We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$ 150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 140
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Albatroz Lodge(Tofo)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Archipelago Resort(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dugong Beach Lodge(Vilanculos)
US$ 480
US$ 442
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 1,289
US$ 1,197
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azura Benguerra Island(Benguerra Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
30
43
30
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
43
30
16
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Awesome diving experience with a variety to suite the novice and the more experienced diver.Will most definately visit again. Professional and friendly staff. Fulfilled days with loads of activities. Worth every cent !!!!!!!! Great food!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We have been to Barra lodge around 6 or 7 times. The staff are wonderful the food is great. They do a wonderful job with limited local resources. I will continue to go there on holiday even with the change in management

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Barra lodge as we knew it, run down and poor service will be no more! It was auctioned to new owners who I hope will do fantastic refurbishments and make it as great as it used to be. Check if they are open if you have a booking soon

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
7  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

We were booked to stay here, but our Travel agent advised us shortly before the trip that they were closed. We opted to go to Palm Grove Lodge next door and were really glad about our choice.
The photos you see on the internet of Barra Lodge are not what you actually see. The rustic Restaurant is dwarfed by a hideous 3 storey apartment building (part of the Lodge) - an eyesore for the whole bay. The beach in front of the Lodge is not nice, very wide and very dirty. The whole place looked very run down.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Erlend_vM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The self-catering units are in serious need of maintenance and hygiene levels are poor. Sadly for the very willing staff at Barra Lodge the self-catering units have been neglected. Marketing brochures are somewhat misleading and the chalets hardly have a sea view. Furnishings are basic and the kitchen and bathroom facilities are rather 3rd world. Lighting is inadequate and one needs to get used to the noise generated by the wind in the palms. This is all so sad as the location is excellent. This is the sort of place that leaves it up to you to enjoy what you can (complaining is unlikely to change things very much!) and we did enjoy the crayfish and prawns purchased from the friendly local folk.The catamaran cruise was enjoyable but a far cry from the slick vessel that appears in the marketing blurb.
We were not at all sad to move on to a far better resort located a few hundred metres away for the next 3 days. Advice to people considering the self-catering option - don't!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffPPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews