We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxed break in beautiful...”

Review of Jenny's Croft

Jenny's Croft, 5*rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jenny's Croft, 5*rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jennys Croft. Great walks in the local area The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jennys Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Jenny's Croft, 5*rated, two bedroom ensuite Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion
The view over the Eden Valley from the garden of Jennys Croft. Great walks in the local area
The gated sandstone terrace to the rear of Jennys Croft opens up to raised beds and its rear lawn
Jennys Croft open plan living room with log burning fire
The dining area with an antique oak refectory table opening through to the Breakfasting Kitchen
The breakfasting kitchen with electric hob, oven, dishwasher and American style fridge freezer
The spacious Master Bedroom has a five foot antique bed and an ensuite bathroom
The spacious Master Bedroom
The ensuite Master Bedroom bathroom with a cast iron bath and a skylight in the cathedral ceiling
The second ensuite bedroom with shower room can be arranged with a 6 foot king bed or as 2 twin beds
The second ensuite bedroom with a shower may also be arranged as two twin beds if preferred
The gated private sandstone terrace opens from the kitchen door. Weber BBQ and charcoal provided.
Breakfast on the terrace with raised beds and wooded fields behind
The view across the rear garden and terrace of and onto the Pennines
The view across the rear garden and terrace of and onto the Pennines
Jennys Croft open plan garden
Cherry tree in bloom in front of the cottage which is accessed from private gravelled parking area
The fields across the lane from Jennys Croft show the beautiful landscape of the Eden Valley
One of the public footpaths by the River Eden which is in walking distance from Jennys Croft
The fields across from Jennys Croft in the summertime with the Pennines in the distance
The view over the lane from Jennys Croft in the wintertime, little noise pollution in this area
The sandstone walled lane across from Jennys Croft and the Pennines in the snow
The National Lottery funded playground in the village of Gamblesby, an easy walk from Jennys Croft
The view over Jennys Croft and its gardens from its gravelled private parking area
Jennys Croft aerial view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Margaret...
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxed break in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 22 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

The cottage was everything we expected and more. The heating was on and the fire laid for our arrival, the welcome basket was exceptional, home made raspberry jam delicious. The cottage is equipped to a very high standard. We will be back.

Date of stay: November 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Nov 2018
'Hi, thank you so much for leaving a review of Jenny's Croft. We are delighted that you found it well equipped and of a high standard and that the cottage was warm and cosy when you arrived. it is great that you enjoyed the welcome hamper, particularly the raspberry jam that is homemade by Jilly! We would love to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schnauzer...
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

This was our third stay at Jennys Croft, having also previously stayed at the neighbouring Elk Cottage twice as well. It is a fabulous cottage. The log fire situated in the large open plan living area keeps the cottage so cosy and the large kitchen/utility area is well stocked, including the best welcome basket ever (including wine, biscuits, fudge, fruit, cereal, milk, orange juice, bread, eggs and cheese, and even treats for the dogs!). It is in a great location close to Penrith and Ullswater is the closest of the lakes. We love walking round Ullswater and the surrounding mountains. The nearby Lowther estate has great walks as well and there’s also the walks around nearby Aira Force. A little further afield and you are also near Keswick (a lovely town) with great walks nearby (see photos) and the lovely Derwent water. After a long day out walking it is so lovely to return to such comfortable and luxurious surroundings at Jennys Croft (or Elk) and we will be returning again, as usual.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Nov 2018
'Hi, thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of Jenny's Croft and we are so pleased that you found it warm and cosy as well as large enough and well equipped. We are delighted that you enjoyed the welcome hamper and it sound like you had a fabulous time walking around the Lakes and surrounding towns. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllissaB
Shadwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five star cottage stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We stayed in Jenny’s Croft for four days with our two daughters (14 and 12 years) and puppy. From the moment I contacted Christine it was a five star service. She gave me personalised itineraries and ideas about what to do even before we booked. The cottage was just perfect and we loved every minute. The treats left were so gorgeous and Christine even thought of the puppy- who had the most amazing first holiday. We were so impressed with every aspect: the cottage was immaculate with fabulous facilities down to every last touch. Even the fire was ready to light! It was so cosy but also plenty of space to settle in. There was a washing machine and dryer and even somewhere to hose down the puppy! The setting was superb and we enjoyed a short walk around Glassonby. The maps and instructions were so detailed too. We ventured out to Aira Force and the Ullswater steam boat which was fabulous and so dog friendly. We didn’t feel the need to go out for meals as the kitchen was so well equipped and Tesco had no problem finding us! We can not fault the holiday- so thank you to Christine and all the team.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Nov 2018
Hi
Thank you very much for your glowing review. It's great that your holiday was such a success and your adventures with your puppy sound like super fun! The Aira Force and steam boat trip are a great day out. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Jenny's Croft”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had another great weekend, staying at Jenny's Croft. We stayed in Jenny's Croft a few years ago, but the interior fit out did not look like it had aged, everything was still in pristine condition and well looked after. The external areas around the property have really matured and it really is a peaceful setting. I would recommend to anyone to visit. Thanks to the Rowley Estates.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
''Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Jenny's croft. We are delighted that you enjoyed a great weekend and thank you for your compliments about the cottage. We are pleased that you enjoyed the peaceful garden and would love to welcome you back if your travels bring you to Cumbria or the Lake District again. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.''
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseC49...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly stunning property ”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our party stayed at both Jenny's Croft & Glassonby Hall during our recent trip to the lake district. I cannot speak highly enough of both properties which are both amazing. Jenny's Croft was beautifully appointed and in its own grounds with plentiful parking. The decor is perfect offering comfort & style and is fully equipped with everything you need - home from home. The welcome basket was most generous & provided lots of quality local produce which was a lovely touch & very much appreciated. The communication with the owner's was second to none which made the whole experience so easy, pleasant and reassuring, they had thought of everything. This lovely cottage wuth stunning views provides a perfect base for a lovely 'get away from it all' break. I can only hope to return one day soon.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful complimentary review after your stay at Glassonby Old Hall and Jenny's Croft. We are delighted you found the properties home from home and enjoyed the welcome hamper. Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the communication, we are so pleased you found the experience so pleasant! We would be delighted to welcome you all back again, please feel free to get back in touch when you are next looking to visit Cumbria and the Lake District!
Best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.