We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband and I enjoy getting away every once in awhile even if it is in town. The Herrington is a lovely hotel with a very warm and accomodating staff. We stayed one night this time Dec.10th. The lobby and elegant stair case were beautifully decorated for the holidays. At night it lit up.
Service is top shelf from the moment you check in, very warm and personable staff to meet your every need. We have not ate in their restaurant but quite certain the food is great as their complimentary buffet breakfast european style is wonderful.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The view from your room of the river is so relaxing, turn on the fireplace and get cozy, you'll never want to leave, we never have, no reason to. Have room service bring you your dinner, it's a perfect evening together. Very comfortable beds and pillows. The heated marble floors in the bathroom did feel great when stepping out of the jacuzzi, which I really didn't want to leave but the warm fireplace was waiting and my milk and cookies as well.
If your planning a trip to Geneva or Saint Charles you'll want to book your stay with them, you won't be disappointed!! This is a fabulous hotel and we look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We would recommend a balcony suite overlooking the water. Personally we enjoy the 2nd or 3rd floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiskerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

We had seen a few negative reviews, but decided to take a chance and spend 2 nights at the Herrington Inn. We were looking for a quiet place outside of Chicago. We chose a suite overlooking the river. Our first impression when we walked into the lobby, was that it looked dark and gloomy. Even though it was mid afternoon, our room was so dark that we had to put the lights on. The light bulbs were so dim that it would be impossible to read without straining one’s eyes . I had to request an extra lamp. The TV was in an armoir that was positioned on one the side of the bed, making it impossible to watch TV while in bed. The extra lamp shed more light on the condition of the room. It was quite evident that the room was dated. The carpet was dirty and furnishings were shabby and ready to be retired. Superficial cleaning had been done but there was a thick layer of dust all around the base of the bed and furniture. The arm chair was torn in several places, the material was fraying and colors were fading. The desk and other furniture were covered with scratches. We went to dinner but upon returning to the room, we determined that we simply could not spend the night in such an unpleasant dingy place. We called the Service desk and were given a choice of 2 other rooms.

Although, our second choice did not have a view of the river and was a little smaller than our previous room, it was in better shape and the layout was better. The TV was in a ‘normal` position and could be seen from the bed.

The complimentary breakfast was awful and embarrassing. It was the skimpiest continental breakfast we have ever experienced. There were miniature Danishes that looked like they had been frozen or were days old. There were 2 cold boiled eggs in a bowl, boxed cereal and some soggy cut fruit. The coffee was so acidic, we could not drink it. There were no bagels, and no toast or rolls. We decided to forego breakfast the following morning.

There is much more that we can comment on, but this should suffice. It is sad to pay to stay in a place that is much more inferior and uncomfortable than your own home. We travel a lot and are usually very pleased with our selection of places to stay. The Herrington Inn was definitely substandard. We are putting this experience in writing hoping that it may inspire the Herrington Inn to make some changes and improvements. The Inn is in dire need of a face lift and a spring cleaning. The place has the potential to be a pretty Inn with ambiance. We hope that that will happen sometime in the near future.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

We do appreciate your comments and the opportunity to improve in some areas that did not meet your expectations. Please call me personally when arranging your next stay so that I can personally attend to the details and ensure that your next experience produces a much more positive outcome! Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This is a great place to stay. It is very romantic with fireplaces in the rooms. The rooms have great ambiance with a view of the river. Who can beat chocolate chip cookies and milk at bedtime? Love to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebraskaFan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant. We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We visited the Herrington Inn & Spa in September for 2 nights in 2011 to use as a base for golfing in the area. The Inn was outstanding!! Rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated with an easy on/off fireplace. The milk and cookies each night was a very nice touch. We also loved the patio access where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of wine on our patio while overlooking the beautiful courtyard and the river.

We also ate at the restaurant and we were truly impressed! The restaurant boasts a very inventive and high quality menu and the quality of the food is outstanding!! Our server, Joe Ricardo, has been with the property for many years and he was exceptional. He new exactly what we needed and when we needed it. Great balance of professionalism, service, and knowledge! We HIGHLY recommend both the Inn and the restaurant!

Room Tip: We chose not to pay the extra money for a river view room and were very pleased with our choice. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOK2BaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Not sure which was more amazing, the heated bathroom floors or my own fireplace I had going all night.
Luxury at its finest! Friendly staff, service orientated, gorgeous spa, amazing rooms and food.
The Herrington Spa & Inn is a must visit whether you live in Geneva or surrounding area's and especially just visiting from out of town.

I can't wait to return. I have traveled all over the world and I must say this is my favorite spot!!

Room Tip: Fireplace, gives a great night sleep in autumn or winter plus there is a balcony to enjoy anytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
148 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#2 of 18 in Naperville
451 reviews
12.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago / Aurora
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 11,885 - ₹ 26,822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing