We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Po'boy festival.”
Review of Grafton Oyster Bar

Grafton Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Description: One of the only floating restaurants in the Midwest!! Grafton Oyster Bar is located in the Grafton Harbor Marina and serves the areas finest seafood and Cajun Creole cuisine. Please join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week. We feature live music every Saturday and Sunday. So come enjoy great service, fresh oysters, crab legs, crawfish etouffee or even a burger if you wish. All this with a spectacular view on our outdoor patio over looking the confluence of the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. See you soon!!
Restaurant details
Description: One of the only floating restaurants in the Midwest!! Grafton Oyster Bar is located in the Grafton Harbor Marina and serves the areas finest seafood and Cajun Creole cuisine. Please join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week. We feature live music every Saturday and Sunday. So come enjoy great service, fresh oysters, crab legs, crawfish etouffee or even a burger if you wish. All this with a spectacular view on our outdoor patio over looking the confluence of the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. See you soon!!
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Went on 9/23/17. They had a special menu for their po boy festival. While all the po boys sounded great we decided on the tiger prawn po' boy. It was one of the best sandwiches my wife and I had ever had. We only split one because we were going to have a long day but it was hard to leave without a second. They have expanded(about double the seating) since last time we were there. 3rd time we've been there and all 3 have been delicious. If your in grafton try this place out

Thank catie927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Grafton Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for joining us for our recent Po Boy Festival. We hold a different food festival every month such as oysters, crab, shrimp and crawfish as well as Po Boys and if guests sign up for our email list they will receive an email reminding them when the festivals are taking place. Guest may also find this information on our website. Thank you for the outstanding 5 star review. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience with us and we hope to continue to see you in the future. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We were passing through enjoying the river view and decided to stop here for dinner. It was lovely! The river view is beautiful and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommended this restaurant and would dine here again!

Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Grafton Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation to fellow travelers coming through Grafton to stop and dine with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience dining on the river with us and that the view was "beautiful" and the food "delicious". Thank you for coming to Grafton Oyster Bar and for the outstanding review. We hope to see you return soon. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The Grafton Oyster Bar know how to fry oysters. Perfection! Crispy, fried in corn meal, firm not mushy. Additionally enjoy dinner on the deck with a great view of the river!!! The Cuban sandwich was quite good as well. They also have great Cajun fries and homemade chips. The service was both prompt and cordial.

Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Grafton Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for coming to Grafton Oyster Bar and for taking the time to write an outstanding 5 star review for us. We hand bread all of our fried foods in a combination of flour and corm meal with some secret spices thrown in for good measure. We are delighted to know that you enjoy our fried oysters as well as our view of the river, our Cuban sandwich and our crispy Cajun Fries and homemade chips. We hope to continue to see you often in the future. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

My husband & I are HUGE fans of your original Oyster Bar! (BOB) This was our second visit to Grafton Oyster Bar. And unfortunately have to say it was a disappointment We were looking so forward to our usual... 2 orders of Char grilled oyster & 1 order of voodoo shrimp (we order this every time we visit bob)
First, we got seated, not a wait at all, took forever for the waitress to come over, she was pleasant, we ordered both our drinks and food at that time, we asked if we moved to bar could we eat it up there, she said no that the kitchen gets to crazy then. ?? So we remained at the table we were at. To the disappointment part....The oysters...as soon as she set them down we both said...not even close. The oysters number one were so small and topping of what we are used to wasn't the same at all on the oysters, If the response to this review is "Well, it's the same restaurant not the same cooks"...ok, I'll take that (upon future visits I'll just know not to order (6) $14.99 chargrilled oysters from grafton & wait until I visit Broadway oyster bar, but the quality was dissatisfying as well.
I will say the voodoo shrimp were great as usual.
I'll just wait for our next visit to Broadway oyster bar to order our usual.

Thank Jilly_G4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Grafton Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for coming to Grafton Oyster Bar and for taking the time to write a review for us. We are very happy to know that you are huge fans of BOB and that the Shrimp Voodoo at Grafton were up to the standards set at BOB. We apologize for the small oysters used for Char grilled oysters at Grafton versus the Char grilled oysters served at BOB. We order medium oysters for all of our oyster needs at both locations but unfortunately sometimes when we open the box they are smaller than ordered. We are sometimes forced to use the smaller oysters until we can get larger oysters in the house. I am sorry that both the size and the preparation of the Char grilled oysters were not up to par and we will use your feedback to attempt to improve our product going forward. We hope your next visit to Grafton is better than this visit turned out to be. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had a absolutely great experience here. Great seafood and scenery!! Can't wait to get back!! Lobster sandwich was off the charts!!

Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnJSt_Louis_Mo_, Owner at Grafton Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

I must admit that we probably had an unfair advantage getting an awesome review from you simply because it was a "kids free weekend"! What's not to like about that once in a while. Seriously, thank you for coming to Grafton Oyster Bar and for taking the time to write an outstanding review. We are delighted to read that you had a "great experience" with us and that you enjoyed both our seafood as well as our scenery. We will look forward to your next visit, kids or no kids! John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grafton Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing