We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Hotel(Coldstream)
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Head Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 114
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 202
US$ 181
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
105
13
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
13
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge gardentea roombeautiful villagehaggis and black puddingprivate bathroomberwick upon tweedcrab sandwichesfull englishreal milkcoal firenothing is too much troubleguest loungepiereceived a very warm welcomenorthumberland countrysidebreakfast was deliciousfriendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit within the last 12 months and this time we stayed in the "Heron" room.
Great bedroom with a massive double bed.
Debbie and her family are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
The Full English Breakfast is a must and boasts Haggis and black pudding amongst the usual suspects.
Ford Village is such a pretty and tranquil place, and offers a good location from which to explore the surrounding areas.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DaveRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write this review we really do appreciate your nice comments and look forward to seeing you all again soon
Best regards Debs Sam and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely stay at the Estate House, easy distance for Lindisfarn where we had a fantastic day out and Berwick-Upon-Tweed. The breakfast was the best we've every had, with great hospitality from the owners and their daughter. We could not have asked for anything more and really dog friendly, which is very important to us. Lovely tea rooms too!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Hi thanks for your very positive comments we really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of the Estate house it is nice that all of the effort and hard work that we put in has such positive feedback
We all look forward to seeing you back here soon
Best regards
Debs Sam Holly Shelley and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

First time I have been to Ford, it was pouring with rain, and the Antique Shop i wanted to visit was closed due to a power cut. I saw the sign and popped into the little cafe in The Estate House. A rather grand house, that does b&b ...mainly I think for walkers.
The cafe had a 'well worn' feeling, old furniture with plastic table cloths..But I got the friendliest of welcomes, best bacon sandwich I've had for ages and nice pot of tea. Sorry I couldn't eat the salad garnish, however I gather that would go to the chickens!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review it's nice to be appreciated The girls all work hard to maintain our hard won reputation for a great welcome and good food why not come and stay with us next time you are in the area we would love you to experience our great rooms the dogs would also love to see you too ps the chickens loved the salad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Arrived extremely tired and late in the afternoon.
Greeted by a very friendly owner/lady who showed us to our rooms.
The Estate House is a charming house in a wonderful location.
The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent and the breakfast
very nicely cooked and presented in a newly decorated dining room.
However, all rooms are not ensuite and we unfortunately ended up
in a room, whilst large and overlooking the back garden, was not
ensuite and the bathroom was down the landing. The bathroom
was clean but the shower was totally inadequate (no water pressure) and we resorted to using
the same ensuite bathroom as a family member travelling with us for 2 nights!!.
The owner is very dishonest - buyer beware! Internet appalling also.

Room Tip: Jubilee room is not ensuite and is not even mentioned on their website.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank supertrooper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill M, Owner at The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thank you for your review - we are somewhat surprised that you did not think to advise us of the percieved issue with the shower during your 2 day stay -we have never had any problems with this room or indeed with the shower pressure throughout the house - this is particularly relevant as this shower had only just had a new high pressure shower head fitted within the last 2 weeks - we have had several guests in the room since your occupancy and no-one has complaned or mentioned an issue with the shower - it could be that you had the shower on low flow rate.
Our diary shows that you requested a large bed as your husband was a very large man - you were informed by my wife when you booked that the family room has a super king size double bed but was not ensuite but had a privated bathroom and you happily accepted this.
I consider your comment that the owner is dishonest as slanderous - we have a tremendous reputation with a large number of returning guests and our in house guestbook reflects this - Indeed I consider your review as dishonest and challenge you to justify your comment - with regards to the internet - we have 60mb high speed internet Fibre to the premises connection - again you failed to even comment on this either during your stay or when you checked out - without I add making a comment in the guest book - this review is in my opinion totally at odds with our record of unbiased excellent reviews in Trip Advisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night here and had two rooms. Friendly welcome and knowledgeable about the area. Great surroundings and nice garden. We didn't get to try the tea room but the breakfast choices were very good. I would happily come back and spend more time in the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mfowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews