We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms, lousy air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great location, nice rooms, lousy air conditioning”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. Very convienent location to airport and highways. The room was very spacious and clean, staff very helpfull and pleasant. The first night I noticed the room was warm, turned the AC down to the lowest temp - 60, and it never cooled down. By the way, Chicago was in the middle of record heat of 100 + degrees for 5 days straight. I called maintenance and they checked the system and said was fine. I requested to change rooms, which I did, only to have the same problem. I called maintenance again, checked AC, said was fine. They claimed the air temp coming out of the vent was 66 degrees, however it NEVER got that cool. I would guess the room temp was probably 75 degrees. I asked for room fans which helped somewhat, however it was very uncomfortable sleeping. Upon checkout I told the desk clerk about the problem and she said the hotel just did a complete remodel, EXCEPT for the AC ! Are you kidding me. Horrible business decision, in my opinion. I travel to Chicago 1-2 times a year and loved everything about the hotel, but would never stay there again unless they fix the AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tblanch23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We appreciate your nice comments about our hotel renovation and we do apologize about the issues that you encountered during your stay regarding our building's A/C system. Unfortunately with the crazy Chicago weather that we've been having recently we had an extended run of 100+ degree days that actually broke a record for consecutive 100 degree days in Chicago. With our hotel being an atrium style property it became difficult for our A/C system to keep up with the heat and humidity. Rest assured that our A/C system is working fine and we promise that the next time you stay with us the hotel will be much cooler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    281
    120
    51
    32
See reviews for
114
87
68
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel has had a complete make-over. The rooms are tasteful, staff friendly and an easy place to stay. However, compared to all other area hotels, the Sheraton has few shuttles (i.e. I waited 1 hr + for the shuttle in 100 degrees). There is an O'Hare Holiday Inn next to the Sheraton with frequent shuttles...but probably not as nice of property.

Room Tip: Consider a taxi to the Sheraton if you are short on time. It (the shuttle) departs the Sheraton on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BlueSkyTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear guest,

We do apologize that you had to wait at the airport for an hour waiting for a shuttle to our hotel. Our airport shuttle does run to and from the airport every half hour on the hour so it is entirely possible that you just missed the shuttle when you arrived and were in the process of gathering your belongings and making your way to the bus/shuttle center at the airport. We invite you to come and stay with us again so that you can see that our shuttle service runs just as frequently as all of the other hotels in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Spent 3 days in Chicago and based our stay here.. they had a shuttle bus to the airport, where we caught the CTA blue line in to downtown. That was very fun after you figured out how to purchase tickets!!! Took us right downtown for a full day of exploring and having fun and we hopped the shuttle bus back to the hotel.. All the rooms are suites, two TVs, couch, desk... very very very nicely furnished w/ many extras such as robes, several bath accessories, iron & ironing board.... Biggest downfall is that they charged for wi-fi -- $9.99 a day per device BUT have free internet downstairs... that would be my biggest complaint about our stay here. We ended up getting a free breakfast buffet because there was a water leak in the room above us, didn't affect our room, but they had us change rooms anyway and compensated us w/ a free breakfast buffet... which was $18 per person ... so a very nice deal. Food prices were thru the roof spendy and would never consider eating there -- $9 for a bowl of oatmeal, $14 for blueberry pancakes..... Chicago prices I guess.. All in all, a very classy hotel, very informative and friendly staff.. Couldn't forget talking about the bedding --- so pretty and nice -- felt like I was sleeping in a fluffy cloud...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKCCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your very thorough and thoughtful review on our hotel! We definitely enjoy hearing about how our multi-million dollar renovation is impacting so many of our guests experiences in a positive way. We would also like you to know that since you seemed to love our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed so much, you can actually purchase one for your own home if you'd like! Simply log onto Sheraton.com and go to the at home section where you'll find information about how you can buy your very own Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed right in your very own home! We hope to see you back at the Sheraton Chicago O'Hare again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend with the kids. First, they do not have a swimming pool. so, kids were all upset. Next, they charge for the parking of 12 dollars/day. Really at a airport hotel when rest of the surrounding hotels do not? No free internet. No nothing. It is an old Embassy Suites hotel taken over by Sheraton and stripped out all the good features. I may add it is a very old hotel and dirty.

Room Tip: All looked dirty and old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did close our pool late last year and have taken steps to ensure the pool information has been removed from our hotel website as well as external booking sites. We will continue to follow-up in order to make sure that our hotel amenities are not being reported incorrectly. In the future please feel free to ask about the Rosemont Health Club located one block away from us as they offer the use of their full size swimming pool for our guests. We'd also like to point out that most all hotels in the O'Hare area do charge for parking and at $12 per day we're actually one of the cheapest options. For an alternate option we do have a complimentary parking garage located kitty corner to the hotel that you can park in anytime for free. We also just completed a multi-million dollar full hotel renovation last month and everything in the hotel has been updated. We invite you to come back again down the road for a better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We used this hotel as a halfway point between new berlin, wi and tinley park.
Make sure you only park in the close parking lot for 30 minutes (it tells you this) and then repark in the farther lot that's free.
The lady at the front desk was nice, but was a bit frantic which we didn't think was a great way to be welcomed into the hotel. Before she greeted us she was also talking to what seemed to be another department director and you could tell there was tension between them - again, not the best way to be greeted. But honestly, the rooms and hotel more than made up for it. The room was fantastic - big (like an apartment) and clean and comfortable - bathroom was also really nice. We were REALLY impressed by the room.
Breakfast in the morning was decent - we were on a discount so it was worth it. But I don't think I would pay $13 for cereal and fruit if we weren't?
Overall, we were impressed with the hotel, and would stay there again.
Oh yeah, and its like $10 to use the internet for 24 hours - this should be free!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for posting a review on our property! We love to hear how our full hotel renovation is positively impacting our guests! If you have any feedback on how we can further enhance your experience here to make you next stay with us even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to let us know. We'll be sure to take all of your other comments into account and we hope to see you back at the Sheraton Chicago O'Hare very soon where before and after never looked so good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemont
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
3.0 km away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Property: Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Address: 6501 Mannheim Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,591 - ₹ 20,928
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel is in Rosemont, IL. Free shuttle service and park and fly packages are available. Stephens Convention Center, Allstate Arena and Rosemont Theatre are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rosemont
Rosemont Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing