We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch ”

Souter's Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After cutting short a visit to Culzean Castle due to horrendous weather, we were so glad to find this place. Huge portions of haggis tatties and neeps (could have done with more a lot more peppercorn sauce) although waitress did bring (a little) more when asked. Place was packed, great atmosphere, although tables were a little too packed in for my liking but overall recommended.

Thank Derjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Director of Sales at Souter's Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Derjie,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you had a nice experience with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Souter's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were driving between Girvan and Lanark and as it was just after 6pm we though it would be better to eat early rather than later as it was one of the days of really awful weather in early April.
We certainly made the right decision as the service, atmosphere and food were just excellent.
We were quickly seated, asked if we’d like drinks and left with an extensive menu of interesting ‘dinner’ options.
My wife ordered Sea Bass which arrived piping hot and was obviously fresh and apparently as good as any she’d ever enjoyed, which is high praise. I had the Lambs liver with bacon, onion mash and gravy, it was perfectly cooked with a delicious gravy and creamy mash and I enjoyed it immensely. We were driving a long way so only had Diet Coke, but the bill still came to less than £28. So, really good meal and great value, Highly recommended.
Thanks

1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Director of Sales at Souter's Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning Peter M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Souter's Inn! We are absolutely delighted to have excelled your expectations and we hope to see you and your Wife again soon!

Kind regards,
Souter's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for breakfast on 24 March which was very disappointing.We have visited this restaurant on many occasions for breakfast and lunch and the standards have always been high.First thing we noticed was that the light breakfast cost had increased by £1and the only difference was that it now included beans.When the breakfast arrived there was no beans and when I asked the waitress about this she looked bemused.We did eventually get the beans but the breakfast was not as hot as it usually is.The noise was very loud in the restaurant coming from a large party of men,i suppose it was good business for the restaurant but not for the comfort of other diners.

Thank alexander448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Director of Sales at Souter's Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi alexander448,

Thank you for taking the time to review Souter's Inn Restaurant.

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent Breakfast experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we will take your comments on board for your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Souter's Inn Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for lunch on Easter Saturday before we went to the nearby Culzean Castle and Souter Jonnies cottage. The ambiance is perfect and the welcome was both warm and professional. The menu is very varied and the choices are intriguing and sound delicious. Our meals were delicious and beautifully presented. The service was impeccable. Well done. Well worth a visit whilst taking in local attractions.

1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Director of Sales at Souter's Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Brian,

Thank you for taking the time to review Souter's Inn.

We are so pleased to hear of your wonderful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and love to hear how much you enjoyed your meal.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards,
Souter's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a table for lunch with my parents. On arrival I was advised no separate gluten free menu, but the chef could adapt most dishes from the menu....ordered steakburger & asked for no onion rings or bun, was told they had g/free buns, perfect!!! 10 seconds later the waitress was back to say the actual burger itself wasn’t g/free! Ended up with Chicken Caesar salad that consisted of lettuce, cheese & chicken breast swimming in dressing! Service was average, with chairs being dragged noisily across the wooden flooring of the dining area to tables needing extra seating.
Very disappointing.

Thank Nelly0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Director of Sales at Souter's Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nelly0810,

Thank you for taking the time to review Souter's Inn.

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to standard. We will investigate further into these matters for you.

We hope this that experience will not stop you from returning to Souter's Inn.

Kind regards,
Souter's Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Souter's Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Maybole, South Ayrshire
Turnberry, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Souter's Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing