We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Dorset

Dorset
Reserve with
Dorset is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Borne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We go here once a year with a special deal. 3 course meal with optional additions.
This time we did one addition, it seemed very skimpy and was not what we expected. Next time I will ask about it because for 12 bucks it seems steep!
Black Angus was Amazing!! the best part of the entire meal! They also have a very nice selection whiskies!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Went tonight for diner with family to Dorset. It's a nice location. The staff was friendly. We had an English guest, they did there best to translate the menu and explain the food. We had a 4 dishes surprising menu with wine tasting. It was really delicious. Would go again!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank K3566BErobertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I understand that for the 'locals' this might be a good restaurant but in the grand scheme of things (for anybody that has travelled) the food is just above average. The service is OK - although my husband was offered a second aperatif and I was totally ignored (shock horror!!). There were 3 couples eating in the restaurant this evening plus a table of 26. We were the last couple to be seated (next to the 26) and the noise they made gave me a headache. There was another part of the restaurant that was totally empty, where management could have seated us and we may have enjoyed the evening a little bit more. In short....a restaurant that thinks it is better than it actually is. The food is acceptable but for the prices they ask we would have expected something a little better. Will not be going there again - but that is our choice.................

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kizmet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We went here with a deal of 'couples dinner'. Basically, it was buy one get one. Dinner was very nice! The mansion is beautiful! Lots of history in it!
Staff was very helpful and offered often. I will include some pics, but it was VERY dark in the restaurant, so I had to brighten the photos which made them kinda grainy.
We did the 4 course dinner.
First was shrimp, scallops and some trimmings. Not much to eat, but it was a starter.
Second was sea bass. Very tasty!
Third was Duck (main course). I found it very chewy and wound up pulling tendons out to be able to eat it. I was hoping for a cut of beef, but oh well....
Lastly, we has dessert which was a thick slice of pineapple with sorbet and other nice things on top.
For coffee, they gave us a very nice selection of cookies and other sweets.
Was a very nice experience!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Great staff, superb food, great ambiance, all together you really feel spoiled and pampered! If you are in the neighbourhood, this is the place you should visit. It has a rare combination; fancy and and the same time laid-back.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorset also viewed

Borne, Overijssel Province
Borne, Overijssel Province
 
Hengelo, Overijssel Province
Zenderen, Overijssel Province
 
Enschede, Overijssel Province
Zenderen, Overijssel Province
 

Been to Dorset? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing