We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Internet Speed and Smell of Smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible Internet Speed and Smell of Smoke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels. I am usually very happy with the Hilton line of hotels, but I found myself irritated during this stay. The hotel as a whole looks okay. Its an old building which comes with its territory. When I got to the room it was clean, but old. It has a depressing feel to it upon walking in. Maybe i'm just used to staying at newer hotels. Then I tried the internet and I was not even able to load a CNN video without it stopping every 4-5 seconds to load. Absolutely annoying. I left the room in the morning and returned in the late afternoon, upon getting out of the elevators, the hallway smelled of smoke. When I walked into the room, it also smelled of smoke and there was a cigarette butt in the toilet. I am allergic to smoke, as it nauseates me and i'm not able to breathe properly. I expected this hotel to be a lot more professional and attentive to its tenants. However it failed to meet even my basic standards of care.

Pros: The location, and the view from the 8th floor were decent for what I needed. However the windows are a bit scary as they dont feel so safe and stable. If I had kids I would have asked to stay on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDoctor786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your displeasure with our hotel on your recent trip to Skokie. I can assure you that we take all concerns from our guests seriously and work to improve these items. We are scheduled for a very large bandwidth upgrade in the next month, which will greatly improve the speed of our Wi-Fi, I do hope that you will return as I'm confident you will see a difference. Per Hilton standards, we do have some smoking rooms in the hotel. Should you stay with us again (and we genuinely hope you will) we would be more than happy to accommodate you with a room in our east wing, a whole building away from the smoking floor.

Again, I want to say how sorry and embarrassed I am that we did not perform what you accurately describe as basic standards of care. I can assure you that the items you listed will be addressed and this is not our usual standard of service. I would love to have you return so we can show you what hospitality at the Doubletree Chicago North Shore really means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    363
    166
    55
    39
See reviews for
370
159
58
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

As stated in my title, some good, some areas for improvement. I have stayed here before, a few times, but never reviewed. The location for my needs was ideal for this trip.
Check-in was easy. Hilton elite, so I was offered a drink coupon for the bar, a coupon for 2 drinks (water or coffee), and a breakfast buffet coupon. I was given a room on the 9th floor.
The room itself was ok. Mattress was a little springy. Flat panel TV's with HD programmed in, was nice. The bathroom was smallish, in fact pretty tiny. Not a lot of counter space.
The bar/restaurant was nice, but I noticed a few tiny gnats flying around both for dinner and breakfast time. That aside, food and service was very good.
The 2 issues I had were
1) Wifi signal was all over the place. It would work, then I'd get booted off the modem/router. I don't think it was signal strength, but bad overall signal or not enough bandwidth. I confirmed with multiple devices I had, too, same result.
2) No AC plugs near the work desk and very few outlets in general. As someone who brings my devices, I need places to charge them.
The Wifi issue was really bad, so unless that improves, I'm probably look for other options - despite the many positive reasons to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to honestly review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed the perks we offer our HHonor's VIPs as well as the upgraded amenities in our rooms. I'm happy to report we are about to undergo a huge upgrade to our internet bandwidth, and the weak Wi-Fi signal you experienced will soon no longer affect any of our guests. We would also be glad to add a comment to your guest profile and have a power strip placed in your room prior to arrival whenever you stay with us. Since I am unable to contact you through this management response, I ask you to contact the hotel directly so that we can make this happen. We are more than happy to offer anything we can for our guests to make their stay more comfortable and appreciate you letting us know what we can do to earn your continued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great Hotel, great front desk staff. room was modern and clean. fitness center was in good condition and clean. hotel is across the street from huge mall with great shopping and restaurants.
would stay there every time we go to chicagoland. access to north outlet parks is excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAlexanders205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We always appreciate hearing what we've done well and definitely take pride in our excellent service, amenities and care for our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area and thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindale, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This was a very nice hotel. It is beautiful, comfortable and affordable. Loved it being away from the city, with free parking and cookies. The room was very nice, the bathroom a little small, but I can live with it. Had a problem with toilet overflow, but was quickly relocated to the room next door with no problem. Good location, lots of stuff nearby and avoiding the city crowd (traffic was hairy at rush hour but easy to navigate at other times.)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clkgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we know that your time is valuable and appreciate your kind words. Free parking and Doubletree cookies are some of our most popular "perks." I'm glad we were able recover from the small issue with your first room so quickly and you were able enjoy your stay. We agree, it's nice to be in the North Shore and away from the hustle and bustle but still have so many things at your fingertips. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Ths stay was great except the elevators took forever.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHalley, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Doubletree Chicago North Shore. New elevators are in our future and we appreciate your understanding until this project can be completed. We share our guests’ anticipation for this upgrade to our property. We look forward to serving you in the future next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skokie
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 13,612
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing