We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty whitefish, nice selection of food and drink”
Review of Uptown Grill

Uptown Grill
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in LaSalle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Since 1985 the Uptown Grill has offered polished casual American cuisine, serving our full menu for lunch thru dinner seven days a week. We offer one of the most diverse menus in the area. Our atmosphere includes beautiful outdoor seating, screened-in patio seating, as well as a newly remodeled bar and lounge area. Uptown is centrally located off Interstate 80 and Interstate 39. We are in the heart of Starved Rock Country, just five minutes away from Starved Rock State Park. To learn more about Uptown Grill, please visit our website.
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Had the Parmesan crusted whitefish,and succotash, both very good. Spinach salad was okay, very small, too much dressing but tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amyj060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Amy,

Thank you for visiting us! Our whitefish is one of our biggest sellers. Thank you for the feedback on the spinach salad, we are constantly working to improve our menu items to provide the best possible experience for our customers. We look forward to having you back soon.

Thank you,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends on July 29
Had heard great things but not warned about having my credit card charged twice

Food was ok service was super super slow
As we had places to be we walked to hostess podium to checkout as instructed by server
I open my cc statement and find that I was charged twice once before gratuity was added and again after gratuity. Now I'm like what's going on?
Anyone else experience this?
Definitely going back or suggesting anyone else do so

1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

John,
We were very sorry to hear you feedback. It has been six weeks since your visit, and we have tried to contact you regarding your statement of being charged twice. We researched that day and did not find any multiple charges on your account. We will absolutely make the situation right if you feel you were over charged. Our customers experience is very important to us. Please direct message us here or email us frontdesk@uptowngrill.com .
Thank you,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner. Very interesting choices and a menu that has something for everyone. I had salmon risotto and it was delicious. Nice atmosphere for dining. Didn't eat outside but will definitely take advantage of outside dining next time or when weather permits.

Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Judith,

Thank you for joining us. We always use the freshest ingredients in all of our dishes, and our digital tablet allows us to change our menu based on season and availability. Our salmon risotto is always a crowd pleaser! We look forward to having you back soon.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Upscale, but very quaint, from decor to lovely food presentation. We were taken care of very nicely by Roberta. Both enjoyed the sourdough bread bowl filled with seafood chowder. Decadent, filling and so full of shark, scallops, mahi mahi and grouper. It really hit the spot. Lovely bread and cracker plate accompanied our meal. LOL. Make sure to wash your hands at the sink in the restrooms!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Lynn,

Thank you for visiting us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us. Our seafood chowder is made fresh daily. Our complimentary bread basket is a great accompaniment to any meal. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We visited for a lunchtime visit, and found the menu was short but interesting. The wait staff were attentive and the overall service was great.

Thank DEREK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Uptown Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Derek,

Thank you for joining us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. We do try offer a variety of entree choices on our menu, and typically have over 20 different choices ranging from fish, pasta, chicken, steak, and pork, in addition to a selection of burgers and sandwiches. We hope you can join us again soon.

Best,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Uptown Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing