.
The cars they have are great to see especialy the hollywood ones like the blues brothers police car.Brother liked the the 1940s cars i liked the 50s cars , the kids all liked the fantasy cars like the munstermobile and the speed racer car.
The girls wandered around the shops and reported the price was high on most things they had. The main building has a small snack shop and gift store expect to pay around 10 bucks for a hot dog and drink. The big problem is nowhere to eat.
Unexpected things here are , they sell some of the cars and rent some too......
you will need a good 2 hrs to see all the cars. I would bring a camera and some snacks for the kids. also if you go to the web site you can download a coupon.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank mountiamsandcanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volobrian, Owner at Volo Auto Museum, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for the great review! Indoor car show that is open year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    89
    14
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place if you like cars or antiques!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Take your camera!!!! I like cars in general and was a great place to go and look at some nice muscle cars and movie cars they have a few imports as well. Some cars are for sale others are display only. Its several climate controlled buildings so wear your walking shoes!! We went on New Years day and it was very quiet in there and not many kids. I loved the movie cars and got to see all of them. They have some military cars and things also a military helicopter but they are outside and not good to visit on a cold day. I liked that they gave a little bit of information with each movie car. So you know where the car came from and who used it. They have a giant King Kong that was used in a movie as well. They also have the Cat in the Hat costume that Mike Meyers wore in the movie. If you have a loved one that does not like cars but likes antiques, they have buildings with that too! You will be there for a couple of hours so its nice that they have a small cafe type of place where you can get soda and hot dogs and things of that kind. Admission was only 10 dollars for adults and it gets you into all of the buildings! They also have a souvenir shop in the cafe with all kinds of metal signs, die-cast cars and several racks of books on all kinds of cars. Even if you don't like antiques you might go to those buildings any way because you can find auto memorabilia there as well. One stall had nothing but license plates dated back to 1917. Another room was jam packed with new in box die cast cars, some nice ones too! I found a 3d framed picture of a Mustang Shelby GT500. I agree some things are cheesy but those things that people find cheesy I think are more for the kids. More information at www.volocars.com it lists prices, hours, events and pictures of the cars they have. If you plan on visiting on or near a holiday make sure you call to confirm the hours they aren't always updated online!

Helpful?
1 Thank jlh0984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
394 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Nostalgia - not only for car lovers”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We visited the museum on Sep 3th 2010. They have 4 rooms of cars. Most of them are very fine restored vintage cars (50-80's). In some rooms you will find cars that were used in movies: Bleus Brothers, Pretty woman, Fast and Furious, Herbie, Flintstones, ... or series: Starsky and Hutch, Kitt, Miami Vice, ... and from celebrities: Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, James Dean.
For most people it is returning to their younger years when everything was better!
They have also a fine room with military vehicles. The dioramas are constructed with a lot of details and expertise.
They give a reduction for personnel with military- ID. But watch out! I'am an active Sergeant Major in the Belgian Army. In Virginia and Pennsylvania we always got the same discount as our American colleagues. At this Museum they do not give the discount, therefore I have to believe that they do not appreciate the Belgian effort against terrorism. It is a pitty and a shame.
I did not appreciate the different malls, but my spouse loved it.
When we are in Chicago we definitely will visit again the Volo Auto Museum, but I hope they will consider in the future to give a discount to all the NATO soldiers.

Helpful?
2 Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champaign, il usa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“too cheesy, not worth the drive”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

had heard about this place for years on the radio but we were pretty disappointed in it. Not that many cars, some nice ones though. Don't like all the antique malls, shops that were on the grounds. Gal at ticket counter not very helpful.

Helpful?
2 Thank amyj060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice selection of muscle & movie cars on display”
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Located about 50 miles Northwest of Chicago is the Volo Auto Museum. Admission is about $9 for adults, to review the full collection takes about 2 hours.

The museum features mainly 60's American muscle cars, some of which are for sale, it is a good place to see a wide variety of cars all in one location (you might see much of the same at a good car show cruise night though).

There are also quite a few famous movie cars on-site that many people will recognise (from Ghostbusters/Terminator 3/Back to the Future/Flintstone/Blues Brothers & more), as well as some earlier cars from the 20's & 30's. There are smaller collections of military vehicles and helicopters also.

Also on-site are an antiques hall and a small diner - did not try it though.

Everybody in my party enjoyed the visit.

Helpful?
4 Thank Dmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volo Auto Museum also viewed

 

Been to Volo Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing