We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in the burbs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in the burbs”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night in August 2011. Our room was nice and updated, but there were other parts of the hotel that needed updating. We booked on priceline so overall it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExecPlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
It's always a pleasure to learn that a guest found their stay with us to be a good value. We are happy that your room was to your liking. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    365
    187
    76
    26
See reviews for
200
185
64
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

It is basicaly not normal for a business traveler to get far away from the main cities centers. So when a conference organizer recomends a close by place to stay, you just take that advice and buy.

Bad mistake. This place have all the comodities of a down town hotel everywhere, except for a down town area. It is located basicaly in the middle of a family suburb and have no close by railroads, metro stations or other normal transportation metod than bus. And you know how it is to take a bus when you are not from around there!

My experience started at the O´hare Airport when i knew there was no shuttle from there to the hotel. It took 10 minutes or bargaining and 30 USD to get there with a driver from other hotel. The guy was a great person and understood that i didn´t wanted to freeze out there and also knew that a taxi from the airport to the hotel can be as expensive as 50 bucs.

At my arrival i was very pleased, despite the fact of that i had to become my own tourist guide at the airport. The hotel is very neat, it is a relatively recent building but have an old style on many ways. The loby is very nice and warm, and resembles a forest with small trees and piramidal lamps. In fact the loby is like a small forest in there.

Inclusive with a "discount" sent by the organizers of the conference i was assisting, it was about 150 dollars by night. For a 6 nights stay plus taxes it took about 1050 USD for the stay, wich i believe is enough to include a complimentary breakfast. But you know, NEWSFLASH! they do not believe the same, and breakfast was not included. That is a real no NO for a business hotel. I mean, we are doing business because we are trying to find the money, not because we want to expend it on luxury breakfast at 20 usd.

Very disapointed with that.

The room is very old and it doesn´t include a tube. I know i was traveling solo and you know, maybe it doesn´t sounds really manly to ask for a tube but what can i say, at that price you may want to have at least all the facilities on your room!. But even when the room is old, it was PERFECTLY clean and everything was on perfect working condition, good smell, a nice big window with a great view of a parking lot, and i say that in good mood, the parking lot haves a lot of trees and it was october so i had a lot of color outside my window.

The surroundings are interesting, relatively long distances to walk, considering that you are basicaly surrounded by parking lots, there is the woodfield mall, a very big one with lots of stores, good prices, mostly locals in there, very kind and good old fashioned american citizens, always with a great smile. There are stores outside, a cheesecake factory and some very nice restaurants to go, i believe there is inclusive a movie theater but never saw it.

If you want to go to Chicago Down Town it will take you a 15 usd taxi ride to Arlington Park, the closest train station, and a 9 dollar two way ticket to get to the city. It takes about 1 hour in the regular train and 45 minutes in the express one. Trains are there every 30 minutes.

If you prefer to get there on a cab the ride will cost you about 75 usd to get to down town and another 75 to get back to the hotel. But you can find traffic so bet cost/benefit eficient ride is on the train.

Chicago is a beautiful city, full with architectury and story, nice stores, great restaurants, you HAVE to try the Chicago Style Pizza, is something else!. But to enjoy that you better stay there. With an hour to go to down town, and another to get back, you better have a reall reason to stay in Schaumburg, and basicaly any good reason to stay there will be a good reason also to stay on a cheaper hotel with complimentary breakfast, there are a lot around.

Now, what saves the day is the GREAT "Fresh 1800" Restaurant at the Hyatt Regency Woodfield hotel´s loby. This place have the GREATEST personal atention from a restaurant staff i have ever stayed, and the food is OH MY GOODNESS good. I recomend it and recomend you to ask for a meeting with the chef, the guy will take any recomendation you can give to hime and will turn it into a delightfull experience to you. A little expensive tough, but what the... ! is good and you will enjoy that.

Well friends to cut it before you faint from reading such a long story, this place si too far, too expensive and is good, but there are better places to stay around. Maybe if they modify those rates you can consider it, but i mean, you can do better with your money if you ask my opinion. Have a good safe trip to chicago and and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ventasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
You’re review paints quite a picture for all our guests and we appreciate your detail and candid descriptions. While the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago does not offer a complimentary shuttle to or from Chicago O’Hare, we do offer several affordable alternatives on our website and our Concierge is a wealth of information for any help you would need. We’re thrilled to see that our cuisine from Fresh 1800 made such a wonderful impression on you and your accommodations exceeded your expectations. If you are ever in the Schaumburg area again, we would hope you would choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was a very clean hotel with pleasant staff. Perfect for business meetings. The catered food was very good. The shuttle was a bit of a disappointment. If you want to go anywhere off the beaten path, beware, they may not be able to find you again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxyflute5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
We couldn’t be more pleased than to learn that your stay at the Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago was so enjoyable. Our complimentary shuttle is available for each and every guest for transportation to the Woodfield Shopping Center. We’re sorry if there was any confusion regarding the shuttle’s route. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay.
Close to nice places outside downtown and easy commute to events downtown.
Service was great and our non smoking room was really a non smoking one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgmb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Hyatt Regency Schaumberg, Chicago, and we appreciate your mentioning our convenient location to many downtown Chicago attractions. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

stayed at Hyatt Regency Woodfield in Schaumburg for a Corporate meeting in early October of 2011. Our check-in went very smoothly, considering how many corporate cards were being used. Another member of our party, however, arrived late. He was forced to use his own credit card to reserve his room because our manager had already left for a dinner meeting. This was corrected the next morning, however it was a bit of a hassle.
Upon entering my room, I was a bit put off by the fact that my window overlooked the lobby. The window coverings did give the necessary privacy.
The whole hotel has a very modern feel. The lobby looks a bit like a lego land/cartoon. The rooms are decorated in a very simplistic yet appealing manner.
We had drinks at the hotel bar (expectedly expensive) and the shuttle brought our group to a nearby restaurant for dinner. It also picked us up at our desired time and brought us back.
My bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.
The meeting was held in one of the conference rooms. A very simple breakfast was purchased from the hotel catering. Our group as a whole thought the breakfast was too expensive without many options (granola bars, fruit, juice.) Cold cuts were served for lunch. Many of our team members decided to grab something outside of the hotel.
Overall, the staff at the hotel was very friendly and patient. Our experience with this hotel has been positive for the last 3 years and we will continue to use Hyatt for our yearly meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Schaumburg1, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
It is a wonderful feeling to hear that your time spent at the Hyatt Regency Schaumberg, Chicago has inspired a return visit by your company. We are glad to see that any issues with check-in were resolved quickly and that you were able to get a comfortable night’s rest in our Hyatt Grand Bed™. We have a great team of meeting planners and well known caterers available to help you with hosting any size event. Your kind comments and helpful descriptions are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your associates back year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
725 reviews
1.4 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
1.2 km away
Renaissance Schaumburg Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Schaumburg
4.1 km away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
Address: 1800 E Golf Rd, Schaumburg, IL 60173-5004
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
#8 Family Hotel in Schaumburg
#13 Business Hotel in Schaumburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,517 - ₹ 13,421
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable service you deserve at Hyatt Regency Woodfield. Superbly positioned to offer easy access to downtown Chicago, O’Hare, local businesses and area attractions, our exceptional hotel in Schaumburg is dedicated to ensuring a remarkable stay from start to finish. Great restaurants, deluxe amenities and unparalleled attention to detail add the finishing touches that make us the outstanding choice among Schaumburg, Illinois hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Hotel Schaumburg
Hyatt Schaumburg
Hyatt Regency Woodfield Schaumburg Il

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing