We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$137
View deal
Renaissance Hotels
$131
View deal
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$137
Priceline$137
ZenHotels.com$150
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
228
256
107
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
256
107
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruth chris front desk staff nice hotel free parking concierge lounge night's sleep lobby chicago meeting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2022

If you decide to stay at this hotel because it's close to your destination, think again. No. 1 The rooms have absolutely no privacy for anyone using the bathroom. The sliding door that separates the toilet area from the bed area is not really much of a door at all. Every sound is heard throughout. The engineer who built it must've been deaf. And the floors were cold wood and cement. No rugs at all.
No. 2. the hotel never warned us there was construction going on inside the hotel and in the parking lot making parking and entrance a mystery and a problem. No. 3 the hotel could not offer or even sell us a cup of coffee when we arrived after a long trip. Instead they directed us to a Starbucks across a four-lane highway and more than a quarter-mile walk from there. And when finally getting there, only to find out the Starbucks was drive-thru only, making it necessary to return to the hotel to get our car. No.4. The simple breakfast they offered which is free at most hotels, cost $23 including tax and tip, No. 5 Other than the Ruth Chris steakhouse there was no access to any food in the hotel at any time, including a simple candy machine. And even though the Ruth Chris was in the hotel we still had to walk outside and around the hotel to access it due to construction inside the hotel. Beyond that the desk people were friendly.

Room tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
Date of stay: July 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

Dear Richard P,

We are very sorry that our modern design was not to your liking and regret that your comfort was interrupted due to our updating. We are a full-service hotel with a full-service restaurant with made-to-order breakfast offerings as an alternative to a free continental. We appreciate all your feedback and consider it as we continually monitor our guest offerings. Once again, I'm sorry that we let you down this visit. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will return to a sister brand more suited to your needs.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2022

This property is the ideal destination of a luxury hotel for people on budgets who want to be adjacent to great shops, restaurants, and nature. Northbrook is a well-to-do Chicago suburb. Wish I resided there. Will be sad if Northbrook Court gets demolished.

Room tip: Request a room with wood floor rather than carpet since carpeting acquires bacteria. At Renaissance, you cannot go wrong.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Dear Ted H,

Isn't it fantastic to have so many wonderful restaurants and attractions just minutes away from our beautiful Renaissance Hotel? Thank you for your positive review and for recommending our property for a great stay in Northbrook. We hope you find a reason to visit us again soon.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022

There were so many issues with this hotel that I don't even know where to begin. There was an empty Coke bottle left in the bathroom which housekeeping somehow missed. This hotel isn't cleaned enough. All the windows and doors to the entrance were full of fingerprints. Just gross! The place is poorly insulated, so we could hear a crowd of guests outside their door in the middle of the night as if they were next to our bed. The power went out one of the nights and in the morning, there was no hot water for the shower. My friend hosted a brunch there and ordered an omelette station but they didn't provide it. There were several angry guests lodging a variety of complaints with front desk staff and it seemed like children were running the hotel. There was no one in a supervisory position who could help. The place is clearly short staffed and they are overwhelmed, unable to deal with the many problems that arose.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank discerningpalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Dear disceringpalatte,

I'm very sorry that we disappointed you with both our accommodations and service. Fresh accommodations and warm hospitality are our business, so I regret that we let you down. Your time in sharing candid feedback is appreciated and reviewed by us to continually foster improvements. For this reason, we hope that you might consider a return visit. We'd love another opportunity to show you that we care about you and your stay.

Sincerely,

Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2022

Overall our stay was nice. The staff was super friendly and polite, room was clean and well appointed. The hotel is undergoing a renovation so onsite food and drink options besides the steak house were not available. Easy location to get to and from just about everything in the area. Plenty of places around the immediate area to get food and drink, groceries and shopping too. Safe and well-lit parking lot.

Date of stay: April 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Funk5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2022

Dear Funk5-0,

I am glad that our Renaissance Hotel was able to provide you with a great overall experience while you visited the Chicago area. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share your kind review complimenting our staff and the property in general. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2022

We had a problem at check-in, but the staff dealt with it excellently and all the problems (caused by our error) got fixed with no additional fees on our end. When we finally got into the room, we were pleased to find them quiet, comfortable, and reasonably spacious. There was no branded pad of notepaper when I was looking for something to write on while on the phone, but I won't hold that against them.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2022

Dear Ellen C,

We are happy to see that you had a great stay at our Renaissance! It is our pleasure to welcome guests to Northbrook and play a small part in their enjoyment of the area. We hope you will return and stay with us every time you do.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews