We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs improvement”

Salerno's on the Fox
Get food delivered
Ranked #21 of 169 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 30 August 2020

We decided to have dinner here on Friday evening (5 people) since they have a nice terrace by the Fox River and this is a hot summer. Me and my husband arrived at the restaurant 15 min before our friends and asked for a table of 5. The host refused to give us a table until everybody was there. We were told that this was because people sit too much at a table and do not consume enough until everybody in their party gets there. What??? Was I suppose to have a drink in the parking lot until our friends arrived and we could be seated at the table??? My first reaction was to call our friends and tell them we needed to find another place for dinner but my husband told me to give this place a chance regardless of the not so friendly welcome we had experienced. Once our friends arrived we were seated at a small table where you could barely fit 5 people. Fast forward, we ordered food and drinks and asked for the salad and the main meal to be brought at the table at the same time. The big shock came when our salads arrived at the table in take out containers. The main course came few minutes later in dinner plates. So basically we were expected to eat the salad holding the take out containers in our lap while the main course was on the table. The shrimp scampi came with pasta, shrimps and potatoes, yes POTATOES. And the potatoes were cut in big pieces with the potato skin not removed. Anybody whp had this dish before knows that this does not come with potatoes. My husband’s reaction was “it looks like they made this dish just to load up the plate with food and serve big portions”. I am sorry but we prefer quality over quantity. During din er we had a hard time catchjng he attention of our waitress to ask for more drinks. The place was not extremly busy but the waitress was barely seen around.
To be fair, the other dishes we ordered were good but considering the lack of service and the experience we had at this place it is very unlikley to return. Too bad they take advantage of the location and pay little attention to everything else.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Food
2  Thank monica1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2020

Wife and I went here for Valentine's Day. They simply were not prepared for the crowd. Had dinner reservations and sat down at 6:30 pm and didn't get our meal until 8:20. Had to survive on bread and wine for 90 minutes. Waitress was overwhelmed with her service area. I love their pizza but did not dare order it for fear of the length of prep time. I guess I could have done that anyway.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Swany33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Love the dinner club feel and service. Old style Italian restaurant. Food was perfect and priced just right. Management and service was top notch.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank luke p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

This particular night was pretty busy. They said they couldn’t accommodate seating our party of 11 and couldn’t give us an estimated wait time. The manager said he could seat us at 3 different areas in the bar area. We went ahead and accepted those seats. It took close to a half hour to get drinks and nearly an hour to get the food. When most of the food arrived it was luke warm. Instead of bringing out the food when it was up it appears it sat for awhile. Refills were almost impossible to get. The chicken parmigiana was nearly all breading with very little chicken. Other diners in the party had similar experiences. One person had to send back their steak because of not being cooked to order. Second time out it was a different piece and it was not the cut that was ordered. The dinner was an annual occasion and was very disappointing all around.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Tamgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

Celebrated a birthday with about 25 family members. Although the restaurant doesn’t have a private room they did a nice job of setting up and separating tables for our group.

We had a couple of servers wait on us. The ladies certainly knew what they were doing and hustled the whole time. The owners made sure to bring reinforcements in when the first drink orders, soups and salads and the entrees were ready.

Based on our party size we went with a limited menu which included five entree choices. The vegetable lasagna was probably the best, but all were good.

There’s a full bar and a decent selection of beers and wines too.

Our local family dines here fairly regularly. Based on our experience I will definitely be willing to come back the next time we are in town.

There’s a large patio and outdoor seating with a view toward the downtown area when the weather is warmer.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank TangledWeb_Unwoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Salerno's on the Fox also viewed

 
Saint Charles, IL
 

Been to Salerno's on the Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing