We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane)
US$ 148
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 321
US$ 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naara Eco Lodge & Spa(Chidenguele)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 225
US$ 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dona Ana(Vilanculos)
US$ 218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatroz Lodge(Tofo)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Africa Tropical(Inhambane)
US$ 37
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anantara Bazaruto Island Resort(Bazaruto Island)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Azura Benguerra Island(Benguerra Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Dugong Beach Lodge(Vilanculos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
30
43
30
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
43
30
16
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Barra offers an excellent range of activities.
The Padi dive centre is of the highest standard, no corners are cut when it comes to safety.
The quad bike tour of the local villages and Tofo is a must.
The new beach chalets (with air con) are a blessing if you're heat sensitive.
Celebrated my 40th birthday and 19th wedding anniversary while at Barra Lodge; staff went out of their way to make both occasions memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherriFarinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This place is to be avoided at all costs. It is so overrated and is a complete rip off. I travelled there with a friend and we were booked for 5 nights. On the first night it was becoming apparent that this was not what we had paid $360 per night for. It felt like an enclave for Afrikanas and there were no Mozambicans in sight (unless of course you count all the locals who waited upon us).

The room was noisy and we were next to the motor vehicle garage. Our room was filled with diesel fumes and we were awoken each day at 5am.

By the 2nd night we decided we had enough and did manage to get the last 3 nights refunded but not without a struggle. Beware that this organisation charges your credit card in advance.

If you want to experience an authentic Mozambican holiday then the best advice I can give you is do not give your money to Barra Resorts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike_Kampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Stayed at Barra Lodge in October . Great Casitas so Rustic.Just what you need to get out of the city, Pristine beaches ,great bar, good food, Enjoyed the buffet and traditional dancers. Quad bike enjoyable nice trip to Tofo. Beach barman make some awesome cocktails, just ask for the menu. Staff very friendly and helpful. Shop on site stocked with basics . Internet available . No TV's in the rooms but a TV lounge available . Weather great had an awesome holiday . Will be Back .Well rested ready for work . Can recommend to all .
Steve and Friends

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I was a bit concerned reading the reviews for Barra Lodge, but we stayed in the casitas and thought the architecture unique and in keeping with the casual, laid back atmosphere of Mozambique. Rooms were clean and comfortable albeit lacking in the frills like a refrigerator, air conditioning (there was a fan) and TVs. We found the food and service in the restaurant excellant with a good variety, although there only seemed to be barracuda line fish available, but that was the only negative point about the food.
The Beach Bar right on the beach with fantasic views of Barras awesome beach, service down here good but not as slick as in the restaurant, snack menu very competitively priced and a nice selection. There is still a mozzie problem but management have sorted out the safe problem by having safes behind the reception, not quite safes in the rooms but an improvement.
Overall, very impressed with Barra Lodge despite the "whingers" and other negative comments posted.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fun_in_the_sun293760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

*Please note that my experience of this hotel may be slightly biased as I was suffering from Malaria for part of my stay.

Barra lodge is located along a vast expanse of pristine beach in one of the best locations in Inhambane. Upon arriving at the lodge with our luggage we were ignored for the first 5 minutes by the receptionist and staff which was annoying to say the least. When we finally did get served, there was some problem with their credit card machine which further frustrated us. We eventually were lead to our room that they had told us had 3 beds but only had 2.. so we waited another 45 minutes for someone to bring another bed in the sweltering heat of the room where there is only a meagre deskfan.

The beds were comfortable in the room but the heat was almost intolerable, adding to my already sky high temperature. The pool at Barra was average at best, it was as though they had tried to copy some kind of luxury hotel in the USA by adding platforms in the pool and bridges which looked pretty unsafe to me.

On the plus side - the food was very nice. The breakfast was a standard buffet with everything you'd expect at a good hotel. We usually had lunch at the beach bar where they served everything from pizzas and burgers to pasta and lobster, the quality of the food was alright and the prices were reasonable.

The beach at Barra is exquisite, lovely white sands with a lovely clean stretch of ocean. I would advise you to wear a wetsuit/rash vest if you're going for a dip though because there are a lot of blue bottles around and their stings are less than enjoyable! The Dive centre is also very well equipped and the instructors seemed to have a good knowledge of the area and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ElementTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews