We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,606)
Filter reviews
1,606 results
Traveller rating
777
448
201
120
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
777
448
201
120
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the main house beautiful hotel four poster bed lovely grounds wedding venue leisure centre old house next morning spa treatments mid week break wedding reception relaxing break self catering waterford city top class both nights
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 1,606 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2016

My husband and I stayed at Faithlegg in the hopes of a luxurious night away. The grounds, the entrance and reception were all lovely. However, the room was anything but. It was dated and sparse, with old accessories and a bathroom in severe need of remodeling - which was surprising and ultimately very disappointing from a hotel which describes itself as 'four star' and for which we paid €190 for one night - I have rarely felt so overcharged. The bed was a small double and there was nothing above basic about the linens or pillows. Overall, terribly disappointed in the room. Breakfast the next morning was lovely, although there was a surcharge for options like smoked salmon which is out of line with other 'four star' establishments. I have heard that the holiday homes are lovely but after such a poor experience in the hotel itself I'm not sure I'd chance staying at Faithlegg again.

Room Tip: Stay clear of the hotel rooms - but I've heard decent things about the holiday homes.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kait Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaithleggMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Kait,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying with us in February of this year. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, and as you can possibly see from other reviews of late, we are currently refurbishing a number of our Classic Rooms, including extending the bathrooms and installing walk-in showers, so hopefully if you choose to return, you will see a marked improvement in the guest bedrooms.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the grounds, entrance and reception, however we must point out that we do not 'describe' ourself as four star, we have achieved, and maintained, our four star rating for many years by ongoing inspections from industry professionals, who are always impressed with our standard and the good value we offer. Supplementary charges on specialist dishes are customary in many four and five star properties throughout Ireland, so we're sorry if this was the first time you'd seen this.

Our holiday homes are very popular with families and guests who prefer to predominately cater for themselves whilst away for a short-break, and it would be a very different experience from staying in the hotel, however it is always down to the guest's own personal preference as to which is most suitable option when they choose to stay here at Faithlegg.

Hopefully you will 'chance staying at Faithlegg again', as we have a lot to offer, and have many loyal guests returning time and time again.

Kind regards,
Julia - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at Faithlegg recently for my own birthday and my friends 40th celebrations. From start to finish we were treated like royalty. We had our own private room for afternoon tea which was delicious. When our rooms were ready there was lovely cupcakes there to welcome us ( also homemade cookies). The staff couldn't do enough to help, always smiling. We had a blissfull time at the spa which is like another world of relaxation. Finally we had a fantastic meal in the restaurant to top a really great stay (compliments to the chef)...thank you Faithlegg

Room Tip: Ask for a Master room - fabulous views of the golf course
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaithleggMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Suzanne,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how could we not indulge you with cupcakes and cookies when you were here to celebrate?!!

We're delighted everything here at Faithlegg was thoroughly enjoyable from start to finish, and we hope to be given the opportunity to treat you like royalty again in the future!

Kindest regards,
Julia - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Fantastic relaxing day with friends started with an upgrade to the Masters suites, welcome plates in our rooms then afternoon tea with bubbles followed by treatments in spa and rounded off by lovely meal in Roseville Restaurant - the staff were friendly, the food was lovely, and the ambiance was very fitting for a girls night away being pampered - thanks to everyone involved in this very special day xxx we will be back xxxx

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank deirdre h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaithleggMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Deirdre,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review after enjoying your friend's 40th birthday celebrations here at Faithlegg. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed all we have to offer ... and that you plan to return!

Look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay.

Warm regards,
Julia - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend, given the rate I paid and the impressive website I had high expectations but sadly none of them were met. We had a very disappointing stay and overall felt our experience can be summed up as over promised and under delivered. Everything from décor to food, service and facilities fell below our expectations. I have been in contact with the hotel to go into detail about our stay and an overpayment issue; they have dealt with it efficiently and conceded they are aware of some of the issues we highlighted. They inform me the hotel is undergoing staged refurbishment. Given my love of old estate house I hope those improvements follow through and the estate continues to serve the tourist industry long into the future. It has all the basic elements to be great but does need investment in both property and service. Sadly I won’t be returning or recommending in its current form.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaithleggMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear 'MissJen',

Thank you for your review, and also for the email communication with myself post departure, and once again, we apologise for any disappointment experienced whilst here at Faithlegg.

We think it is a little unfair of you to say none of your expectations were met, and given that you were comparing us to a 14 bedroom boutique hotel, guest expectations should be very different when opting to stay at a property such as ours, which consists of an 82 bedroom hotel, leisure centre, spa, golf course, clubhouse, pro shop, tennis courts, playground, mini-golf, plus numerous self-catering apartments and houses.

We can assure you our renovations and refurbishment plans are being done very sympathetically and in line with the grandeur one would expect of such a wonderful old manor house in a beautiful estate setting, and we are confident we will successfully continue to serve the tourist industry for many decades to come.

It is unfortunate to hear you will not be returning, and would not recommend us, however we appreciate we are not for everyone. Thank you for mentioning how efficiently we dealt with your issues, and we wish you all the best with your future travels.

Kindest regards,
Julia - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Here in Faithlegg now. Breakfast available until 10.30am but builders began hammering in room below us at 8am! Sounds like they're knocking down a concrete wall. Oh, now they're drilling 9.20am .... Disgraceful!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DPMCG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FaithleggMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear 'DPMCG_9',

We understand how you felt inclined to post this review in the heat of the moment, however we're happy we could sit down with you and apologise for the disturbance prior to you departing the hotel earlier this week. We're pleased you left the hotel satisfied with the resolution, and hopefully you received the follow-up email sent to yourself the very same day.

Renovations are currently taking place at the hotel, and unfortunately there is no ideal time to refurbish and improve guest rooms and facilities without there being some form of disturbance, however we are managing it as best as possible, and with as little effect upon the guest experience as is feasible.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Julia - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews