We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice boutique hotel in Chicago suburb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carleton of Oak Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I had to travel to Oak Park for a funeral. I'd stayed here before and really wanted to do so again. I was able to book a room on short notice with no problem (call, don't try doing it through the website). Staff were courteous, the room was very nice. Having 2 restaurants in the same building was convenient. Downtown Oak Park is just outside your door, and downtown Chicago is just an El ride away.
The more I travel, the more I seek out boutique hotels, for their charm and to escape the sameness of the big chains. You sacrifice only a small bit of comfort and in return you get a more personalized experience. If I have another Oak Park trip I'll definitely stay at The Carleton again.

Room Tip: Avoid the motel if you can and stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is nice not in the downtown but has a subway station very close and free parking. The hotel has two types of room both very comfortable and the rates are good.
It doesn't include any meal...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank yazbe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Short stay for a wedding. Rooms are neatly appointed and of a grander size from an older era. The Hotel could do with an interior refresh and some decent air conditioning units. Beds were very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed here for the Wright Plus 150 (Frank Lloyd Wright tour of homes) and for the most part the hotel was fantastic however we had a room in the motel section. It was a very quaint room and extremely clean and retro design. Everything was great until the night time. I woke up around 1am when the next door neighbors came in. First it was the loud door, then loud voices and then the shower. The walls are so thin I was sure they were standing in our room. At 2am they started using the hairdryer and this went on for an hour. I called down to the front desk, they were very apologetic and someone came to speak to them. They quieted for about 15 minutes and then it all started again. We tried to get a hotel room the next day but they were fully booked. When we checked out they asked how we enjoyed our stay, again we said it was beautiful and very clean and we then we told them the story of the two nights. The host was very nice and tried to compensate us as best he could. This was very thoughtful of him and we did appreciate it very much. We will defiantly stay here again as long as we can get a hotel room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Motel if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
35
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

First time we stayed at this hotel (we chose the Motor Inn) and loads better than another local hotel we used to stay in.

Comfy beds, air-con working, clean, nice kitchenette with a fridge. This came in handy on the last morning when we had to catch an early flight and were unable to have breakfast in the nearby diner (very good value, btw) so got some supplies from the supermarket and had them in our room (bowls and cutlery supplied in the room). Also really handy to have a proper table and chairs.

After reading reviews that said you can hear the chairs being scraped along the floor above I asked for an upstairs room, which we got. Very pleased all round with our stay. Would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park
Write Inn
#2 of 2 in Oak Park
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
The Robey Hall
The Robey Hall
#110 of 192 in Chicago
84 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carleton of Oak Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carleton of Oak Park

Address: 1110 Pleasant St, Oak Park, IL 60302-3093
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Price Range: ₹ 9,236 - ₹ 13,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carleton of Oak Park 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Carleton of Oak Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carleton Of Oak Park Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Of Oak Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing