We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Herrington received my perfect rating for the decor of their property- the design of the rooms and ,the value .Beautiful view of the courtyard and the river .Staff members are excellent and go above and beyond to make sure you are satisified .Food is excellent with a world renowned chef .Thats why they received a four star / four diamond rating and I give it 5 .Looking forward to our next stay at this gem of a Inn

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    57
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
225
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just got back after spending our 30th anniversary at the Harrington Inn. Since our anniversary is in the winter one of the things we looked for was a room with a fireplace. After unpacking and getting settled we went to turn the fireplace on and take a nap before dinner. The fireplace did not work. I called the front desk to let them know, they said they'd send the bellboy right up. After an hour of waiting for someone we again called the desk and was told they would send the maintainance man instead of a bellboy (made sense to me). 5 minutes later a bellboy arrives at the door and confirms that indeed the fireplace wasn't working and said the maintainance man would know what to do and he left. Once again we waited (still wanting to get a nap in) we called the desk again after no one showed up and was told the maintainance man wasn't in today and that they'd fix it first thing in the morning. A lot of good that was going to do us since we were checking out in the morning. We were offered another room which would have meant repacking and moving...we declined the offer so that we could at least relax for a few hours of our stay. Upon check-out we were asked how everything was and we expressed our disappointment with the fireplace and all she offered up was "sorry!"

We stayed in a junior suite and the television could not be seen from the bed so watching tv comfortably was not an option. Also the TV's are outdated (not flat screens). Another thing that was rather disgusting are the windows, I don't think they have ever been cleaned. I paid for my room through Groupon...if I had paid the regular rate of $324 a night I would have been even more disappointed. Over all the rooms are nice but could use a real freshing up and attention to details. I would have expected a price of maybe $125 a night max for this room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize your fireplace was not working properly and we failed to correct the problem in a timely manner. I fully understand how this issue impacted your experience and I hope you will consider returning so we can have an opportunity to make things right.

Please contact me directly if you should decide to return.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed one Sunday night at the Herrington a few weeks ago. It had sentimental value for me as I had stayed there with my family probably 20 yrs ago. The lobby was gorgeously decorated for Christmas, especially the grand staircase, and the staff was kind, professional, and efficient.
The Herrington is like stepping back in time but with modern amenities. My room had two comfy double beds, a gas fireplace, a beautiful balcony with river view, and an amazing jacuzzi. The only annoyances, and they were minor, were 1) reading lamp between beds was too old fashioned and far away from the beds to read by, and 2) the TV was on the side of the room meaning that if you wanted to watch TV you'd have to crank your neck to the right. As a super quiet-seeking traveller, I lucked out on a Sunday night (fewer guests) but I think the sound transference between rooms and in the hallway might otherwise be a challenge.
Otherwise, I loved my room and especially was thrilled to come back from dinner and find a sumptuous robe, chilled milk, and the best chocolate chip cookie I've ever had waiting for me.
I also appreciated the nice continental breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, don't get a room near the lobby/bar on the 1st floor. I was on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband and I enjoy getting away every once in awhile even if it is in town. The Herrington is a lovely hotel with a very warm and accomodating staff. We stayed one night this time Dec.10th. The lobby and elegant stair case were beautifully decorated for the holidays. At night it lit up.
Service is top shelf from the moment you check in, very warm and personable staff to meet your every need. We have not ate in their restaurant but quite certain the food is great as their complimentary buffet breakfast european style is wonderful.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The view from your room of the river is so relaxing, turn on the fireplace and get cozy, you'll never want to leave, we never have, no reason to. Have room service bring you your dinner, it's a perfect evening together. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The heated marble floors in the bathroom did feel great when stepping out of the jacuzzi, which I really didn't want to leave but the warm fireplace was waiting and my milk and cookies as well.
If your planning a trip to Geneva or Saint Charles you'll want to book your stay with them, you won't be disappointed!! This is a fabulous hotel and we look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We would recommend a balcony suite overlooking the water. Personally we enjoy the 2nd or 3rd floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had seen a few negative reviews, but decided to take a chance and spend 2 nights at the Herrington Inn. We were looking for a quiet place outside of Chicago. We chose a suite overlooking the river. Our first impression when we walked into the lobby, was that it looked dark and gloomy. Even though it was mid afternoon, our room was so dark that we had to put the lights on. The light bulbs were so dim that it would be impossible to read without straining one’s eyes . I had to request an extra lamp. The TV was in an armoir that was positioned on one the side of the bed, making it impossible to watch TV while in bed. The extra lamp shed more light on the condition of the room. It was quite evident that the room was dated. The carpet was dirty and furnishings were shabby and ready to be retired. Superficial cleaning had been done but there was a thick layer of dust all around the base of the bed and furniture. The arm chair was torn in several places, the material was fraying and colors were fading. The desk and other furniture were covered with scratches. We went to dinner but upon returning to the room, we determined that we simply could not spend the night in such an unpleasant dingy place. We called the Service desk and were given a choice of 2 other rooms.

Although, our second choice did not have a view of the river and was a little smaller than our previous room, it was in better shape and the layout was better. The TV was in a ‘normal` position and could be seen from the bed.

The complimentary breakfast was awful and embarrassing. It was the skimpiest continental breakfast we have ever experienced. There were miniature Danishes that looked like they had been frozen or were days old. There were 2 cold boiled eggs in a bowl, boxed cereal and some soggy cut fruit. The coffee was so acidic, we could not drink it. There were no bagels, and no toast or rolls. We decided to forego breakfast the following morning.

There is much more that we can comment on, but this should suffice. It is sad to pay to stay in a place that is much more inferior and uncomfortable than your own home. We travel a lot and are usually very pleased with our selection of places to stay. The Herrington Inn was definitely substandard. We are putting this experience in writing hoping that it may inspire the Herrington Inn to make some changes and improvements. The Inn is in dire need of a face lift and a spring cleaning. The place has the potential to be a pretty Inn with ambiance. We hope that that will happen sometime in the near future.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
We do appreciate your comments and the opportunity to improve in some areas that did not meet your expectations. Please call me personally when arranging your next stay so that I can personally attend to the details and ensure that your next experience produces a much more positive outcome! Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
475 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
432 reviews
4.6 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,184 - ₹ 22,367
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing