We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
17 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$1,113
View deal
Hotels.com
$1,113
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$840
View deal
Booking.com$1,101
Travelocity$1,113
Anantara.com$977
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,236)
Filter reviews
2,238 results
Traveller rating
1,983
183
47
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,983
183
47
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club coconut man our honeymoon games room water villa special thanks family holiday marine biologist outdoor bathroom private pool fish the general manager fine dining half board sea plane the resort manager beautiful island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,436 - 1,441 of 2,238 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Well i have traveled extensively all over the world and have been to the Maldives 13 times so when i found Niyama for our Honey moon and Anniversary (it was a late honeymoon!) I was expecting a lot, especially seeing the photos and other reviews.

My wife is also very fussy and has extremely high standards of accommodation, food and service.

So imagine our surprise when we got there and discovered that it actuality exceeded our expectations.

This truly is one of the best holidays i have ever had and it was rally quite hard to fault. The rooms are fantastic, the view breathtaking, the service very good and the food is i would say Michelin star quality.

Ok the price does reflect this but if you are the sort of person who gets upset paying 120 USD for two double courvoisier brandies, then you are probably at the wrong resort!

The butler service was great and a few nice little touches for our honeymoon (i wont give anything away for other guests), we also found a great little bar in the African restaurant and were looked after extremely well by the barman Nishan.

If i was looking for a fault it would be the local reefs and fish life, as this is a relatively new resort and they are still finishing a second part of the island, the fish are lets say fairly sparse and some of the water was a little cloudy at times. But please don't let that put you off, it really is a minor point and if you really want to see fish and great reefs, you don't have to go far away.

The night club is a great touch and didn't disappoint with a DJ who wouldn't have been out of place in a London club.

Food as I have said was exceptional with plenty of choice from the three restaurants. We were half board and had a few extra lunches which worked for us.

One other point worth mentioning and i feel a lot of hotels get wrong was the WiFi service that was free and worked brilliantly everywhere in our room and on the island, so many times this is either extra or intermittent.

So if you are looking for something that little bit special, classy and romantic then this is the place for you.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank DarrellStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear Tuns,

Great to read such a wonderful review specially from a traveller like your and thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor.

Our heartfelt thank you for recommending NIYAMA and to your compliments on our villas, cuisine, and the resort in general. We pride ourselves on delivering a destination experience, beginning from arrival in the Maldives, location, accommodation, restaurants and activities. It's therefore wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all of these and collect wonderful stories to treasure.

We hope to welcome you soon again for another amazing stories to collect.

With kind regards,
Dietmar Koegerl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Recently my husband and I visited Niyama resort for our 10 year wedding anniversary, after 6 months of research we were not disappointed!

We have traveled around the world and have visited some of the best resorts and nothing has come close!

Your private butler (Badhur) to the smiling welcoming staff and the crystal clear water you can't go wrong!

We highly recommend on getting some extras like the sand bank dinner and a sunset cruise dinner.

After returning there is not a day that go's buy where we don't reminisce our wonderful experience together, we are truly grateful to the Niyama staff for going out of there way to make our experience so memorable, we are already planing our next trip.

Thanks again to Niyama for the best holiday of our life, see you soon!

Blessings

Ryan and Marnie Xx

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathanbeuelijaylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Ryan and Marnie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at NIYAMA.

It is inspiring to received wonderful comments specially from a traveler like you. Hearing such great feedback like yours is one of the many reasons why we are proud to be part of NIYAMA.
Your compliments comes in as great motivator to us to continue our quest to provide unsurpassed luxury and has been communicated to the team specially to Bhadur.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure to welcoming you once more and create an amazing 11th wedding anniversary.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

we spent 15 days at the Nyiama resort and we have to say our expectations were very high but everything was far beyond our expactations.. the location, the island, beach and villas are amazing. everything is just perfect. the island and the beaches are always clean, no stress and eveything is very modern and clean.. the lime spa is fabulous and the peolpe working there are so kind... the food at the epicure, the tribal and the edge are amazing, some of the best food I ever eat... the food and the people there are just amazing. but what made our holiday so unique and perfect apart from the great resort, the food were the people there.. the resort manager Didi, is a great guy.. very nice and friendly and always wants the best for his guests... and his staff,the people on the Island make you feel that the lead there is perfect and that the goal is to make the client happy you can just feel the good vibes and that everybody is a team..... it is all about beeing in paradise... Ken from Botswana, one of the chefs there is an amazing guy.. he is so creative and an amazing cook. he always took care of us and cooked and fried just the best things for us.. every dinner he suprised us with new creations...thank you for all the amazing food and taking care of us.. we miss your food and the funny stories... than there is Dimuthu.. ahhhh we just love that guy.. he is always smiling, and such a kind person...and welcomed us every time we went to a restaurant.. no matter if he was there or at some other place.. he came by to check if all was good.. he is just amazing.. talking to him was always a pleasure and he always made us feel as a very special guest.. he was our good morning, mr feel good guy.. thank Dimu... we'll meet again.. fore sure... thanks to the Doctor who took care of us... me with my ear infection and carolin for her knee.. and now to Yousuf.. the best guy ever.. he rules.. he was so so nice to us.. always took care of us, suprised us with highlights and if there was anything we needed he took care of it... we really love and miss him.. he is the best.. @Y, it was an honor meeting you... there are so many people there that just want to make your holiday the best it can just get... and I have to say it works... we have traveld a lot but this was the first time we wanted to stay much longer. we will go back to the Niyama resort, this is for sure.. hopefully we will meet all of the people again.. I can only say... if you want togo to the Maledives.. go to the Niyama resort and enjoy.. treat everybody with respect and be nice and you will get some much more back.... thanks to Manu, Nazan, Adam, Marco (dive instructor) and all others I have forgotten.... thank you... and one thing.. if you go to the tribal restaurant.. enjoy the medecine ;-) it just tastes great... ;-) we can highly recommand the Nyiama resort... for us the best holiday you can have..

Room tip: any kind of room/villa is great.... if you can book the pavillion 24 or 25 they are amazing... and on if you want to stay on the water.. villa 76 has an amazing view...
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Teywan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2014

Dear Teywan F,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences at NIYAMA on TripAdvisor.

No words can describe how thankful we are for your compliments. Indeed, NIYAMA for us is a true paradise and we are happy that we were able to provide luxury from the comfort of your villa, spa to culinary experience.

Whilst the team appreciates all the detailed reviews of our paradise, it is your warm hearted comments about our team that leave us humbled and proud. We take pride in our continuous commitment to provide unsurpassed luxury and your compliment comes in as great motivator to us.

I have the pleasure of sharing your positive compliments with the team specially to Ken, Dimuthu, Doctor Sharon, Yousuf, Manu, Nazan, Adam and Marco.

Once again, thank you for choosing NIYAMA as your holiday destination and we look forward to welcome you once more for another amazing experience.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

My husband surprised me and took me to Niyama for my birthday the week of Oct. 5-10 and it was a vacation we will always remember. EVERYTHING about our week was lovely. The resort itself is beautiful....the sunsets....the beaches...the beautiful blue water. The restaurants are great. But what makes Niyama stand out ahead from all the other resorts is the staff. The staff at Niyama is excellent, especially Yoosuf Thahseen Ahmed. Yoosuf made our vacation extra special, he knew what restaurants would be open which night and made all our reservations. He scheduled my husband's kite lessons and when we took catamaran out for the afternoons. He made everyday a little extra special. I would recommend Niyama Resort to anyone wanting to visit paradise because it will truly be a vacation of a life time.

Room tip: We stayed in one of the huts on the water with a private pool and it was excellent. The huts have an incredible view of either sunsets or sunrises depending on which side of the walkway you choose. Also each hut has an outdoor bathroom that is spectacular. I can't wait to go back.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tbellnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Dear Tbellnfld,

Thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor a great review of NIYAMA Maldives, a Per Aquum Resort.

Me and my team are truly thankful for choosing NIYAMA as your holiday destination and it was a pleasure having you with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to provide you a Maldives experience at its best. Whilst the team appreciates all the detailed reviews of our paradise, it is your warm hearted comments about our team specially to Yoosuf that leave us humbled and proud.

Once again, thank you very much for your amazing review and for recommending NIYAMA.

Me and my team look forward to welcoming you once more to our patch of paradise.


With best regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

I truly could not have painted a better scene for what I would define as paradise. They have forgotten nothing, thought of nearly everything and are only getting better with their planned expansion.

The island is actually two islands connected by a bridge which currently has just one island for visitors while the second island is being developed (also where the staff is housed). The second island will be more for families with kids while the current island will be mainly for couples. It really is perfection and this expansion will make it even more perfect. I'm digging deep to find anything wrong and there isn't one thing "wrong" with Niyama-hence, perfection.

What can be improved? They can add a bar or pub indoors for the nighttime as the beach bar is currently the only nighttime bar (other than the underwater club 500 meters off the coast which is awesome but not an every night place). They can also improve the selection of food at the Epicure Restaurant which is where breakfast is served every morning and you can choose to eat lunch or dinner at nearly every night. All of this said, the expansion with the second island will have more restaurants and hopefully more bars.

I learned a fair amount about the expansion by having a wonderful conversation with Didi, the General Manager of the resort. I've traveled the world and don't recall ever meeting the GM of a 5 star resort I was staying at let alone having a drink with one at his weekly social event all guests are invited to.

The staff is absolutely incredible. Without them, it would still be a beautiful island but they take it to the next level and I cannot say enough about how amazing they all were. 100% recommend this resort and only wish it was closer to my home so I could visit more often. Thanks for everything.

Jimmy Ziomek
New York, NY

Room tip: All rooms are spectacular. You cannot go wrong. We are sunset people but stayed in a sunrise water villa and every morning was a gorgeous show. We would then watch the sunsets from the beach.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmyzusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dietmar_Koegerl_GM, General Manager at Niyama Private Islands Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Dear jimmyzusa,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your great experiences with NIYAMA, Maldives.

It is wonderful to read of NIYAMA being defined as paradise specially to a traveler like you. Your compliments are very heart warming and comes in as a great motivator to all of us. We take pride in our continuous commitment to provide unsurpassed luxury and your compliment comes in as great motivator to us.

It is true that the expansion will add more options for our valued guest like you and we are excited to welcome you once more to share with you the great addition of our paradise.

We look forward to welcoming you once more and create another great story to cherish.

With kind regards,

Dietmar Koegerl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews