We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at this Holiday Inn Express Made Our Trip to Visit Family Exceptionally Enjoyable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

When we arrived at the HI Express on Sunday, July 23, we had difficulty getting to the hotel since an area was roped off to protect the newly laid tar near the property.

Of course, this wasn’t the hotel’s fault. But when we finally found our way onto the hotel's driveway, we checked in and shared our ordeal with the manager at the front desk. He laughed and said he had the same problem coming into work and apologized for the problem. Thankfully, the tar had dried the following day and the tape and road cones had been removed.

The hotel in general is very nice and the same can be said about our room. There was a Keurig coffeemaker at our disposal and free Wi-Fi. The room was so nice and indeed our home away from home.

We had a minor problem with a lamp that didn't work and the manager immediately replaced it once it was brought to his attention. During our stay, the hotel had work done on their Wi-Fi network; for some reason, our Internet access was somewhat interrupted. But, given the service we received overall, it's a sure bet needed tweaks have resolved the problem by now.

The front desk has snacks, soda, beer and wine that guests can be purchased with cash, credit/debit card, or have charged to their room. Breakfast is served every morning, and there is an onsite laundry room if needed.

The general area has a Kohl's department store and a Culver's, north on Rand. The strip mall near the hotel has a Starbucks, Dairy Queen, and a host of other businesses and services. (If you had car trouble while visiting this area, you'd be in luck by having a Napa and O'Reilly auto parts shops nearby, as well as Lake Zurich Tire & Auto).

If you intend to visit Barrington, you will have your pick of various restaurants in the area. Like thin-crust pizza and a nice glass of red wine? Have a seat at The Slyce Coal-Fired Pizza Co., 127 N Main St, Wauconda, IL 60084. You won't be disappointed.

So, given our wonderful stay, this Holiday Inn-Express will be our go-to place when we're again in town to visit family.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gibsonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

I primarily stayed here because of the proximity to my work. I also stayed because I found out in other reviews that they had a 24 hour pool and hot tub. Too few hotels have this policy. I work "strange hours" so this is a major benefit. During my stay, I found out that this place is what ALL Holiday Inn Express hotels should strive to be. The rooms were spotless and well equipped. The staff was top notch. The hotel was renovated recently. I was able to visit the manager's reception during one of my nights and it was a great experience. The GM was actually there serving food, wine, and beer, and most importantly thanking his guests for staying. Breakfast was better than you would expect from an HIE. I will absolutely stay there when I am in the area next time. I know that anything I needed they would provide. See you again soon.

Room Tip: No highways nearby. Back side of the hotel has a pond and trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hippo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for over a week. We checked into 2 separate rooms.

Pros- Hotel staff is great.
Remodeled hotel lobby is very nice.
Breakfast is pretty good - warning the eggs taste like they were made with a 3 D printer (not real eggs?).
Pool and Jacuzzi are open 24/7.
The beds are comfortable.

Cons- huge stains on the hotel room carpet in one of the hotel rooms. The stain was sticky when stepped on with my bare feet.
Toilets would not flush correctly had to hold the handle down to allow the toilet to flush (both rooms).
Exhaust fans for both restrooms did not work- mirrors steamed up after a shower.
TV in work out room did not work.
Porporri smell in the 2 rooms was overwhelming? Porporri power can not take the place of a clean room.

Overall we enjoyed the hotel stay!



Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Compusa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties with your rooms during your stay. We will certainly be addressing the issues you have brought to our attention. I hope you'll have another chance to stay with us where we can show you our improvements. Let me know if I can be of assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed a few nights for a wedding. Shuttle to/from reception was convenient and driver was friendly. Staff at hotel very nice and hotel room very comfortable. But the standout feature was the complementary breakfast. I've had other hotel breakfast and is so-so, you know that you get what you pay for (i.e. free). At this place not only was there a wide variety, but everything was excellent. Pancakes, scrambled eggs, omelets, cinnamon rolls all delicious. Definitely a good place to stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Taz1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were delighted with our breakfast. This has been an area of focus for our team, so we will be sure to pass on your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this property. Friendly staff that seem to enjoy being there to make you feel at home. Nice breakfast, fresh clean rooms.
We have drifted away from holiday in property in the past few years because of their no pets allowed policy in many of their hotels. Thank you Lake Zurich for welcoming our well behaved 4 legged family member.

Our daughters live in the area so we will be back again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yayalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Zurich
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Deer Park
4.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
15.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
14.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hoffman Estates
14.9 km away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Hoffman Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington

Address: 197 S Rand Rd, Lake Zurich, IL 60047-2275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Price Range: ₹ 7,751 - ₹ 9,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington, IL. Situated in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, IL, Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington is located off Hwy 12 and State Route 22, with easy access to the communities of Lake Zurich, Barrington, Wauconda, and Volo . Our leisure travelers will love the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington's . In the heart of Lake County visitors will find our hotel ideally situated to enjoy the many recreational activities of the area. Our Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel is close to several corporate offices, including ECHO Inc, CF Industries, and Fresenius. We are proud to offer free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout our hotel, a 24-hour business center for all your business-related needs, meeting space and an indoor pool and whirlpool area. Come Stay Smart with us at our centrally located Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing