We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My room smelled” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Rockford
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Rockford
Certificate of Excellence
Mequon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My room smelled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The room would have been OK, except it smelled of smoke and had two small dead bugs in the corner of the bathroom floor. I asked if they had a machine to clear out the smell and they offered spray. I should have requested a different room when I first walked into it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    108
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
86
67
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
j
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

rooms were clean & some amenities have been update but the beds are not comfortable Small refrigerators are a much needed upgrade to all rooms.

Room Tip: not facing the road is always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
614 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We've stayed here in past and it seems to be going downhill..however for the price & a one night stay it serves the need. My main complaint is that the beds are too hard & the matress has very little give. also, the room was like an oven when we went in,,,they had heat turned way up..I opened door ant it was only 35 out but still took about 15 min. to cool it down. If every room was that way they are wasting a LOT of energy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockfordredroof, Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Red Roof Inn of Rockford.
It is always great to see what our guests are saying about us.

I am sorry the heat was turned too high in your guest room. I will share your comments with our staff to ensure the temperatures are set at the proper level. Yes, this is a waste of energy and is uncomfortable to have to open the door to cool the room down. I appreciate your comments regarding this and it is helpful when working and coaching our staff.

We appreciate your comments and hope that you will again use us when traveling in the Rockford area.

Sincerely,

Steve Marsceau
Manager - Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a one night stay at the Red Roof Inn in Rockford in January 2012. I did not want to stay at this hotel but our travel companions insisted. The price was great. There are plenty places to eat nearby and very close to the airport. The check in was fast. We parked right outside of our room. The rooms were extremely small but all we needed was a bed and a shower. The rooms were very clean and smelled good. No alarm clocks in the room and we didn't get our 4am wake up call because they had put it in the computer as 4pm by mistake. Luckily we had set our phone alarm also. We will stay here again especially since the Rockford Airport is now having direct flights to tropical destinations. Saves us the hassle of Chicago Ohare.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksteil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockfordredroof, Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in February at our Red Roof Inn of Rockford.
We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that we are convenient to the Rockford Airport when traveling. It does help when trying to stay out of the busy Chicago area.

I am sorry there was no clock in your guest room. I will share your comments with housekeeping and maintenance to ensure supplies are in the rooms. I will also share the comments of the missed 4am wake up call and to stress the importance of entering the correct time into the system. I am glad that you were not delayed for your flights out of Rockford.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again at Red Roof Inn when traveling through the Rockford area.

Sincerely,

Steve Marsceau
General Manager - Rockford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We wanted a cheap place to sleep on a road trip near Chicago and picked this motel based on reviews that said it was a good value for an overnight stay. They were correct. The check-in was quick, room was clean, there were plenty of restaurants nearby and the place was quiet. The downside was very firm beds, no in-room coffee maker or hair dryer, and no continental breakfast (all of which we knew about beforehand, and is typical for Red Roof). Also, the heater was noisy. It was better to sleep in a slightly cold room than leave it on all night. Wi-fi worked well. For a family of 4 or more it might be a better deal to stay somewhere a little more expensive but has a free breakfast, plus the rooms would be a bit small for 4 people.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natedonnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockfordredroof, Manager at Red Roof Inn Rockford, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Red Roof Inn of Rockford, IL. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your stay.

You mentioned you missed the in room coffee. Our superior King rooms offer a larger room, in room coffee, and a micro-fridge. Perhaps in your future travels you may want to try our upgraded room with the extra amenities. We also offer hairdryers and irons at the front desk for our guests as well.

I will share your comments with our staff as they appreciate comments from guests to see how they are doing and how they can better the property.

We hope you will again select our Red Roof Inn of Rockford when traveling to the area in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve Marsceau
General Manager - Red Roof Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockford hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Rockford
Hampton Inn Rockford
#2 of 25 in Rockford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rockford
0.3 km away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Rockford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockford
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rockford
4.9 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#13 of 25 in Rockford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Rockford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Rockford

Property: Red Roof Inn Rockford
Address: 7434 East State Street, Rockford, IL 61108
Region: United States > Illinois > Rockford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rockford
#7 Family Hotel in Rockford
#8 Business Hotel in Rockford
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,540 - ₹ 7,081
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Rockford 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn Rockford hotel is a wonderful addition to the Rockford, Illinois area! Our hotel is right off I-90 on the east side of Rockford. Enhanced 32” and 37 flat – panel TV with media center for DVD, Free high speed Wi Fi, Free local and long distance calls, freshly brewed coffee in lobby 24 hours and always pet friendly. Attractions: Magic Waters ½ mile; Cherry Vale Mall, St Anthony Hospital and Greater Rockford Airport 17 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Rockford Hotel Rockford
Rockford Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing