We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do you ask your guests to unclog the toilet?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do you ask your guests to unclog the toilet?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel on Mar 11, 2012 for one night. The room in general was fine but the toilet flush was not working properly. As we were there for only one night, I just overlooked it. The following day morning, after we used the toilet, the flush stopped working completely and caused overflow. I called the reception and I was told that someone would be there right away. We waited for half an hour and nobody came and I called the reception again. She said she would send one soon and she advised me if we need to use the bathroom, we can use one in the lobby area! We haven't had even taken shower yet and we were to check out and head to Davenport, Iowa for a visit and we were running late. Finally, a housekeeping male staff appeared at the door with a plunger but to my surprise, he wanted to hand in the plunger to my wife!! That means he wanted us to unclog the toilet! I didn't expect that you ask your guests to do that. My wife refused to take it and then he came in and unclogged the toilet but he didn't clean the mesh on the floor. When he was leaving, I asked him if he would dry the floor. Then he went to get the towels to clean the floor! Is that normal that a normal practice at your hotel? I am not sure if he treated us that way because of our color. My friend told me that when he went to eat breakfast, the attendant lady greeted everyone in front of him but ignored him, maybe she thought she doesn't have to greet the people of her own color. When I went to eat breakfast, I found that the silverware and plates were all wet. I had to use the paper towel to dry the plate. No "good morning" and no thanks! What a hospitality!

When we were leaving room, I saw the same housekeeping male staff near the elevator and he was cracking jokes with the female staff and when I looked at him, he blinked one eye at me as if Iwas his coworker. No sense of respect to the guests! This gentleman really needs good training.

So much money has been spent to create the suites and equip with all kitchen utensils but you didn't hire trained people or at least someone who value the customers. I will never go back to this hotel.

I had already paid hotwire but I had used credit card to check in but I found that they again charged some money on my credit card. I had to call them and later they credited that back!

Reception crews were nicer compared to the house keeping and breakfast attendant lady.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Postak_Shrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHyattSummerfield, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

There is never an excuse for poor housekeeping, and even more importantly, no excuse for unfriendly staff members. The vast majority of comments we receive regarding the friendliness of our associates are overwhelmingly positive and it is very unusual and disapointing that you would have such an unusually poor experience.

When a member of the hotel's management team is informed, there are very few problems that cannot be resolved. I am very disappointed that these issues were not brought to my attention, as I am sure I could have resolved any problems that you experienced to your complete satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    137
    56
    30
    23
See reviews for
179
78
37
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Usually stay at Marriott Summerfield just north of this property. This time I wanted to try something else. Reasonable price and great location IMO. Very efficient service at check in and friendly staff.

However, the room had a bit to be desired and not like any other Hyatt named property I've been in. My main issues stem around maintenance and housekeeping. It was warm for this time of the year (80) and when I got to room I turned on the A/C then ran out for a couple errands. Came back and room was hotter. I turned down to 65 and unit was running but just blowing hot air. Cycled it and nothing, so I turned it all the way down to 60. Seem the A/C in this room only turned on when at 60-62.

I had also turned on ice maker before I left and no ice. I later found out the ice maker was disconnected (see pictures). I had a cooler with some ice so I didn't bother asking front desk. Some other items were a couple dead flys by the window (see picture) and hair in the bathroom room - both long dark hair and some shorter hair.

Some of the molding was ruined (see picture) I'm guessing from a leaky water line to the ice maker thus it was disconnected. Other odd thing was there was a gap in the flooring by the wall (see picture). The other maintenance issue was in the pool are an area of the paint was peeling off the wall.

On the positive, the exercise equipment was nice as was the room with individual tv screens.

In a little over a week I'll be down that way and had already decided to stay at the HGI just south of here so I'll give a review of that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHyattSummerfield, General Manager at Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit. While I am glad that you felt the Hyatt House Schaumburg met your expectations for the service provided to your family during your stay, I am sorry that you our housekeeping and maintenance department did not live up tto our high expectations that we promise to deliver.

We have recently upgraded to stainless steel appliances and have run into a few scenarios that need additional work to have the job completed. We are also working hard at training our housekeeping team with new techniques to eleviate the problems you mentioned. I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention.

Once again, thank you for your comments. I hope you will consider the Hyatt House Schaumburg for your next visit to the area.

Regards,
Clint DeLee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Yes, its not Homewood Suites or Residence Inn, but the Hyatt House is an AMAZING property for the price. The studio was large enough and had a dishwasher! The room was clean (as opposed to the those pictures posted by others) and the staff was very helpful (though we didn't really challenge them, hardest questions was how I should make a label out to overnight something to my husband later who was staying a bit longer). Its in an awesome location on the corner of American Ln & National Pkwy, down the road from Zurich and countless number of business, Target (very important), Woodfield Mall & Streets of Woodfield, and a grocery store (Dominick's).

The only negative was the breakfast. It was kinda gross, the best part was the toast. There is a light at the end of the nasty breakfast tunnel; My husband is a coffee snob and he said the regular coffee was "decent". All in all, would stay here again since it has the right price.

The best part was the amazing amount of restaurants around!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMAK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here in July of 2011 on business for an entire week. This is a nice hotel with a great hotel staff that help us have a great time. They even took us to a restaurant one night because we didn’t know how to get there. The food is decent enough to eat, of course it isn't fancy food, but it was free and it was pretty good. I would recommend staying here, and I would stay here again. They have a small workout room, but they have treadmill other cardio equipment. There is a decent size basketball court outside. There is a bar/club across the street, I walked to it one night and it was ok. THe hotel is also very close to a very big mall that is across the street. This hotel is nicely located in a nice area, however not extremely far from Chicago. The hotel room was enough for me, you get a full size fridge/microwave, and a nice tv that swivels incase you wanna watch on the couch or the bed. all in all I would go back there if I had to do it again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaze1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Overall, this hotel is a great value. The hotel appears to have had some updates recently. There is a hot breakfast that was included. The breakfast was decent, however, we found it to be very crowded and there is not enough seating for all of the guests. This was not a huge deal, we just decided to take breakfast back to our room. The room we stayed in was a queen whirlpool studio. We really liked that our room had a fridge, stove top, and microwave. Unfortunately, the person who cleaned the room before us neglected to remove the trash from the previous guest. Also, the granite countertop in the bathroom was severely cracked and had been glued together. I am not sure if I would stay here again, there are a lot of great hotels in the Schaumburg area.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 511, the ganite countertop in the bathroom is cracked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddictedToTravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#1 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Schaumburg
1.7 km away
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
3.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg

Property: Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Address: 1251 American Lane, Schaumburg, IL 60173-6015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 11,635
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg is a luxury extended stay property located in the heart of Schaumburg. Surrounded by shopping, restaurants, and businesses, this hotel makes your stay comfortable and rewarding. Each guest will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast with omelette station daily, managers reception Monday -Thursday from 5:30 p.m.-7p.m., where we serve complimentary beer, wine, soft drinks and appetizers. Our hotel also offers complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel and shuttle service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Some of the businesses, attractions, and restaurants that our hotel shuttle will transport to are Motorola, IBM, Zurich, Pepsi, Capital One, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Experian, Schneider Electric, Medieval Times, Gameworks, Legoland, Level257, Woodfield Mall, The Streets of Woodfield, IKEA, Weber Grill, Granite City Brewery, PF Chang, Cheesecake Factory, Wildfire, Season 52, Shaws Crabhouse, and Moretti's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Schaumburg Hyatt Summerfield Suites
Schaumburg Summerfield Suites
Hyatt Summerfield Suites
Summerfield Suites Schaumburg
Hyatt Schaumburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing