We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely beautiful and relaxing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We visited the Herrington Inn & Spa in September for 2 nights in 2011 to use as a base for golfing in the area. The Inn was outstanding!! Rooms were very clean and very nicely decorated with an easy on/off fireplace. The milk and cookies each night was a very nice touch. We also loved the patio access where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of wine on our patio while overlooking the beautiful courtyard and the river.

We also ate at the restaurant and we were truly impressed! The restaurant boasts a very inventive and high quality menu and the quality of the food is outstanding!! Our server, Joe Ricardo, has been with the property for many years and he was exceptional. He new exactly what we needed and when we needed it. Great balance of professionalism, service, and knowledge! We HIGHLY recommend both the Inn and the restaurant!

Room Tip: We chose not to pay the extra money for a river view room and were very pleased with our choice. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOK2BaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Not sure which was more amazing, the heated bathroom floors or my own fireplace I had going all night.
Luxury at its finest! Friendly staff, service orientated, gorgeous spa, amazing rooms and food.
The Herrington Spa & Inn is a must visit whether you live in Geneva or surrounding area's and especially just visiting from out of town.

I can't wait to return. I have traveled all over the world and I must say this is my favorite spot!!

Room Tip: Fireplace, gives a great night sleep in autumn or winter plus there is a balcony to enjoy anytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed four days for a local family gathering in the area. Had two rooms and everything was "just right". Don't know who instructs the staff but without exception EVERYONE that made eye contact had something nice to say to you. From the maids in housekeeping to reception everyone was extraordinary with courtesy... you could say "charming".

I arrived early for the breakfast on the weekend, it starts later on Sat and Sun, so one of the staff had noticed what I ate the day before and brought that to me before they "officially" opened... without me asking. I travel all over the world and seldom do I get that level of service in the US.

I don't like Chicago but whenever it is a necessity to be in the Windy City it will be Herrington.

Room Tip: Views of the river are delightful, ask for a "river view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased you acknowledged some of the "little" things we try to do to make a difference in our guest's experience. Although you don't like Chicago I'm glad you like the Herrington.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Herrington for our anniversary in late October. We had stayed there one other time several years ago and had a very nice experience and have been looking forward to going back. This time we got a 2 room suite overlooking the river and it just got better from there. We ate that night in the Atwater restaurant. Meagan, the hostess and our server Renee knew, from Stephanie at the front desk, that it was our anniversary. We were presented with a Happy Anniversary card signed by all the staff. What a classy touch. Our dinner was incredible! The entire meal from start to finish was delicious including a complimentary tidbit that the chef wanted patrons to sample. YUM. After dinner we were given a tour of the banquet facility by Tim. We spent the rest of the evening enjoying our balcony overlooking the river and the fireplace in our room. The next morning we treated ourselves to room service. Our breakfasts were hot, delicious, and their coffee is to die for. We are already planning our next stay. We had a wonderful time. The staff is what makes it so good. From the moment we walked in until we left, all the people we encountered were nice, accommodating and truly seemed to enjoy working at the Herrington. We met a lot of the staff members, some of whom we mentioned and some we never knew their names, but our stay at the Herrington was exceptional because of the people that work there. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My wife and I spent our anniversary at the Herrington and we were impressed from the moment we walked in. The lobby sets the tone for the rest of the visit. It is a spacious, old world elegant area with fireplace, comfortable seating and bar which seems to invite all to hang out (which we did).

The staff is extremely helpful and professional. We had great service at Atwater's and the food was amazing. We both had the butternut squash soup to start. My wife had the filet and I tried the salmon. The atmosphere and service continued to make us feel we were worlds away from it all.

The room was beautiful but it is the bathroom that took our breath away; A huge whirlpool tub, separate shower and heated floor.

Our favorite niche experience we haven't had at any other hotels was the cookies and milk delivery. Who knew a childhood favorite could add such a great touch to our night away from our own kids?

It was a luxurious experience and I would recommend it to anyone looking to escape the real world. Make sure you request a view of the river, it makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FishingRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
148 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#2 of 18 in Naperville
444 reviews
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
491 reviews
4.6 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 10,834 - ₹ 24,911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Inn And Spa
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing