We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and expensive”
Review of Jah Bar

Jah Bar
Ranked #11 of 109 Restaurants in Dee Why
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 81
Description: Food at Jah Bar is sourced locally and ethically, all seafood is fully sustainable and sourced to the bench mark of sustainability. All animals come from the green pastures of Cowra, being hormone and chemical free. Our food philosophy is that fresh food is already beautiful so we try to let the produce speak for itself. We work on an absolute no wastage menu with seasonal availability in mind. We believe by using extra virgin olive oil, citrus and quality sea salt as our base seasoning we can keep our approach to food light and relatively simple.
Restaurant details
Description: Food at Jah Bar is sourced locally and ethically, all seafood is fully sustainable and sourced to the bench mark of sustainability. All animals come from the green pastures of Cowra, being hormone and chemical free. Our food philosophy is that fresh food is already beautiful so we try to let the produce speak for itself. We work on an absolute no wastage menu with seasonal availability in mind. We believe by using extra virgin olive oil, citrus and quality sea salt as our base seasoning we can keep our approach to food light and relatively simple.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

The food was lacklustre. They killed the kingfish carpaccio, the salad heirloom tomatoe salad was boring and the whole meal was over priced. They charge main prices for entree size potions. Never again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank kellieghj2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jahbarsydney@gmail.com, Customer Advocate at Jah Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. I'm not sure what you expected but it does sound at odds with the vast majority of other diners as evidenced by the positive reviews. That's ok, there are restaurants for all and it just sounds like we are not for you. We can't take credit for killing the kingfish though. As fresh as our ingredients are, the kingfish arrives already "killed" by our excellent fishmonger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

Fantastic value, fantastic service and fantastic food. The service was great.
We had the $45 special. The value and quality of food was awesome.
It’s directly opposite the ocean, so it has great views.
You can not fault this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jahbarsydney@gmail.com, Customer Advocate at Jah Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and we are super stoked that you enjoyed not only the food but the commitment that our team put into looking after our valuable guests. We can't take *too* much credit for that view though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

We have been here many times - positioned opposite Dee Why Beach the atmosphere is great, the staff great and the food, mainly tapas, is consistently terrific and yummy - a great place to eat , drink and watch the world go by at the beach !

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jahbarsydney@gmail.com, Customer Advocate at Jah Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. It's been a pretty tough 12 months and it doesn't look like changing much anytime soon. It is legends such as yourselves who keep coming back and enjoying the results of our passion that make it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

The flavours in the food were next level. We asked the chef to offer us the menu of the day, and it far surpassed our expectations. The heirloom tomato and burrata salad is the best I have ever tasted. Hard to pick between the garlic prawns, lamb tacos and the fish tacos. The service was fantastic, warm and attentive. This place is a must visit, with one of the best views that the northern beaches can offer. We will be back for sure.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 191katerinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jahbarsydney@gmail.com, Customer Advocate at Jah Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words! With things like that to say, we are super keen to welcome you back. That is, of course, as soon as Gladys gives us all the thumbs up to go outside and play again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2020 via mobile

We visited Jar Bar a few weeks ago and couldn't rate the place highly enough. The service was awesome but the food was even better!!! I'm sad we can't come there again during these times but will definitely be using your takeaway service!

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank sorayay981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jahbarsydney@gmail.com, Customer Advocate at Jah Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You're awesome, thank you for your kind words! As soon as Gladys lets us know that we're all ok again, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jah Bar also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Dee Why, Warringah
 

Been to Jah Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.