We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Great Service”

Altiro Latin Fusion
Reserve with OpenTable
Altiro Latin Fusion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 159 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A restaurant chain with locations throughout Northern Illinois, offering a tapas-style inspired latin fusion cuisine of classic dishes with infused new flavors from Spain, Mexico, and South America.
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Our son said we should try this place and, he was spot on. All the dishes were excellent. Tasty, different, great presentation. We were in on a weekday so service was terrific. Definitely need reservations on the weekend.

Now, this is a Tapas place. That means, small plates to taste. They are individually prepared and can be adventurous. Some reviewers say they left hungry... I guess they do not understand Tapas. Order more! Sheesh.

Some people think it is expensive... not for what you are receiving. If you want bulk, cheap food folks, go to Sam's and get a carry out pizza or two.

Really.. if you enjoy different foods and understand Tapas, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomR0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

First time here, had reservations and were seated quickly. Server went over the menu with us, very helpful. The four of us decided to just order tacos and order as we went. Margaritas were outstanding, and the beer selection was all good Mexican beers. We ordered the quac, which was pretty ordinary. $9 for 6 tablespoons of quac, that's pretty expensive. The tuna appitizer was pretty delicious though. We ordered the shrimp fundito, which was awesome. But c'mon, 4 shrimps for $11? The salmon tacos were also great, nice and smokey with a nice kick at the end. Tilapia tacos were meh, and the steak tacos were dry, but the flavor was good. This is when our waiter disappeared. For a long time. After he returned , we ordered the pork belly carnitas , which were also quite tasty. All in all, the food was great, but after 4 drinks and half and order of 5 different tacos, my wife and I shouldn't get in the car, turn to each other and say I'm starving .

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank trmilligan1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in an almost residential area, Altiro was a sweet find in this western suburb of Chicago. We enjoyed the triple guacamole, which included a watermelon and plum version along with traditional; shrimp and chorizo street tacos; and the skirt steak tapas, a potted dish with a picadillo tang and cheesy topping. The only miss was the chicken tapas dish, because the chicken was surprisingly dry and tough, and even the interesting sauce didn't make up for it. Cocktails were all creative, featuring fresh fruits/juices and agave. I'm not from this area so I may be misjudging, but it did feel overpriced in relation to the serving sizes. Service was attentive and pleasant and the setting was perfectly lit and spacious enough to be able to speak in normal voices. I'd definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank KatieM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Not a restaurant in an old house, not a taqueria in a former gas station, not even a place on Third Street, Altiro Al Chulo, with a full bar, serves up tapas, spicy and otherwise. The combination of ingredients in some dishes sounded odd but tasted good, very good. Tired of Third Street's antique shops, Randall Road's big-box stores, and Geneva's burger and pizza joints? Then try Altiro. The hospitality is small-town but the cuisine is big-city.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Ordered the Shrimp Tacos...I was a little taken back that each Taco contained only 1 Shrimp. My wifes Steak Tacos contained an adequate amount of Steak. Service was prompt and courteous.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altiro Latin Fusion also viewed

 

Been to Altiro Latin Fusion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing