We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible resort, with little to improve.... except the dive center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed 7 nights in Kihavah, 3 nights in a beach villa and 4 nights in a water villa. We have been to Maldives a number of times before, and despite our high expectations, the staff at Anantara Kihahvah turned this holiday into the best we have experienced in the Maldives.

Firstly, the accommodations were really of high quality with little to nothing wrong with them. We fell in love with the Beach Villa until we moved to the Water Villa which blew our minds. We really liked the layout of the rooms: they were spacious, luxurious, and made us feel very close to nature and both types of villas were very private. The pool in the water villa was much bigger than we expected. The house keeping was excellent.

Secondly, the staff made our experience unforgettable. Always smiling, they knew our first names and were always courteous and knowledgeable. For instance the waiters knew and could explain in detail every single item on the menu. The villa hosts were immediate to answer our calls if/when we needed something and were always ready to share a good story with us about their lives in the Maldives. By the end of the holiday we had created a bond with a number of staff members. They even invited us to come and cheer the Kihavah volleyball team as they played against another island. We thank all the staff for a memorable stay, and in particular, Solah, Shah, Jerry, Aboo, Jenny, Ifoo, Cang, Raj, Rambe, Sun, and the general manager, Dylan.

Thirdly, the quality of the food, which matters a lot to my partner and I, was exceptional. We were on full board. The breakfast at Plates was sumptuous with a full buffet and also some choices "a la carte". Lunch at Manzaru was varied and great (we recommend the cappuccino dessert), and the dinner options were varied (Salt , Sea and Sky). We enjoyed every meal we had on all quality, taste and choice . The chefs are really good!

The house reef is incredible, and we thoroughly enjoyed snorkeling several times. We saw sting rays, moray eels, lion fish, lobsters, black tip sharks, squid, spotted eagle rays , many many colorful fish, and also we swam for more than 10 minutes in tandem with a beautiful turtle along the reef! This was one of the highlights of the trip!

Lastly, and unfortunately, we were a little disappointed with the dive center. My partner is a passionate diver so the diving played a big part on this trip. Some guides were very good and pointed out many things to see while others cared less. Also, we booked two trips to Hanifaru Bay to see the manta rays. Although we did not see mantas, which we accept (as experienced divers who have traveled a lot, we understand that there are no guarantees), we felt cheated on the second attempt to see the mantas as we were not even given the chance to enter the bay to look for them (despite paying the full fee, including the bay entrance fee). Instead they took us to a reef close by (which had little to look at) with the excuse that their sources told them there were no sightings of mantas in the bay that day. This should have been communicated to us before we set off so that we could have made a decision as to join the expedition. In fact, we were (oddly) the only boat in the area that day unlike the first trip where there were many other boats and snorkelers trying their luck in the bay. Another guest also mentioned how odd it was that they just dropped us on that side reef when in his experience (he was experienced and had been to Hanifaru Bay before with another resort) it was clear from when we passed with the boat that there was nothing on that reef.

Nonetheless, we highly recommend Anantara Kihavah and will most likely return soon, we loved it so much. We haven't given up seeing the mantas feeding at Hanifaru Bay but will most likely book a live aboard or a resort closer to the bay.

Thank you to the awesome team at the resort which made this trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank binhly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear binhly11,

Thank you very much for taking so much of your time to write such a comprehensive and humbling review about Kihavah. Needless to say, I cannot agree with you more that I have been truly blessed with a team of individuals whose mission is to make you happy, in a most sincere way. I appreciate that you highlighted Solah, Shah, Jerry, Aboo, Jenny, Ifoo, Cang, Raj, Rambe and Sun who are all encouraged by your special recognition. I also am delighted to hear that you felt that the food was great, which means so much to our Chef and his team since it is such an integral part of what we are trying to do here and it is also their greatest delight in receiving such glowing comments especially coming from someone as well traveled as the two of you. I really enjoyed reading the descriptions of our bungalows and it sounds like you have become very familiar with our island...from the wonderful walk-in snorkeling sites to our restaurants that we are especially proud of. I deeply regret that you have had an unpleasant experience when you went to your Hanifaru Bay excursion. We have taken note of your comments and we will look into this issue immediately. Finally, I am glad that we were able to connect with you and our hope is that you will return to us someday soon.

Warm regards,

Dylan Counsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We would like to say thanks to you!
All was perfect!
We really love that you take care of our allergies!

Tips: yoga session quite late, see restaurant a là carte menù, salt open for lunch, cleanliness beach


  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank palisic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear palisic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such kind and generous comments about Kihavah with us. We are delighted to receive your feedback and pleased that you had such a positive and “perfect” experience. It never ceases to touch me when I read feedback about our amazing team who works very hard at taking care about our guests that makes the world of difference. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Dylan Counsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is the 1st time me and my husband go to Maldives. We stayed for 5 nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary in Anantara Kihavah. Anantara Kihavah is the best hotel...!!! Beautiful place, very clean, very friendly and helpful staff, such as Almas, Sama, and some other that I don't remember their names, but especially our villa host, Shah, He arrange everything for us, including lunch and dinner reservations, and Nooh, our housekeeping did amazing jobs by decorating the bed for our anniversary and the bathub on our last night. All the restaurant serve very yummy food, especially teppanyaki at Fire by Chef Saidul. I will definitely come back to this resort. It's truly Heaven on Earth...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Shella K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such glowing remarks about your recent visit to Kihavah. We are indeed humbled by your comments from being “ the best hotel” to being a “ truly Heaven on Earth”. What is even more amazing are you individual accolades to Almas, Sama Shah, Nooh and Chef Saidul and the impressions that they left on the both of you. You know us too well since it is making our guest happy that collectively define our success. Thank you for so eloquently expressing your delight, as it means the world to us.

Sincerely yours,

Dylan Counsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

You could not expect anything else better than what is waiting for you at Anantara Kihavah. Everything was perfect, the food, the beach, the wonderful water villa suits.

All peoples working there were close to all customers and the service was one of the best i could have seen these last past years.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank ams632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear ams632,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations and feelings about our magical island. Indeed we have been blessed with Mother Nature’s many gifts and a wonderful staff who are selfless in our pursuit to try our best in order insure that you have a most enjoyable and “perfect “ time here. Your kind personal comments are way too generous, since it’s all about all our team members here on Kihavah. Please do come back for another visit soon!

Sincerely yours,

Dylan Counsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

It is our first time to Maldives, We spent 5 nights at Anantara ( 2 nights beach villa and 3 nights overwater villa ) It is just amazing how Maldives are beautiful! We had very good time at Anantara, the service is perfect ( Waheed our house keeper was really nice guys and helpfull )
Our childrens also really enjoyed ( 5years / 2 years) I really recommend this hotel for Maldives. Sifah the photographer of Anantara makes wonderful pictures like post card !
Thank you to everyone.
Estelle from France

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jie Estelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan C, General Manager at Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Jie Estelle L,

Merci beaucoup for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay on Kihavah. We certainly appreciate you highlighting on our “perfect service” as it is indeed something we strive for. I am happy to pass on your kind and generous comments for the team, especially to Waheed and Sifah, I will make sure that they will receive the special recognition you meant for them. Likewise, we are delighted to hear that you and your family so thoroughly enjoyed your time here. We are all truly humbled by your strong recommendation to others who may be looking around and finally, any plans for a return to our magical island in the not-so-distant future?

Best regards,

Dylan Counsel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihavah Huravalhi
9.2 km away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 16 in Baa Atoll
338 reviews
14.3 km away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 16 in Baa Atoll
605 reviews
8.6 km away
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
#1 of 16 in Baa Atoll
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
1,042 reviews
10.5 km away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 16 in Baa Atoll
955 reviews
20.6 km away
Soneva Fushi
Soneva Fushi
#1 of 1 in Kunfunadhoo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas

Address: Kihavah Huravalhi Island, Baa Atoll, Republic of Maldives, 2098
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kihavah Huravalhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kihavah Huravalhi
Price Range: ₹ 74,206 - ₹ 2,35,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of pool villas, Anantara Kihavah Villas is a Maldives luxury resort that offers the ultimate in privacy and tranquillity, your own sanctuary within a sanctuary. Expansive space that opens on to brilliant tropical nature, with private pools, high ceilings and timber interiors. Flavours of culinary art and wine served amidst a panorama of aquatic life in one of the few underwater restaurants and wine cellars in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Kihavah Villas Hotel Baa Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing