We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great place for a date

Was think of a place to take my date to after Sunday Brunch, and took her her. We spent 4 hours... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
P8977NBjohnl
,
Rockford, Illinois
via mobile
Tuesday in the Garden

Great musicians under outdoor pavilion. Seating on the lawn for large & small groups. Several... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Erin B
,
Rockford, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 747 reviews
  
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
604
99
24
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
99
24
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gardens are beautiful tea house koi fish beautiful place gift shop tuesday night united states water features take your time bring your camera enjoy nature from chicago rockford area visiting rockford love this place serenity paths
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Was think of a place to take my date to after Sunday Brunch, and took her her. We spent 4 hours walking the garden then enjoying tea afterwards. This truly is one of Rockford’s gems.

Thank P8977NBjohnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great musicians under outdoor pavilion. Seating on the lawn for large & small groups. Several satisfying food & beverage choices available for purchase but you can also bring your own picnic. Lovely way to spend an evening.

Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing place....loved everything. Gift shop and restaurant were fabulous and had something for everyone. The gardens were so beautiful and provided serenity and calm. The Koi were so much fun. Some were so large. The colors and patterns were so diverse and interesting. They are so smart.

Thank LFlynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was at Gardens at peak fall foliage season. All trees were glorious, full of autumn colors. Sun was out. It was trick or treat day also so there were lots of people in costumes and the staff was handing out candy. Buildings, water falls, and trees were magnificent. People were amazingly friendly. It was a real “high.”

Thank MAH608_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We almost didn't go because it was the last thing on our list of 5 days of touring.We would have really missed a great spot--we had the luck of a late October visit--so the gardens are beautiful enough--but then add in the trees turning colors and it was assume. And people were saying the spring is even better--glad we went

Thank suedo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Anderson Gardens is just gorgeous, plain and simple. Just go. Bring your camera. Its just such a lovely, relaxing place!!

Thank clt0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The garden is beautiful. If you purchase tickets on line to include a garden tour reservation, there is no refund if you can't visit on the planned date. The tickets don't expire.

Thank Jnaga95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the most beautiful garden with water falls, lakes, bridges and all kinds of plants. Its a must see if you visit Rockford,il.

Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were travelling from Australia and doing a tiny little road trip around Chicago, and we had decided to check out the Anderson Japanese Gardens as we had never been to any gardens like this before. It was raining quite a lot while we drove and it was cold, we thought the rain might ruin our visit, but I think it made it better. We were the only people in the garden to start with and it was so peaceful to wander in the drizzle with our umbrellas. The Autumn colours were just starting to come out, it was so pretty. The koi were following us wherever we went! Everything was immaculate, we really enjoyed our visit, it was fabulous.

Thank hornymull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We travel to many Japanese gardens. This one is fabulous. Well designed and peaceful ( at least when we went, not busy) the staff was very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. Special thanks to Avery. Very pleasant and helpful!

Thank Smkytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews