We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Louise”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was the worst hotel i have ever been in. When i got the room the smell was so bad i opened the door after an hour the smell still did not leave the room . there were bugs in the bathroom. i think they were nats flying around. My husband said the smell is mold. The board of health should check this place out. I could not stay the night. I asked for my money back. At least the man was nice and gave my money back. I feel bad for anyone who has to stay here. This place is too old and run down. Nothing like the pictures. they must have been taken 20 years ago. Stay away !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    19
    8
    43
See reviews for
60
6
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dumont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here for our daughter's Naval Graduation. Very close to the base and Lake Michigan. By looking at the place, we were not sure if we were going to like it, (not fancy at all), but we did. Rooms were very clean. Staff was friendly. They had a outdoor pool and hot tub. The price was great. The pool could have been skimmed more often but it was nice. The only complaint I would have is that the bathroom was way too small. Barely any room to change in it, but it was clean. They also had a free continental breakfast that wasn't very exciting. Overall we had a nice stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovelyLadyBug86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The staff was friendly. The room was neat and clean. When we had a concern,
it was dealt with promptly and pleasantly. The rate was within our family 's budget.
We appreciate you Red Carpet Inn North Chicago!

Room Tip: If you need Wi-fi, ask for a room location that will give the strongest signal possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaltman89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I came to the area to watch a friend graduate from his basic training with the Navy. This hotel is about a mile -- in a direct line -- to the Naval base. It was easy to get to where I needed to go.

First -- the customer service here was excellent. I can't really complain about it.

I made the reservation the week before I was traveling out. For non-smoking, they told me all they had was a jacuzzi room. That's fine and I took it. I arrived to the hotel around 2 p.m. to check in after a morning of hiking elsewhere. I was ready for a nice shower, so I checked in and went to my room to check things out.

... It didn't have a shower.

Apparently, at this place, a jacuzzi suite doesn't come with a shower! Argh!

I went back to the front desk in the hopes of finding something with a shower. They then had a double (which was what I had originally wanted -- at like $20 cheaper a room!), but I had to pay the same rate. That's the one thing that really kind of got me on this trip as I paid $20 more than I should have. But, at that point, I was paying and didn't care as I wanted to take a shower and go do a few things. And in the end, I got a shower, which was much better than a jacuzzi for me on this trip!

The bed was decently comfortable. The internet was slow as I couldn't seem to log onto the secured one and had to grab off the other one. That could be my computer, so that's not a total strike against this place.

Things seemed clean. The towels were a little dated, they seemed. The water pressure and such was good and I enjoyed the stay and the location overall. Being I only stayed one night and had met a friend for dinner elsewhere, I didn't get to try some of the places very close by.

They offer special rates for those going to Navy graduations, so check in on those.

In the end, I'd stay here again if in the area. For people coming to the graduations, you can't ask for a better location at this price and have a clean and efficient room.

And the people at the front desk are helpful and friendly. That makes it worth the stay right there as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank softball29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin , TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We chose this hotel because the reviews were good and it was so close to the Navy base, and we were there for our son's graduation. We stayed 3 nights - 4/14/11-4/17/11.

Overall - a decent cheap place to stay, especially if you are on a budget and need to be close to the Navy base.
The rooms were clean and decent, but nothing special. We got two rooms for our group. Both were non-smoking, but still seemed to have a smoke odor. I called the front desk about it, and they brought a plug-in room deodorizer , which did help.

Like other posters, our experience with the front desk varied. On the day of our arrival, the guy at the desk spoke very broken English and was rather rude when I attempted to ask about places to eat in the area. The person I spoke to when we left was much nicer. The price was great for our budget, so it was worth it, overall.
I did appreciate the free internet access. We have stayed at really expensive hotels where you had to pay for that.

I would stay there again.

There is a restaurant/bar next door (Flanagans) that does breakfast buffet on Saturday and Sunday. It was really good. Also an Arby's down the road, and a small hambuger place that is good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandyld7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Chicago
0.4 km away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
4.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.2 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago

Property: Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago
Address: 3207 Buckley Rd, North Chicago, IL 60064-3449
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > North Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 4,461
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn n. Chicago Hotel North Chicago
Red Carpet Inn North Chicago
North Chicago Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago Lake County/North Chicago, IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing