We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious cottage in lovely hill walking country”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pepper Pot Cottage

wwwpepperpotcottagecouk, south facing garden and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wwwpepperpotcottagecouk, south facing garden and patio
View of main room looking south to garden. South facing sitting room with open fire, 3 and 2 seater sofas and armchair.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
wwwpepperpotcottagecouk, south facing garden and patio
View of main room looking south to garden.
South facing sitting room with open fire, 3 and 2 seater sofas and armchair.
Kitchen table and 6 chairs. Door to back patio
Kitchen. Washing machine, dishwasher, fridge, deep freeze. Oven with timer. Hob.
Bedroom with kingsize bed.  Cupboard, dressing table, armchair and chest of drawers.
Bedroom with kingsize bed.  Cupboard, dressing table, armchair and chest of drawers.
Twin bedroom. Cupboard and chest of drawers.
Downstairs twin bedroom with cupboard
Upstairs bathroom with bath, shower and loo.
Back patio
View of church from garden
Village well with shop and tea room behind
View of Compton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Compton, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scenic448...
1 review
“Spacious cottage in lovely hill walking country”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The cottage was spacious and comfortable. Wonderful walks with bridleway starting just outside the cottage. Our dog enjoyed exploring new footpaths as did we. Excellent village shop and cafe just down the lane. We visited Uppark House, South Harting Down, West Dean Gardens, Kingley Vale Nature reserve and took the dog down to Littlehampton West Beach (where dogs are allowed) at low tide - his first trip to the seaside. The Octagon Walks book can be obtained from the village shop and contains 8 local walks - we completed 2 of them. Beware a lot of the hills are quite steep. When we arrived the heating was not on (as the heat wave had just ended), we phoned Gerard and he came within 20 minutes to help us get the log fire started and turn on the storage heaters. Wifi in the house great but little or not mobile signal when out walking in the hills!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thanks very much for your kind words. I’m delighted all went well and you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MSchuhenM
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pepper Pot Cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful little cottage. Sadly needing TLC. The area is wonderful for walking. Compton villages all friendly. The cottage has a lot of water damage and needs a good clean. We aired the cottage and cleaned before we were able to settle in. The guest loo was out of bounds for my family, see pictures of water damage and mold on the hand towel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
I have passed on your comments to my cleaners who will check each point. The leading in a roof valley was redone last year. However we have identified an area around a chimney which wasn't done correctly. We have arranged for the builder to redo this area which will stop dampness penetrating the chimney.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thanks very much for your lovely review. And thank you too for leaving the cottage immaculate. Both hugely appreciated. Please do come back; you will be especially welcomed.

Best wishes

Gerald
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lorraine...
1 review
“Dog Lovers Welcome”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

As a 2 dog owner, its difficult to find anywhere that makes you welcome, Pepperpot Cottage owner Gerald C loves them. This is an ideal location for fantastic walks, including one right from the front door. Open fire, very warm and cosy, large rooms but maintains a cottage feel, well equipped, very hot water, wifi, even the neighbours are welcoming. We love it.
If you dont like the countryside, dont appreciate what is available in this country, dont enjoy the peace and quiet, then dont come.
This is perfection to us.
Negative!!!! "its a long drive for a bottle of wine on a Sunday Night!!"
Will definitely come back,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere, the silence, the darkness, the cosy home feel.
Liked least: The roads getting in and out are not for inexperienced drivers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing