We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinehill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinehill Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Oregon B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at this B&B for a weekend getaway without the kids. Oregon, Illinois is only about 1-1.5 hours from the western suburbs of Chicago and has many state parks nearby. Pinehill is a very nice older mansion, but has many modern updates and other details that I have never experienced at other B&Bs. The updates include a small refrigerator in all rooms and a private bathroom for all rooms as well as a computer set-up for guests to use. The owners think of many details which are very nice such as the snack and drink area which is open at all times to a big library of movies to watch in your room. There is a TV with VCR/DVD (in our case, 2 of them) in all of the rooms. This TV is very small, but not really why we went to a B&B in the first place. There is a large veranda and a nice screened porch which we used at night to relax with a bottle of wine. The owners are very nice and very flexible, they allow you to take your breakfast or snacks up to your room or eat it outdoors on the porch or veranda if you wish. We did think the full breakfast package was a little pricey, but you can also have a continental breakfast, which includes a lot of choices. Overall, a very nice, quiet place which pays a lot of attention to the details.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagodono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We loved the Pinehill Inn. The inn itself is beautiful as are the rooms. The amenities were the best. Each room had a refrigerator and a TV with VCR/DVD. There was a large supply of movies to choose from. There was also a well-stocked pantry that offered all sorts of snacks and drinks as well as home-made muffins. The breakfasts were excellent. And the hosts, Chris and Ken, were very friendly and fun to visit with. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pine Room, the smallest one but all that was available when we booked. It had every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGK515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

(I stayed at this place four years ago, but the site format did not allow me to pick a date that far back.)
I became acquainted with this place because of a gift certificate I received. My husband was wheelchair-bound, and we had encountered a lot of inaccessibility at some places. I called them (phone number 815/732-2067, toll-free number 800/851-0131) and explained our situation. Ken and Chris were so accomodating! The building is easily accessible by wheelchair, the rooms each had historical significance, videos/dvds and tv were available, and the meals were delicious! We were not able to return because my husband's health declined and he passed away last year, but if I get another opportunity to visit this place I will!

Room Tip: Call several weeks ahead of time-contact info in w
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

This hotel is listed in the wrong state! i looked at lodging in bay city oregon and it came up on the page as the number one place. It is actually in oregon, illinois!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbunnystlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2006

We stayed at the Pinehill Inn after driving out from Chicago for a weekend.

It’s an 1870’s Villa that’s a historic monument – and it’s very beautiful. The new owners have big plans for it and were in the process of renovating other rooms. However, we had a very quiet and comfortable stay in Somerset room – a huge four poster, sitting area and separate en-suite bathroom with 70’s style whirlpool bath! Good and deep though. Bits in the bathroom such as toothpaste, soap, bubblebath etc but no shampoo (and yes, i forgot mine). Oh and Bathrobes too.

The only downside was that at the moment all sash windows are painted shut, but apparently this only bothers Europeans – I would have loved to have the windows all open!

This is in a quiet residential neighbourhood, a short drive from Oregon town centre. If you’re looking for a quick getaway in a “stately home” I’d recommend it.

(i have photo's of other rooms but it takes too long to load them!!! Bonaparte has bath with shower over, Rose room has just standing shower in a very small bathroom)

Helpful?
4 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oregon
1.8 km away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
26.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
24.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Rochelle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.7 km away
Cliffbreakers Riverside Hotel & Conference Center
24.2 km away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
26.3 km away
Super 8 Rochelle
Super 8 Rochelle
#1 of 4 in Rochelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehill Inn

Property: Pinehill Inn
Address: 400 MIX St, Oregon, IL 61061-1113
Region: United States > Illinois > Oregon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oregon
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,380 - ₹ 10,213
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinehill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your stay special at the Pinehill Inn. Rated the number 1 hotel in Illinois on the "Best in America" list, Pinehill offers both a full breakfast plan and a continental breakfast plan. Graceful, romantic, and elegant, the highly rated Pinehill Inn Bed and Breakfast beckons you with the feeling you are stepping back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pinehill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing