We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$156
View deal
Booking.com
$146
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Renaissance Hotels
$148
View deal
Hotels.com$156
travelup.com$178
Priceline$155
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
227
254
105
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
254
105
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel free parking night's sleep lobby chicago
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2022

We had a problem at check-in, but the staff dealt with it excellently and all the problems (caused by our error) got fixed with no additional fees on our end. When we finally got into the room, we were pleased to find them quiet, comfortable, and reasonably spacious. There was no branded pad of notepaper when I was looking for something to write on while on the phone, but I won't hold that against them.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2022

Dear Ellen C,

We are happy to see that you had a great stay at our Renaissance! It is our pleasure to welcome guests to Northbrook and play a small part in their enjoyment of the area. We hope you will return and stay with us every time you do.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2022

Rooms Are So Dark Housekeeping Can't See The Dirt! First room was not too clean but I can't blame housekeeping. The room was so poorly lit you need a flashlight to navigate the room.

I used a flashlight: Hair on bathroom floor, hair near table by TV, DIRT all over the floor.

Changed rooms, same dilemma, room was disgustingly dirty but was so poorly lit housekeeping can't adequately see in the rooms. Discussed this with some staff members who informed me there have been a myriad number of complaints concerning the lighting.

Checked out early and went to a Hilton Hotel.

Room tip: View the room for lighting and filth before signing in.
Date of stay: December 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21,353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2022

Dear 21353,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying with us. Please accept our apologies for your unpleasant experience. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry your room fell short of expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our housekeeping team to improve our service. I genuinely hope we have the opportunity to redeem ourselves to you on a return visit.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

The biggest issue for me was the lack of free Wi-Fi. You are provided Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby, but it is about $10 a day to get Wi-Fi in your room. Following that, was the bed. Poorly made and did not seem clean. You are also not provided a complimentary breakfast option, not even a stale muffin or banana.

The staff was friendly and the Wi-Fi thing isn't their fault. The pictures of the room were "as advertised" in the photos, but the building was definitely run down. The carpest are pretty worn and gross, and the AC is quite loud. Finally, the water in the shower remains cold to lukewarm.

I've stayed in a good number of hotels for work over the years and this hotel was probably the second-worst one I've been in. I would certainly plan your stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nuwriy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Finnell, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Dear nuwriy,

I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We hope to better serve you on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021

As a preflight stayover we chose the Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel. It was a good choice. It's easy to reach, has free parking and is a good hotel if you don't want to stay in the city center and if you are not afraid for some driving. You reach downtown within ca. 30 minutes via Uber - so it's not too inconvenient. Which is also the same time to reach O'hare

The service at reception was super friendly and fast and we got to our room with a king size bed quickly and easily.
The room was very well designed and very comfy. We really loved the different, pleasing interior design choices in the room. Very creative. The room was clean and the furniture looked and appeared well maintained.
The bathroom was not very big, but also well designed. The glass-barn-doors for the shower were a new interesting impression for me.

Only critique point for the stay was the water pressure in the shower - that was way too low, and it took very / too long till warm water was provided.

The bed was comfy and provided a good night sleep.
Overall it was a good stay in Chicago and can be recommended.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alfons M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Finnell, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Alfons M,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your review. It’s encouraging to know that your stay was pleasant. Our goal is to provide comfort to all our guests who are away from home; your feedback allows us to monitor how we are doing. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to your return trip.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

The fact that this is supposed to be an upscale hotel is a joke. The service is horrible and the rooms are terrible. When we arrived we were told they did not have the king room we reserved but instead could only give us a queen. Once in the room we discovered there were no toiletries. There was not even a bar if soap to wash our hands. We called to ask and they said they would bring it and they never did. There was no floor mat and no hairdryer as listed in the amenities. The next day they agreed to move us to a king size room and that room also was missing some toiletries, had a broken hair dryer, and piles of dirt on the floor . The front desk said they would have a supervisor call an they never called.

The rooms are very dark with terrible lightening. The sliding glass door on the bathroom is useless. They don't stay close and provide zero privacy in the bathroom.

Probably due to Covid the bar was closed and they were not offering any breakfast or food.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Finnell, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2021

Dear KCSTL,

We sincerely regret your experience. This is definitely not up to our standards. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments regarding the issues you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is of great importance and allows us to monitor and improve. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews