We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stoney Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Main reason I chose this hotel was its affordability. Stayed in a king room on the lower level. Room was clean, bed was comfortable however we had to keep the air on so it would not smell damp which its that time of year so no big deal. The room was quiet. Barely heard anything and we were there four nights. There were plenty of hot and cold options for breakfast. The biscuits and gravy were tasty. We stayed full till dinner. Pool area was surprisingly empty and we loved the hot tub. Yes, it needs refinishing but it was clean as was the pool. Drive to town is very short. All in all a good stay. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kathmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We have stayed here before and are always very pleased with the accommodations and the staff. The decor has a rustic lodge feel and is cozy and quiet. We would most definitely stay here again when in the area.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank 36gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

By total luck, a group of two couples were able to snag two rooms at the Stoney Creek Inn, on a very busy weekend in Galena. We were pleased at the rate, and the rooms. Nice to have a bar on premises, as well, and the breakfast was quite tasty the next morning. We'd stay at a Stoney Creek again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janae T, Public Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Steve, Thank you for the great comments and your wonderful feedback regarding your past stay at Galena. How wonderful that you lucked out during our busiest month and secured a room! October really is such a beautiful time in the rolling hills of Galena. We look forward to hosting you for another wonderful stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My husband booked a suite with a huge jacuzzi tub and fireplace for my birthday. The staff was so friendly and hospitable that we decided to spend an extra night. They loved my little service dog (I'm always grateful when I don't get an attitude because of her) and even gave her treats. I loved the waffle maker on the breakfast buffet, included. A spotless, peaceful, comfortable, beautiful stay with a great location

Room Tip: The suites are very reasonable and spacious and very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 3Cousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Found the hotel to have friendly staff and our room was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable and we had enough space to put our things so they are not in the way. Bathroom had hot water no matter the time of day. The breakfasts were fine, lots of choices and you can eat as much or as little as you like. Coffee was HOT!!! I had to put a bit of cold water in the cup so I could drink it right away or else I had to wait, otherwise, I burned my tongue. That is the only issue I had.

Room Tip: Chose main floor so we didn't have to take our luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdrunner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janae T, Public Relations Manager at Stoney Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

rdrunner2016, Thank you for the great review of your stay at Stoney Creek Inn in Galena. Galena is such a wonderful town and so fun to visit. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and found everything to be just right. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.9 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
2.6 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
8.9 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
12.2 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr, Galena, IL 61036-1361 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range: ₹ 5,734 - ₹ 9,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stoney Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing