We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GO SOMEWHERE ELSE PLEASE! Worst hotel we've ever stayed at.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norridge
Colona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GO SOMEWHERE ELSE PLEASE! Worst hotel we've ever stayed at.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked it because it was cheap, close to the airport & had free 24hr airport shuttle. Shuttle was a joke....an old beater purple Ford Windstar, (decided to drive ourselves instead.) A/C didn't work, pool & restaurant were closed, dirtiest hotel I have ever seen. Extremely run down. Beds sunk in the middle bad & were very uncomfortable. I can't believe this place is in business. If I ever have to come back to Chicago, I will spend a little more $ and stay at the Marriot or the Holiday Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    31
    45
    46
    146
See reviews for
51
63
58
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spend the extra money and stay at the Marriot or stay further away and cab it. I wasn't going to leave a review considering all I wanted was a place to put my head down, but this was too horrible. First, they shouldn't advertise that they have a shuttle; when I arrived I was told that the shuttle only comes on the hour... fine. Then I was told to "keep an eye out for a purple ford windstar" because, not being a licensed shuttle, they couldn't stop in front of the terminal! Then the room was dirty, the ac knobs wouldn't work (I suspect in order to keep guests from turning it up when it's too hot or cold), the shower had no pressure, the tub floor was slippery with grime, and the door wouldn't lock on its own when I left and was told to jiggle my key card in it to get it to work. Finally, the "breakfast" they serve is just a plate of twinkies and when I asked for a shuttle back to the airport, I was told it was already carrying a family of 3 so there was no space for me, I'd just have to find my own transport or miss my flight. Never again. Pass on the good karma!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norridge hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

These pictures on this website must be from years ago!!!! The lobby had no air, in fact there were box fans all over and the hallways were over 100 degrees. Our room was so nasty that we actually laid out towels on top of the bed and slept on top of them. The shower was BLACK on the floor!! The shower head was so dirty that the water coming out was yellow. The floors were horrible, there was white power all over the floor. I assume carpet fresh?? There was no phone in the room, no iron, no iron board, only two towels, two pillow on a king size bed, only one wash cloth. When we asked the front desk for more towels and pillows we were told that they dont offer that. The staff was rude and short with us each time I talked to them. The paint in the hallways was peeling off, the smoke alarms were literaly hanging from the ceiling. The complimentary breakfast was genaric swiss cake rolls and coffee. This is honestly only a step above a hotel in a horror movie. I can't believe they are still actually in business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The area is not good at all. If I was driving I would have kept the doors locked. It was 90 degrees and they had no air con running, they had all of the doors propped open, anyone could just walk in. My room number was reflective stickers for the side of a house. The door looked to have been kicked in numerous times as the frame was cracked and the security latch had been ripped off and was missing leaving 2 sets of holes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kno1218a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This place was pretty bad but could be made better with just a little effort. The shower had no device to turn from bath to shower mode so I had to change rooms. The biggest problem was that while there was free internet, it was only in the hallways and lobby and there was no air conditioning! As I was there recently in the summer months of 100+, this made life difficult. The hotel also advertised an "Express Breakfast" but all they put out was a bowl of what looked like plastic wrapped "Yodels" or "Ho-Hos".

The few benefits of staying at this establishment was that it is within walking distance of the Metro Train Station that takes you into the City Centre for just $2.50 one way which takes about 40 minutes. Also, the Pizza Place next store serves up a pretty good slice of pizza and there is a "Hooters" next store to the hotel if you like that sort of place. They also have a little shuttle to O'Hare Airport free of charge at the Hotel.

Chicago is very expensive where hotels are concerned and this place is not, nor should it be so if you want to save a few bucks on a 3 night stay, it is survivable if you have a hardy constituition...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norridge
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#131 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#105 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel

Property: Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel
Address: 8201 W Higgins Rd, Norridge, IL 60631 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel Chicago - O'Hare)
Region: United States > Illinois > Norridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,217 - ₹ 8,835
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chicago O'Hare Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Also Known As:
Chicago Ohare Garden Hotel
Chicago o Hare Garden Hotel
Ohare Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing