We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids who love tractors and "mighty machines"”

John Deere Pavilion
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Moline
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the world headquarters of the John Deere company.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great place for kids who love tractors and "mighty machines"”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I had been here about 10 years ago before we had kids. This time we came back with our 4 and 6 year old boys, and boy, did they love it. The pavilion features both current tractors and machinery from Deere, as well as some classics from the past. Included in the "classics" is the ultra-rare experimental "Dain" tractor of which only 100 were made in Moline in 1917, when Deere was looking to get into the tractor business. Instead, Deere purchased the company that made the Waterloo Boy tractor (also represented here) and ever since most large farm tractors have been built in Waterloo, IA

Most of the "new" tractors kids were allowed (and encouraged) to get up and inside the cabs, which our boys really enjoyed. Besides standard farm tractors, they had a good assortment of construction equipment including an excavator, wheeled loader, and the like, and also some smaller lawn/garden type tractors and gators. Our boys could have stayed/played there all day if we had let them.

Next door is the John Deere store where you can buy just about anything that has the Deere logo on it, including a huge assortment of toys. We had just come from the Ertl outlet store in Dyersville, IA where the prices were somewhat better, so we didn't buy anything. There is no fee charged for the Pavilion.

The only downside was that we hadn't realized they had closed the John Deere Collectors Center which used to be just down the street and featured even more beautifully restored old Deere tractors in an environment that looked like a mid-50's Deere dealer. Too bad.

If you go to the Pavilion and enjoy it, you might consider going out to the Deere headquarters where they have a similar show building of equipment that kids can also get up inside.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehcsif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    95
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Terrific Free Site if Your Child Loves Tracotrs”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The John Deere Pavilion is easy to find- overlooking the Mississippi River- and has enough tractors in it to keep your child occupied for quite a while. You'll see antique tractors that look like they just rolled off the production line and new equipment that did. It's incredible to see the instrument panels in the new equipment.

In addition to the tractors there is also a John Deere timeline that begins with Mr. John Deere and his invention of the self-scouring plow, a kids area with games and John Deere employees on hand to answer any questions you might have.

Don't miss the John Deere Store for an iconic green & yellow keepsake!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Fun, free place to get in touch with your inner farm boy.”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This city boy had a great time admiring the Deere farm (and logging and construction) equipment on display at the John Deere Pavilion. Keep your fingers off the antiques, but climb in and have a look around the new equipment. See how you do with a computer simulator. Staff members were particularly helpful and personable. A souvenir shop is adjacent with Deere postcards, t-shirts, toys, etc.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hoogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Kids Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The Pavilion was a hit with the kids. Free to sit in all the machinery and explore.

We had planned on an afternoon at the Pavilion, but we were there for only an hour or so.

The gift shop is tough to get the kids out of without spending an arm and leg.

And admission....FREE!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank dc61920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Took our 3 and 5 year old John Deere loving boys and thought it was great. The best part is it's free, but of course we spent a pretty penny at the wonderful gift shop. The loved climbing on all the equipment and we got some wonderful pictures. We stated across the street and were able to pop over several times during our weekend stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank jmkarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to John Deere Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing