We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
126
181
64
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
181
64
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green line motor inn the main hotel frank lloyd wright downtown chicago hotel section unity temple older hotel two sinks kitchen area refrigerator and microwave front desk staff train station within walking distance attached restaurant historic hotel room was large
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This was my second stay at the Carleton. It is a great choice for a Oak Park or a Chicago visit. It is an older hotel but very well maintained and updated as needed. It has a restaurant Grille and a bar/restaurant Poor Phil's. Prices are reasonable and Poor Phil's has a good selection of beers. My room was large. It had a refridgerator in a little kitchnette area with a microwave and a one cup coffee maker. Bathroom was spacious. As I said, this is a well maintained hotel. It also has a great location. You are about 100 yards from Lake Street with shopping, restaurants, and a movie theater, the Lake. Oak Park is famous for Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway and Edgar Rice Burroughs for that matter. So there are houses and museums to visit along with the Unity Temple. The Oak Park Metra staton and the Lake Street El stop are a bit over 50 yards away. Metra will get you to downtwon Ogilvie Transport Center in under 20 minutes. El will get you into the Loop in 35-40 minutes. You can reach Oak Park by El from O'Hare but you will need to change from Blue to Green line when you reach the Loop at Clark Lake. The Clark Lake and the Lake Street Station both have elevators. I am sure that there is a shuttle or something but I was picked up by a friend. The Carleton has a motor hotel which is the cheaper price. I would recommend staying in the hotel for convenience and ambience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RonF1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonGM, General Manager at The Carleton of Oak Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Ron F,
Thank you for your very informative review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Great hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms. Located in the heart of beautiful Oak Park. Convenient free parking. Casual sports bar was great place for family to gather and visit. Easy access to highways and downtown Chicago. Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank fancygirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Rooms were surprisinly spacious and comfortable, with refrigerator and microwave. Onsite restaurants/bars were enjoyable places for our group to meet, and the lobby was comfortable and nicely decorated. All of the staff we dealt with were just outstanding, particularly a couple of the front desk staff. The area is nice, with multiple restaurants, etc in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cypressbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonGM, General Manager at The Carleton of Oak Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear cypressbt,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Made hotel our headquarters for 5 days. It served the purpose well. The place was fairly clean except for a corner by the bath tub. It was close to public transportation so that our car could stay parked in the area provided by the hotel. I’ll keep the number handy for our next reservation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

What a find! We had our 40th class reunion at the Carleton. Amazing food, beautiful atmosphere and great bartender. We stayed in the main hotel and the room was wonderful. The hotel is perfectly located off of 290 West so it is very easy to find. Downtown Oak Park is at your fingertips. I wish I had another party to go to so we could stay there again. 10 Stars for The Carleton!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AIPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews