We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Big room - echo effect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big room - echo effect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

You can see the hotel from the state highway, but access is from a feeder road behind the hotel. Lobby is very nice at check in. However they have a rather small breakfast area. That is next to glass wall where you can see the workout room (2 treadmills), and see through the next glass wall to the pool. Feels a bit cramped compared to other lobbies/breakfast areas (or maybe I have become spoiled).

Close enough to neighborhood lake to walk the fitness trails. That was very nice.

Room was very spacious and enjoyed the space. Very large flat screen TV, but only 2 of the 4 digital channels advertised in the guide were available. The large amount of tile on the floors, created an echo effect from any noise in the hall. A/C is old
style, manual (as opposed to digital). Temperature adjustment took a few adjustments.

I would certainly stay there again on business. It just was not an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayhawkNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    45
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
16
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We experienced friendly service in this clean, small hotel. The indoor pool is tiny! The trucks were a little loud on the nearby highway, but the inside of the hotel was quiet even with a lot of baseball and dance teams staying there. Nice staff! I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
False Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Personable desk staff and asst mgr (no real problems with the people). Upon inspecting the room after getting the key cards, found an ink stain on the folded-over sheet on the bed as well as a small, barely noticeable hole on the opposite side that escaped the cleaning staff's notice. Asked the desk staff to change my room or change the sheets; they changed the sheets. Upon return to the room after dinner, tested out the wireless internet - no problems. Also, put on my inspector hat. (Maybe I'm too particular.) The tally included: missing pen and paper/notepad; TV channel listing not by the TV or on a desk, but fallen behind one of the bedstands (obviously, never picked up by cleaning staff from prior guest use); thick, gunky dust on the bathroom door hinges; a hair floating in an otherwise clean toilet; and further stains of some kind on the bed skirt. Not up to what I consider normal performance for a HIE. It left me with a feeling of if they missed those things--esp. the bed skirt stains--what else may be wrong with the room that I didn't see? Was going to make a multiple night stay...moved to a different hotel the next day. Would I stay here again? Possibly, if there were no other equitable options. Hey manager - your cleaning staff let you down with a lack of attention to detail and common sense!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VetteDrivingFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferndale, Michigan, USA, New York, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

So a co-worker of mine is a huge Holiday Inn fan so for the last few months I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inn & Holiday Inn Express'. I was here last week and was a bit underwhelmed by this location based on recent experiences with Holiday Inns. The room was sufficient. I was in a double queen, I get whatever room is available because I usually just sleep a night then move on. This time I was in town for a couple of days.
PRO's- Nice staff and decent price. Refrigerator and microwave in room.
CON's- Not as nicely appointed as other HIE's that I have stayed in. Internet was slooow-my wireless card was faster. Vending machines robbed me a couple of times. Location-close enough to restaurants and shopping but I felt like I was in the country. Breakfast-Ehh, didn't expect mom's breakfast but again not what I was used to based on stays at other Holiday Inn's/Express'.
Summary-OK hotel in a small city. Would stay closer to Chicago and commute on next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckshelllove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

This was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express. We are loyal fans of Hampton Inn, but there was not one in this area.

Nearby this hotel are all the usual chain stores and restaurants found all across suburban America.

The room had a mildly unpleasant smell when we first arrived, but it did not drive us from the room. We opened the window and ran the noisy fan. That took care of the smell.

This is a non-smoking hotel, but we smelled cigarette smoke when boarding the elevator.

The wall mounted heater/air conditioner is loud. The automatic fan in the toilet/shower room is VERY loud. If you are sensitive to noise, seek another place to stay.

The bedding and mattresses were very comfortable. The sink was outside the toilet/shower room, which was convenient since there were three of us occupying this room.

The shower/sink water is over-softened, leaving a greasy feeling on the skin after washing.

The unappealing "hot" breakfast was better than nothing, but just barely. There was very little from which to choose, and it all tasted pretty bad. The room temperature rubbery eggs were shaped like tacos, and filled with a cheeselike substance. The cinnamon rolls had a distictive plastic packaging taste. Coffee was mediocre, and the juices were watered-down.

The evening desk clerk Jaime was very pleasant and helpful. The morning desk clerk never looked up as we passed her desk several times, to and from breakfast and when departing the hotel.

We stayed here to be near a large family gathering. There were no other choices within a short driving distance. We will stay here in the future if there is another large family event nearby, but otherwise would never choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingQuilter1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelguru75, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we will address each of the issues that you have mentioned.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future and please feel free to contact me directly to ensure that your next visit is nothing less than exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswego
1.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Oswego
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
12.5 km away
Hampton Inn Yorkville
Hampton Inn Yorkville
#1 of 2 in Yorkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Holiday Inn Aurora North- Naperville
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aurora - Naperville
10.3 km away
Staybridge Suites Aurora/Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego
Address: 2055 Weisbrook Drive, Oswego, IL 60543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oswego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oswego
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,978 - ₹ 10,296
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Oswego, Illinois is conveniently located in the far western suburbs of Chicago (near Aurora, Montgomery, Yorkville, Plainfield, Sugar Grove and Naperville). Surrounded by I-88 to the north, I-355 to the east, and I-55 to the south, you will find small town friendliness with easy access to the big city. Attractions such as Walter Payton's Roundhouse, Hollywood Casinos, Paramount Arts Centre, Raging Waves Waterpark, Rich Harvest Farms Golf Course and Fox Valley Mall are only 10 minutes away. If you prefer not to drive into Chicago, a short distance from the hotel are two Metra train stations (Aurora downtown and Route 59) to take you there, where all the Chicago attractions are either a short walk or cab ride away. When you return to the hotel take a dip in our indoor pool or whirlpool, or work out in our fitness room. Our friendly professional staff can take care of all your needs whether traveling for business or pleasure. All rooms are smoke-free and include several amenities to enhance your stay, such as 2-line phones, voice mail, coffee-maker, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV and free high-speed Internet access. All basic cable channels plus HBO and Showtime are available (many in HD) for your viewing pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Oswego Hotel Oswego
Holiday Inn Oswego
Oswego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing