We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One To Definately Avoid”

Melon Cottage Vineyard
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melon Cottage Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Charlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The main reason why we stayed here is because it was close to our place of meeting. On arrival we were greeted with a cup of tea and shown our room. I was not overally impressed by decor and the clutter of very old furniture. We were freezing at 3 in the afternoon and had to warm up in the bed before going out in the evening. The couple are friendly enough and with no dis respect are very senior in years. Being polite asked for a Full English Breakfast in the morning which was on offer. One egg ,one tomato,one piece of streaky piece of bacon and a tiny thin sausage i was asked if i would like another half a piece of toast. On payment there was not a facility to use a card machine, only cash !! and drove someway to get the funds. Not again

Room Tip: Although very quaint, you need to take yourself back 100 years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 478Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Little difficult to find because Google maps directs you to the opposite side of the road. So if Mrs Virginia tells you to call before arriving, Call! We had the room, en suite, with the king-size bed. Great bed, slept like baby's. All the guest rooms, first floor, are in one part of the house which can be separated by closing a door. Hugh and Virginia are very helpful with good tips and directions. The cottage is very, very old. 15th or 16th century. Like all old houses you can smell the moist in the house. That was the only minus we could find. Breakfast is cooked almost under your nose. Hugh variety of cereals. Easy parking in front of the house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We loved our stay at Melon Cottage Vineyard. Beautiful seeting and area. Wonderfuls hosts. Comfortable and clean. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I had the most gorgeous stay here in august of last year. Dreamy Medieval cottage with sprawling green grounds, cute little orchard and vineyard. Fields to walk in and tea served in the garden upon arrival.
A true B&B, not a pseudo-hotel, it's amazing value for the comfort and location.
The best selling point of this place would have to be the couple who run it however - why they have so many loyal returning guests (we found out about them from friends) - super friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Would go again in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rouge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Biliette78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melon Cottage Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melon Cottage Vineyard

Address: Melon Cottage Charlton | Radstock, Nr. Bath, Charlton BA3 5TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton
Price Range: ₹ 3,078 - ₹ 3,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing