We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was horrible ,, it smelled and there where bed bugs every where. I could not stand to stay here another night .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Urbana Champaign
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place was horrible ,, it smelled and there where bed bugs every where. I could not stand to stay here another night .”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The most horrible place I every stayed . The milk and breakfast was old. Just donuts and English muffins for breakfast. On top on that I got bit by bed bugs all night long . Mr and my wife had to switch rooms at 2 o'clock a night. The service in the morning was worst I ever had . I
couldn't even understand a word the man was saying . I recommend you don't stay here . I suggest you go across the streets to those other hotels it's about the same price ...! Good luck of you stay here .

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John19888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    16
    14
    20
    33
See reviews for
29
14
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Traveling through from Ohio to Nebraska with my mom and two young children and was ready for a good night's sleep. Woke up about 1:00 to adjust the temperature in the room and saw bed bugs in both beds when I turned on the light. Closer inspection showed bugs in various stages of development.

The night clerk gave us a different room, but I was unable to sleep the rest of the night. Not a good thing when I had a 10 hour drive ahead of me and I am the only driver.

Tips: 1.) Google motels in advance with location and "bed bugs" 2.) Carry large plastic bags to put possible contaminated items in. and 3) CAREFULLY inspect the room and mattresses.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quad Cities
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We checked in Friday evening 5/6/11. I knew from the moment I walked into this pit that it was going to be bad. I was overwhelmed by the musty smell. The room was very small, which I could deal with if it were clean. This is the first time that I have ever felt compelled to check for bed bugs. Thankfully I didn't see any. I directed my attention to the hair, some looked to be pubic in nature, in the corners of the bathroom floor. I just about barfed. I knew we were going to have to make the best of a bad situation. We couldn't change hotels, because most were completely booked due to the soccer tournament that was going on that weekend. On Saturday, we skipped the breakfast, if you can call it that. Other team families reported stale cereal, one loaf of bread, and one package of english muffins. There was also a cardboard box filled with glazed donuts that looked like they had been sitting in the sun. The garbage in the breakfast area was overflowing. Instead of taking out the garbage, the hotel staff opted to use a 5 gallon bucket for additional garbage. We had time between soccer matches to return to the hotel. As I approached our room, I noticed that our door was WIDE OPEN. No staff was around. The cleaning staff had used the cord from the hair dryer and tied it to the lock on our door. The door was actually tied open. Thankfully, my laptop was still sitting on the table where I had left it. The garbage cans had been emptied and the beds made. There were still pizza boxes and carryout boxes in the room. There were no towels. I called down to the desk and asked if it was common practice to leave a guest room WIDE OPEN. Granted I was mad and ranting and raving a bit, but I refused to accept the explaination that they hadn't finished the room yet. There was nobody around. NO ONE!!!! I hung up on the desk person because I couldn't listen to the line of crap he was giving me. Within a minute, the desk person was at the door with a small plastic grocery bag. He was there to get the pizza boxes. I directed him to the hall where I had thrown the garbage that they had failed to pick up. I was so glad when we checked out Sunday morning. I just wanted out of there. My bill for a two night stay was nearly $180. Way too much money to stay at this property. If you are thinking about booking a room at this property, I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QCsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Although the hotel appeared to be clean it smelled and the sheets had a small blood stain on them (uggghhh) which made me wonder how well the rest of the bedding items were cleaned. The walls were pretty thin and every time some one shut their door the neighbors door would rattle as well. The clock didn't work for me to set the alarm and The "breakfast" they "offered" was a joke as there were very few items to choose from. The hotel staff was not the easiest to understand nor the friendliest when a problem arose. I had a problem with my bill it was "all my banks" fault, according to Jewel the manager, period.. I tried to email the general manager about my concerns and the email address provided on the bill was no longer a valid one. Whatever you do-watch your credit card statements after dealing with these chumps. The best part of my stay there were the wake up calls in the morning, the fact that the TV did work (& had cable) and leaving to come home! I plan on coming back to Urbana next year for the Illinois Marathon but WILL NOT STAY HERE. I will fork over the extra money to stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: keep your expectations low if you choose to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tori7870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I made a reservation for this hotel back in July of 2010 for Mom's weekend at U of I in April of 2011. I cancelled it immediately after reading the reviews. The hotel claims they never got my cancellation request so they charged me for one night. to add further aggravation, the reservation quoted me $97.68 (tax included) for a one night stay. They charged me $110.00 plus tax; over $122.00. My dispute with the manager/owner resulted in him telling me he never ever makes a mistake.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank verydissatisfied15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
2.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#15 of 25 in Champaign
118 reviews
0.3 km away
Ramada Urbana/Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
572 reviews
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area
3.7 km away
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
Days Inn Champaign/Urbana
#23 of 25 in Champaign
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Urbana Champaign? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Urbana Champaign

Property: Knights Inn Urbana Champaign
Address: 612 W Killarney St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,100 - ₹ 4,715
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Urbana Champaign 1.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Urbana Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Urbana Hotel Urbana
Super Eight Urbana
Urbana Super 8
Urbana Super Eight
Knights Inn Urbana Champaign IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing