We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place; directly on the river and in a lovely quaint town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place; directly on the river and in a lovely quaint town”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Rooms with terraces overlooking the river. Right on the river. Service and everything very good. Great selection of beers and good food.thoroughly recommend if you're in the Chicago area.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank drdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    56
    19
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
224
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our wedding night and it was a wonderful time. I only wish we could have stayed longer, we were there for a grand total of probably 11-12 hours. They allowed me to drop off our bags earlier that day so we didn't have to haul them in at 11:30 pm which was nice. We also ordered a bath basket and while we were at the wedding/reception they delivered the bath basket along with our suitcases to our room so we didn't have to bring them up that night. I figured we wouldn't get our milk and cookies since we got there so late but they had the milk on ice so we actually were still able to enjoy it which was awesome. The room was extremely nice in every way, we loved the large tub, heated marble floors, balcony etc. The only downside to the balcony was a lot of river bugs but what can you really do... they're pretty harmless anyways. The room had a very romantic ambience complete with fireplace, etc. I don't remember the name of our specific room but it was one of the nicer ones. From top to bottom it was a great experience and we'd love to go back sometime. If you need a place to stay for a special occasion we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed here on a business trip, due to the lack of other nice hotels in the area.

Really nice room on the first floor, right on the river, fireplace, etc. Gigantic room, huge bathroom, everything was spotless.

It's not really a business hotel, but there was a big desk and free wifi, so it was fine with me. But certainly more of a couples/wedding/date place!

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank USA_Super_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A group of friends and I stayed here for a little Bachlorette Party weekend. Is such a gorgeous hotel. Our room was really nice, but the bathroom was the best! The only down fall was the lighting when we all tryed to get ready, it was a little too dim for us. As for a couples get away this is a great hotel for that. Great bar and restaurant! The staff is fantastic. There is lots to do in Genevea and St. Charles, so the hotel has a shuttle bus to take you to and from where you need to be, all you have to do is ask. All the guest at the hotel were very friendly. The best part I'd have to say are the yummy chocolate cookies the maids bring to your room in the evening. Over all good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annbanan277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for coming in with the girls and we are glad you enjoyed our beautiful property and all of the great things there are that Geneva has to offer! Thanks also for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed there for our Wedding Anniversary during Easter Weekend 2012. This is our 2nd stay at the Herrington. We had requested an early check in since we had a Spa Appointment at 11:30am. When we finished our Spa Experience (I had a massage and she had a facial; massage was good; mostly relaxing vs working out knots etc; my wife enjoyed her facial) but our room was not ready. So we went into town and had lunch at the Old Towne bar. Good bar food eats and nicely mixed drinks; bartender appeared to be an Aaron Rogers look alike. He knew that and wanted us to know he wasnt a Packer fan; haha. So then we received a call fromt the Herrington letting us know our room was ready so we headed back and checked into our room (Room 212). It was a corner room with both the Courtyard and River view. The room had a Fireplace in the corner, flat screen tv, bathroom had separate hot tub and shower. The hot tub was wonderful. Staff was also wonderful and knew that it was our anniversary and had provided us a complimentary bottle of champaign (such a nice touch). We had dinner at Atwaters. I had the Filet (very very good) and my wife had the special Risotto with Crab Leg and she said it was extremely good. Both of us are industry restaurant vetarans so you can believe us when we say the food was great and Atwaters is a must-do when you stay. Sunday morning we had a miscommunication regarding our breakfast/brunch reservations. The Herrington had us booked only for a Sunday morning breakfast at Atwaters when we had meant that we wanted the special Easter Brunch. The front desk was more than accomodating and worked us in for the Brunch. The Brunch was a good buffet but pretty steep at the $36 price point and $15 mimosas but for the one time Easter Brunch occaision with almost what ever fresh made food you wanted I guess the price was about right. Now for the negatives- the Bed was probably really nice a some point but it snugged us in so much that we couldnt move and it made for a very restless night. Also, being that we had a River view there were so many bugs and spiders on the deck outside and some made there way into the room. Although not bothersome I think that they can at least treat the outside with some kind of repellant. Also some of these bugs were all over the courtyard grounds. Basically this tells me that they simply need to pay a bit more attention to the outside grounds. I do recommend walking the River bikepath/trail. Next time we come we will bring our bicycles seeing as there are so many trails and the scenery is so nice. Be sure to carry a big stick with you as there are geese everywhere. So to recap, we will stay again at the Herrington as its definitely one of the nicest places in the west suburbs and we certainly enjoy going there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
3.2 km away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,899 - ₹ 20,825
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing