We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Spingfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Well, I have to admit, having stayed at numerous Hampton Inn properties over the last few years for travel, at first glance from the outside it isn't much to talk about. You can slightly ascertain the old "Days Inn" shadow under the new "Hampton Inn" sign, and the outside style is reminiscent of a 1970's hotel/motel architecture. Inside it appears to be completely remodeled with updated decor. The rooms are pretty small and not much the standard of most newer Hampton Inns. We stayed overnight here since it was close to the Renaissance Faire 20 miles away and wanted to mitigate a long drive through I-294 North in the AM.
The room we stayed in was a two DOUBLE bed, yes double...not large enough but we survived. Given the choices in the area are pretty slim, it is the best you can get in this area. It is very close to food and amenities, and we love the Oberweis Dairy/Ice Cream Shop right next door. That was really a find!
The large (i.e., very large) pool is outdoors and a rarity in these days of small indoor stifling pools at most Hampton Inns I've stayed at. My two young boys loved it and the pool deck was large and gave room to read the paper and catch up on adult conversation while the kids swim.
The staff was pleasant and the halls and lobby were clean and large enough to sit away from groups. Parking is plenty so no worries there either. I'd stay here again, but maybe get two rooms...a kind for the adults and two doubles for the kids. Just my thoughts...

Room Tip: Top floors, double bed rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcrazyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    156
    56
    27
    6
See reviews for
186
79
33
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

After a horrific experience down the road at another hotel we attempted to stay at we found ourselves looking to a place to stay last minute while visiting Great America for my daughters birthday - we called first and immediately the staff was friendly, polite and made us happy about our decision to walk away from the other hotel/room we had paid for. Upon arrival the lobby was clean, bright, cheerful and felt "good". The staff was friendly, informative and made the check in process a breeze! We went into our room and felt like we had found a piece of heaven, the beds were fluffy and inviting looking, the decoration were modern and clean and made you just happy to be there. The Pool was wonderful, clean, spacious and great! The options for workout room and access to Golds gym were a nice surprise. They had a coffee bar open for you any time, they served cookies at night and the contintenal breakfast in the morning was hot, real food that actually tasted really good with plenty of seating to accomdate the guests! We were a little sad we only had one night to stay there - as it was that great of an experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tllarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I really enjoy this property and have stayed several times for work in the Waukegan area. The service here is wonderful and it is perfectly located by Six Flags as well as numerous food options, some within walking distance. Front desk staff is top notch and their breakfast area is exquisite. My only complaint with this property is the lack of channel selection for TV. There are VERY few choices which makes being away from home a little tougher for me. If you are not one to hang out watching your favorite shows in the evening when you travel, you will love it. Just depends on your travel habits. If your focus is on getting out and enjoying the area instead of being a couch potato (which I admit to being), this is a great property.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyboy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I'm not going to lie, I was completely reluctant when I booked this hotel. There was a huge festival the week I was in the Chicago area and literally every Hilton property within 50-miles of the city was completely sold out. Except this one. So because this was the only remaining hotel in metro Chicago, this one had to be a dump right? Not at all!

I was pleasantly surprised with the updated lobby area, it was super modern with fun colors. Felt more like a boutique-y space rather than an Hampton. Color scheme transferred to the rooms as well (lime green, but tasteful) and the photos on the walls were nice updates as well.
Check in was a breeze and very formal and helpful. They steered me to the restaurants nearby, and the mall as well. They said that there are over 25 restaurants within a mile or two, and of course the huge Gurnee Mills outlet mall (and regular shops too) are literally just over the overpass less than a mile away.
I think it is Six Flags that is right nearby. This would be a great family hotel if you've got tickets to the park. This hotel would be a notch up from the other options in the area like La Quinta and Days Inn.

I stayed for business and it was just great - breakfast included, nice rooms, no complaints. Good sized rooms. The king suite had a desk, king bed, and a full couch that could have been pulled out to a separate bed (not sure as I didn't check). The bathroom area is a bit small, but nicely decorated as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Standard Hampton Inn. Well kept, but could use renovation. Smallish rooms. We had two adjoining rooms for our group. No fridges in rooms. Staff was super friendly and professional, and check in/out was seamless. Close to several restaurants and lots of shopping (Gurnee Mills and Prime Outlet Mall). Free WiFi. Standard free breakfast. The air units in the rooms are loud but I was so tired it didn't bother me. It may bother some. Fitness room is lame. Two treadmills, one elliptical, one bike. Limited free weights (dumbells only up to 15 lbs.) and only one bench. Outdoor pool was heated, but the weather was so lousy we never got to use it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwkrdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
1.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,498 - ₹ 11,651
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing