We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 108
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Expedia.com
US$ 114
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$ 100
View deal
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$ 114
getaroom.comUS$ 119
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
128
105
70
50
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
128
105
70
50
45
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean and quiet. Great staff, we even got an upgrade and weren't expecting it.
There's a bar and restaurant on site.
This location has an ideal location: great shopping with many stores across the street (DSW, TJ Max, Costco..) and good eats as well.
There is a mall maybe a mile away (Oakbrook Center).
It is aboit an hour away from Chicago Magnificent Mile during heavy traffic (there was a lot of construction and we still were undee an hour) and around 9pm it was about 35 minutes.
All in great!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank corinesawadogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene G, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Corineswadogo,

Thank you for your awesome feedback on our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us! Please come see us again soon.

Thank you,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The lobby has been nicely renovated and feels lively with Bar Louis adjoining. However, the rooms are still in the dark ages, relatively speaking. I had a corner room, which was spacious, but had a very odd layout.

There was no closet or wardrobe, just an open hanging bar when you first walk in and then the bathroom is split into a tiny room with tub/shower and toilet (when I say tiny, I mean the door scrapes the toilet when you open or close it) and then a small/low pedestal sink outside that, on carpet (eww!). There is no space to put toiletries at all near the sink, so I had to use the shelf above the toilet and awkwardly shuffle back and forth when getting ready.

The mattress and pillows were pretty comfortable, but the sheets were awful. They were rough and scratchy, and either the sheet texture or what they're washed in made my skin itch terribly.

I was on the fourth floor and the room was pretty quiet. Minimal noise from the main road (22nd St.) outside. Decent blackout curtains on the windows.

The overall finish quality of the room felt amateur and sloppy. The dark wood molding around the ceiling looked absolutely terrible (jutting out/random cuts in the middle of the wall, etc.). Just didn't provide a comfortable or relaxing atmosphere at all and frankly, wasn't what I expect from a Holiday Inn.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene G, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Sebuck,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We apologize for your experience at our property. We would like to address some of your concerns. First, on the dated look of our guest rooms, we are working on a property improvement plan, and one of the items on the list for updating is our guest rooms. We would like to also comment on your findings regarding our sheets. If your skin is sensitive to certain fibers or chemicals we could have definitely provided alternatives for you during your stay. If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please do not hesitate to reach out to the hotel.

Best Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We use this hotel constantly and have for years because of the location.

The rooms are clean and what one would expect. The prices are usually very cheap.The internet is very slow.

The breakfast buffet is the best we have ever had at a Holiday Inn.

Don't park under the Mulberry Trees or you will need a high pressure car wash the next morning while the berries are in season.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene G, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear Ken R,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy to hear that you are a recurring guest and thank you for your loyalty. We are glad that we always meet your expectations and look forward to continuing to do so. I would like to address your feedback on our internet speed, we are developing a property improvement plan and one of the issues being looked at is the wifi network. So, in regards to the internet speed, that is issue that will be fixed. As far as the trees are concerned, we'll get one of our team members to trim them back a bit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Positive- great staff service; clean; we paid extra and booked the breakfast buffet which was well worth it; great location - near interstate, shopping, dining and cinema
Not so positive - the rooms are dark and dated. Our bathroom needed an upgrade. Large school groups caused long lines at breakfast one day. Some loud men had too much to drink in Bar Louie and were being very noisy in reception.

You may get lucky and avoid the big school groups. It's good value for cleanliness, staff and location. Make an informed choice before you book.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TappyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene G, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Tappy Feet,

We are delighted to hear that for the most part your stay with us was pleasant. We would like to address some of the issues you experienced while you stayed with us. In regards to the rooms being dark and outdated, we are in talks with IHG regarding a property improvement plan, one if the items on the plan is an update to our guest rooms. So please stand-by we may have a fix for the outdated room look. On the long lines at breakfast due to one of our school groups being in town, we will better plan for large groups that are coming to stay and require breakfast, like setting aside a meeting space for the group to have breakfast on their own. And on the loud guests from Bar Louie, rest assured that there is staff on-hand that are monitoring for any potential unruly guests. Had the guests become belligerent, we would have escorted them to their rooms. So, please come see us again soon, we look forward to showing the real-side of the Holiday Inn Oak Brook Terrace.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I stayed overnight for work. The halls and elevator are a bit shabby - I was on the third floor and it smelled strongly of cigarettes near my room even though its all no smoking. The room was okay. Another reviewer said that bathroom lacked counter space and I would say that wasn't an issue for me. The sink has no space but there is a wall rack with empty shelving right next to it for all of your personal items. I was disappointed that the fitness room was removed and instead was filled with patio chairs near the pool. Its great to have Bar Louie downstairs. Location is close to everything you want/need with great shopping, restaurants and easy on and off to the highway.

Room tip: I think a lot of big groups stay here and it might be good to ask at check-in to be placed somewhere removed from any big groups
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noreaster5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Hi noreaster5761,

Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your comments. It is great the see the excellent rating you have provided in terms of staff service and sleep quality. However, I am sorry to read about the smell of smoke in the hallways. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

We value you as our guest and hope we can welcome you back and provide you with a better experience in the future.

Kind Regards,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews