We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
14
8
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
8
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice village life nature comfort sleeping resort curtains tariff farm wilderness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Whenever I visit Bolpur/Shantiniketan, I prefer staying here. And I love to stay in Matir Bari.
Rooms are basic but would serve all basic requirements of an urban visitor. Beds and towels and everything else is really clean.
It’s a serene place. If you want to let your hair down and forget about everything else - this is your place to stay. No noises, no hustle bustle. Complete peace exists here.
And now, the food. It’s awesome. The authentic Birbhum cuisine is a must try. No matter how much I write about the food, it would never be sufficient. One will have to taste it, experience it and only then one would understand.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SandeepaBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We went on a family vacation and took a Mud Hat and a double bed room.. The rooms were clean with all facilities. Car parking was ample. Sahadebda as the Canteen manager awesome with his speacilities from the kitche.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank souravb396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We needed a short break away from the hustle and bustle of Kolkata. Babli was the most peaceful choice. It was an easy trip to Bolpur and within half an hour, we were in a different calm and simpler world. EVERY staff member was fantastic.

Room tip: All rooms are great!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aditi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Good and relaxing environment, far from the hustle of city life. huts are good and made of Bengoli style. Choose rooms depending on group visit or couple visit.
The owner and care taker of the guest house is very polite and helpful person and having good knowledge about snakes and sculptures.
For food either dinner lunch or breakfast, inform them in advance and they'll prepare authentic Bengoli food. Don't expect it to be par with high end restro offering Bengoli food, but it is as par as food being cooked in the villages with similar taste which i liked.
The place is nearby Shanti nIketan and cab can hired to visit the same.

Date of stay: March 2016
1  Thank pankaj k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

If you are a nature lover and want to spend some time away from the hustle bustle of the city Babli is the perfect place for you.
Great food, peaceful stay, basic accommodation so don't expect luxurious stay.

A place I want to go back always!!

Room tip: All rooms are nice.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brahmakhyapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews