We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice.”

Giant City State Park Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Makanda
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent wait staff. Fantastic food. Very cool historic lodge.

It was amazing to climb 85 steps to the tower viewing platform where one could see the Peace Cross” miles away.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank edwardgwojdyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

Good family-style fried chicken dinner with mashed potatoes, dumplings, green beans, corn, cole slaw, and biscuits. Reasonably priced lunch special.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank KCMO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Unlimited home cooking meal with fried chicken, green beans, coleslaw, mashed potatoes and gravy, dumplings (did I get everything?). Oh yeah fresh biscuits. Great price too. Of course you can order a al carte, but why?

Wait staff wore masks, too.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RecRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2021

We were there in late May for a collegiate baseball tournament and our large group of parents went after a game. The owners were there and graciously welcomed us, gave us a brief history of the lodge and how they became the owners. It was really neat. The mean was so good. We all opted for the family style service and the staff brought out the food and kept the bowls full. The waitstaff were all very professional and did not let our tea/water get too low. The dessert was amazing! I had the peach cobbler with ice cream and it was a LOT, so I shared with my daughter.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Food is great. Must visit if in the area. The family style feast is our pick but they have alot to pick from. Very nice.....

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Jerrod1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Giant City State Park Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giant City State Park Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.