We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and lovely relaxing place to stay”
Review of The Estate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Estate House
Ranked #1 of 2 Ford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017

On arrival we were greeted warmly by Sam and were looked after fantastically well by her throughout our three day stay. This is a beautiful old house where we really felt at home. We requested a meal on our first evening which was a delicious steak pie, accompanied by an excellent bottle of wine in the lovely dining room overlooking the garden - what more could you ask for? The weather was wet and chilly for July so we greatly appreciated returning in the evening to a lovely fire in the comfy lounge. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and well appointed with a large double bed and beautiful cotton bed linen. Fresh milk for our tea every afternoon was much appreciated.
We will definitely stay here again when visiting Northumberland.

Room Tip: The house is in a great location and our room with views of the garden was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresamaryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit within the last 12 months and this time we stayed in the "Heron" room.
Great bedroom with a massive double bed.
Debbie and her family are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
The Full English Breakfast is a must and boasts Haggis and black pudding amongst the usual suspects.
Ford Village is such a pretty and tranquil place, and offers a good location from which to explore the surrounding areas.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we really do appreciate your nice comments and look forward to seeing you all again soon
Best regards Debs Sam and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay at the Estate House, easy distance for Lindisfarn where we had a fantastic day out and Berwick-Upon-Tweed. The breakfast was the best we've every had, with great hospitality from the owners and their daughter. We could not have asked for anything more and really dog friendly, which is very important to us. Lovely tea rooms too!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Hi thanks for your very positive comments we really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of the Estate house it is nice that all of the effort and hard work that we put in has such positive feedback
We all look forward to seeing you back here soon
Best regards
Debs Sam Holly Shelley and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

First time I have been to Ford, it was pouring with rain, and the Antique Shop i wanted to visit was closed due to a power cut. I saw the sign and popped into the little cafe in The Estate House. A rather grand house, that does b&b ...mainly I think for walkers.
The cafe had a 'well worn' feeling, old furniture with plastic table cloths..But I got the friendliest of welcomes, best bacon sandwich I've had for ages and nice pot of tea. Sorry I couldn't eat the salad garnish, however I gather that would go to the chickens!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review it's nice to be appreciated The girls all work hard to maintain our hard won reputation for a great welcome and good food why not come and stay with us next time you are in the area we would love you to experience our great rooms the dogs would also love to see you too ps the chickens loved the salad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Arrived extremely tired and late in the afternoon.
Greeted by a very friendly owner/lady who showed us to our rooms.
The Estate House is a charming house in a wonderful location.
The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent and the breakfast
very nicely cooked and presented in a newly decorated dining room.
However, all rooms are not ensuite and we unfortunately ended up
in a room, whilst large and overlooking the back garden, was not
ensuite and the bathroom was down the landing. The bathroom
was clean but the shower was totally inadequate (no water pressure) and we resorted to using
the same ensuite bathroom as a family member travelling with us for 2 nights!!.
The owner is very dishonest - buyer beware! Internet appalling also.

Room Tip: Jubilee room is not ensuite and is not even mentioned on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank supertrooper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for your review - we are somewhat surprised that you did not think to advise us of the percieved issue with the shower during your 2 day stay -we have never had any problems with this room or indeed with the shower pressure throughout the house - this is particularly relevant as this shower had only just had a new high pressure shower head fitted within the last 2 weeks - we have had several guests in the room since your occupancy and no-one has complaned or mentioned an issue with the shower - it could be that you had the shower on low flow rate.
Our diary shows that you requested a large bed as your husband was a very large man - you were informed by my wife when you booked that the family room has a super king size double bed but was not ensuite but had a privated bathroom and you happily accepted this.
I consider your comment that the owner is dishonest as slanderous - we have a tremendous reputation with a large number of returning guests and our in house guestbook reflects this - Indeed I consider your review as dishonest and challenge you to justify your comment - with regards to the internet - we have 60mb high speed internet Fibre to the premises connection - again you failed to even comment on this either during your stay or when you checked out - without I add making a comment in the guest book - this review is in my opinion totally at odds with our record of unbiased excellent reviews in Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ford
27.4 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
11.0 km away
Riverside Leisure Park
0.2 km away
Ford Village Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Black Bull Inn
Black Bull Inn
#1 of 6 in Lowick
43 reviews
7.6 km away
Angel Cottage B&B
Angel Cottage B&B
#3 of 6 in Lowick
47 reviews
0.9 km away
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estate House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estate House

Address: Ford | Ford Village, Ford TD15 2PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ford
Price Range: ₹ 5,242 - ₹ 7,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Estate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate House is an AA 4 star rated bed and breakfast establishment in the heart of the picturesque village of Ford, in the heart of Northumberland and is personally run by Deborah Samantha and Bill who are delighted to be able to welcome guests to share our large detached Edwardian home which has over an acre of glorious landscaped private gardens boasting extensive views across to the Cheviot Hills. We also welcome assistance dogs at all times and other pets by prior arrangement. The accommodation at the Estate House comprises of 4 spacious bedrooms - 3 doubles or 3 twins which offer immaculate en suite bath and shower facilities and 1 family Room with its own dedicated private bathroom and shower facilities. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated throughout to a high standard and include Luxury Duvets, Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, hospitality tray, complimentary toiletries and hairdryer and fresh linen and towels. All of the bedrooms have lovely large windows with the original Edwardian wooden shutters and offer a variety of views across the Cheviots, the beautiful gardens and Ford village. We also have a cosy dedicated residents lounge with real log fire in which you can relax and unwind, watch TV including Sky Sports or read the selection of tourist information guides that are available to help you plan your sightseeing trips; we also provide free Wi-Fi and a selection of daily newspapers, books and board games. The Estate House is the perfect base from which to enjoy the wide range of outdoor activities for which the are is renowned including Walking Cycling Fishing Gliding and Horse Riding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Estate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing