We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$129
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Renaissance Hotels
$131
View deal
Expedia.com
$137
View deal
Hotels.com$137
Priceline$137
travelup.com$150
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
228
256
106
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
228
256
106
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruth chris front desk staff nice hotel free parking concierge lounge night's sleep lobby chicago meeting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

STAY LITERALLY ANYWHERE ELSE IN CHICAGO. We booked this hotel for our wedding night (dumb I know), and upon arrival were told that they had actually “overbooked” the hotel, and given away our room- which they said was company policy, just like airlines! They attempted to “walk” us to a room at another hotel (which also had no availability), and then asked if we had any friends or family in the area we could stay with. They didn’t even pay for our uber from the hotel, but don’t worry!!! They said they would totally reimburse us for the room we didn’t get to stay in. Honestly not only the worst hotel experience I’ve ever had, but one of the worst life experiences I’ve had.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank brentg627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Dear brentg627,

We sincerely regret your experience; it is never our intent to relocate a guest. I'm sorry we disappointed you. Our inventory changes by the minute due to guests extending their stays, rooms going out of order for maintenance issues, etc. We strive to provide comfort and sincere hospitality to all our guests and we clearly missed our goal. We have been in contact with you regarding your review and hope to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2021

We found the hotel comfortable, well-situated, and good value. They were extremely busy with wedding parties, but made time to ensure that or stay was enjoyable. The bed was super comfortable and the shower perfect!

Room tip: Ask for higher floor to avoid traffic.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S2026LPbarbaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear S2026LPbarbaraw,

Thank you for sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodations and friendly service. It's encouraging to hear that our hard work is affecting the guest experience. Please visit us again upon your return to the area.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021

The room was okay although the reading light was burned out and the bedside phone chargers did not work. Worst..we could hear everything the people next door said...and they weren't loud...BUT they had their tv on(again not loud) but it played through our wall like we were almost their...From midnight to 7 a.m. Plus with all that there was a charge for the internet. We went to the hotel because there was work in our home and we needed a good night's sleep....we still do.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I’m sorry to hear that noise pollution kept you from having a restful night’s sleep; please forgive us. Your comfort is our highest priority and I regret that we left you less than completely satisfied. Your feedback is welcomed as it allows us to monitor the guest experience.

Sincerely,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2020

Stayed here recently as my family of 4 and small pet were traveling back from Ohio to Minnesota. We were pleased with the building and facilities. Nice rooms, up to date technology with their TV system as well.

We got a great deal on the room and based on that, I would recommend it to anyone based on that and the experience we had!

Room tip: If you're on a budget, make sure you're not paying full price! We got a great deal through Priceline.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank benducklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2020

Dear benducklow,

We're happy to hear from you and glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you and your family choosing to stay with us while driving through the area. I'm pleased to hear we were well suited for your family's travels. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon for more family fun.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2020 via mobile

Came here for the night whilst traveling through Chicago, the rooms have been renovated to a good standard. The beds are very comfortable. ‘Home Alone’ house 7 minutes from this hotel. Pleasant stay. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank The_Travel_Family123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Concord Hospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Dear The_Travel_Family123,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. I’m glad you found our location convenient and accommodations pleasant. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to being your hotel of choice when in the area.

Best,
Stephen Barr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews