We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I stayed there for our Wedding Anniversary during Easter Weekend 2012. This is our 2nd stay at the Herrington. We had requested an early check in since we had a Spa Appointment at 11:30am. When we finished our Spa Experience (I had a massage and she had a facial; massage was good; mostly relaxing vs working out knots etc; my wife enjoyed her facial) but our room was not ready. So we went into town and had lunch at the Old Towne bar. Good bar food eats and nicely mixed drinks; bartender appeared to be an Aaron Rogers look alike. He knew that and wanted us to know he wasnt a Packer fan; haha. So then we received a call fromt the Herrington letting us know our room was ready so we headed back and checked into our room (Room 212). It was a corner room with both the Courtyard and River view. The room had a Fireplace in the corner, flat screen tv, bathroom had separate hot tub and shower. The hot tub was wonderful. Staff was also wonderful and knew that it was our anniversary and had provided us a complimentary bottle of champaign (such a nice touch). We had dinner at Atwaters. I had the Filet (very very good) and my wife had the special Risotto with Crab Leg and she said it was extremely good. Both of us are industry restaurant vetarans so you can believe us when we say the food was great and Atwaters is a must-do when you stay. Sunday morning we had a miscommunication regarding our breakfast/brunch reservations. The Herrington had us booked only for a Sunday morning breakfast at Atwaters when we had meant that we wanted the special Easter Brunch. The front desk was more than accomodating and worked us in for the Brunch. The Brunch was a good buffet but pretty steep at the $36 price point and $15 mimosas but for the one time Easter Brunch occaision with almost what ever fresh made food you wanted I guess the price was about right. Now for the negatives- the Bed was probably really nice a some point but it snugged us in so much that we couldnt move and it made for a very restless night. Also, being that we had a River view there were so many bugs and spiders on the deck outside and some made there way into the room. Although not bothersome I think that they can at least treat the outside with some kind of repellant. Also some of these bugs were all over the courtyard grounds. Basically this tells me that they simply need to pay a bit more attention to the outside grounds. I do recommend walking the River bikepath/trail. Next time we come we will bring our bicycles seeing as there are so many trails and the scenery is so nice. Be sure to carry a big stick with you as there are geese everywhere. So to recap, we will stay again at the Herrington as its definitely one of the nicest places in the west suburbs and we certainly enjoy going there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    58
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
227
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I wanted to love the Herrington. It just wasn't that great. Maybe it was our room with the "town view" (parking lot). Maybe the the river view side is nice, but this "parlor suite" had an awkward layout with a fireplace in no man's land, the bed was comfortable but in the corner of this L shaped room with no circulation. The TV was small and old and in a upper cabinet which wouldn't normally matter but it was March Madness. The continental breakfast was good but the seating was minimal and we had to sit in these chairs that pulled up to a table that was the height of an end table. My knees didn't exactly tuck. The location is convenient but avoid the parlor if you go.

Room Tip: Avoid the parlor town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Unfortunately your room was one of 3 rooms within the hotel that does not have a view of the river. The view of our courtyard and the river is a significant part of the Herrington experience and I am sorry you were unable to enjoy our scenic location.

Please contact me directly if you would like to come back so I can make make up for your last experience.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

As odd as it might sound, my husband & I live in Geneva but once a year, we sneak away to The Herrington to “get away.” Our small little town has so much to offer & every now and then it’s nice to put our day to day responsibilities aside and just enjoy Geneva as a tourist would.

There is so much to love about the Herrington. It oozes charm from the minute you walk into the lobby. The staff is exceptionally friendly (if you’ve never been to Geneva, it’s one of the town’s best features. Almost everyone is friendly!) The Inn has a restaurant located just off the lobby – Atwoods. It is a little pricier than most restaurants in Geneva but the view is lovely. When you make reservations, ask to sit near the windows that overlook the Fox River. The Inn also has a small spa. If visiting between May-October, be sure to book your appointment early as they can fill up on a busy weekend.

As for the rooms, I highly recommend booking a River Premier room, as the extra amenities, which I’ll get into in a minute, are worth the extra money. Unfortunately, none were available when my husband & I last visited and I was very disappointed. It was not the experience I was used to, and quite frankly, I’d expect more for what I paid. But that aside, let me tell you what you’ll love about the Herrington, regardless of which room you stay in. The rooms are very private and quiet. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which is a nice view. It also had a fireplace, which is always a nice “extra” to have. The bathroom has marble floors, a luxurious soaking tub and a separate, glass shower. Turn down service usually arrives between 5:30-8:30, where spa-quality robes and fluffy slippers are put out and a plate of cookies, accompanied by cold (real glass) bottles of milk on ice, is left waiting for you. What a treat! There is also a very simple (cereal, fruit, a few pastries & coffee) continental breakfast in the lobby.

Now why I was disappointed…as I mentioned, our last stay had us in a lovely room overlooking the Fox River. It was larger in square footage – both the room and the bathroom. The bathroom was truly exquisite – spacious with heated marble floors. The bath, in my memory, was also bigger than the one in the courtyard room. Because the room was bigger, we were able to lay in bed and watch the fireplace. In the courtyard room, the bed was so close to the fireplace, we weren’t able to see it/enjoy it. There is no other seating option for two in the room, so it was almost a wasted feature and I REALLY missed the heated floor in the bathroom. At a rate of $239+tax ($265 total!), I’d expect all of the rooms to be comfy, cozy, sanctuaries. This one was nice, but overpriced for a fairly standard hotel room. At that rate, we could have gone to Chicago and stayed at a boutique hotel.

With all of that said, I do highly recommend a River Premier room at The Herrington. It is an absolutely darling inn, albeit overpriced. Geneva is a charming little town, with great food, lots of shopping & some of the friendliest people you’ll have the pleasure of meeting. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a river premier room. The views are lovely and the rooms are MUCH nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmgonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I were looking for a night away when we stumbled upon the Herrington Inn & Spa. All I can say is, "Outstanding!". Without rambling, I think it's best to just list what I love about this place:
The Staff - Friendly, Attentive, Accomodating!
The Room - Warm, Beautiful, Comfortable!
The Bed - Cozy, Soft, Dreamy!
The Bath - Fits two! (enough said) :)
The Hotel - Historical, Inviting, Relaxing.
The Area - Wonderful town! Quick walk to a few pubs. Right on the river!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends. (I actually already have!)
Can't wait to return to this wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: River View...lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank songbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Went on our annual girls shopping trip and stayed at the Herrington for the first time. It was beautiful and cozy. The staff was the most friendly group of people from the hotel to the spa. We enjoyed our stay so much and they had all the little touches to make it extra special right down to warm cookies and milk when they turn your bed down. I would recommend this as a girls trip or a romantic get away. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
480 reviews
4.6 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,784 - ₹ 22,275
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing