We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cabin in the Woods”
Review of White Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Pines Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Morris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed in Cabin 26, one of the “sweetheart” cabins Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Let me note if you are confused by the number of the cabin because all literature states White Pines has 25 cabins, the Park skipped lucky number 13, hence we technically stayed in their 25th cabin. There are two sweetheart cabins (25 and 26) and although most information about the sweetheart cabins lead you to believe they are larger than the other 23 cabins, all in fact the same size with regards to interior space. The only difference in physical space is they add a love seat to sweetheart cabins (see photos) which for us was a nice addition to sit comfortably by the fireplace. And if you have not been to White Pines, their website map of the cabin locations is a bit deceiving as Cabin 26 appears to be more secluded from the rest, when in reality it could be renamed Cabin 1 since it is the most visible to traffic and visitors of all cabins. It is also the cabin located right behind their visitor “photography” sign. The cabin is what is to be expected of those built in the C.C.C. era with being rustic, but warm and charming. The bathroom was a nice size with hand made soap which could be used as shampoo too. Small refrigerator and coffee pot was a nice addition and if you need ice a bucket is supplied which you can have filled at White Pines Inn anytime the restaurant is open (with a friendly smile may I add).

Ahha to White Pines Inn, ate there Easter morning and the breakfast was terrific; clearly you can tell the baked goodies were homemade and the breakfasts meats were plentiful and delicious. A hike after breakfast was a must for sure!

White Pines Cabins are a nice option to camping fall through spring when you can take advantage of the gas fireplace and the comforts of the indoors. If I returned to the cabins I would probably opt for #22-25 as they are spread out a little more and have a nice interior view of the campfire rings and a bit more privacy from the many visitors to White Pines Inn.

Only negative of the area as stated by others is the railroad tracks which run along the north end of the park; although not a big issue in a cabin I can understand how the continual horn blowing at night can be troublesome to sleep in the campground.

Room Tip: Cabins #22-25 seem to offer the best cabin experience for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2010

My husband and I have come here many, many times over the years. This is our favorite little getaway. We feel like we've stepped back in time, and can leave all our cares behind for a few days. The food at the restaurant is amazing - this is one of the main draws for us. If you can go during the week, they have a special where if you stay Sun and Mon nights, Tues night is free. That's what we usually do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CPAMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Great get away for the couples and families alike. Smaller rooms are quaint and romantic. Larger rooms cover the essentials of those with kids. Beautiful place, great scenery, awesome food at the restaurant, and incredible people serving you with small town charm.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runthenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Nice little get away and not a long drive for us - three nights was a nice amount to stay - Here are our pros/cons... girls enjoyed fishing although not much was caught (and not for lack of trying!). Trails were fun, although a bit steep and narrow at times for young ones (these marked medium for difficulty). Kids always love driving thru the fords too - just we did as kids!! Had to get used to some spiders and beetles in the room, but it comes with the nature of where you are staying! Our only complaint would be the housekeeping - floors were VERY dirty and even the girls noticed this right away, and we were never brought more shampoo or lotion in the three nights we stayed. (We always bring our own just in case, but we had used what was there first). We went into Dixon for some meals out, so we didn't try the restaurant and we chose to pick up a pizza one night as the delivery charge was pricey for a 4 mile drive ($5 delivery!). Kids love the parrot in the gift shop!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEAMERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed at the White Pines Inn this month; it was our second visit. We live only about two hours away; it is a great get-away without having to drive hours and hours. There are about 24 cabins, including a few "quad" cabins. This is a great place to take some nice hikes and enjoy relaxing, family time. There is a gas fireplace in the cabin, and while it is "cozy," it is nice for a short get-away. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The kids love the gift shop, and the restaurant is nice and food is quite good (make a reservation as is small.) Bring some marshmallows as there are firepits to use...and bring the frisbee! Highly recommend.

Two cons, that perhaps the Inn can improve upon in future:

The kids play equipment is antiquated (to put it mildly.) Would be nice to have some new playground equipment as families with toddlers/younger kids may not be able to enjoy the trails as much...newer equipment in the area in front of the Inn would be an asset.

It would be nice if the small side table in the room were replaced (not the larger table, which is good for games) with a comfy chair. If someone wants to stay up and read, the bed or the hard chair is only option.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lacetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to White Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pines Inn

Address: 6712 W Pines Rd, Mount Morris, IL 61054-9515
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Morris
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Morris
Price Range: ₹ 5,063 - ₹ 5,768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
White Pines Hotel Mount Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing