We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a true GEM.....very happy we found it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Ranked #12 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Charles & Sandy are wonderful hosts of this special place. Charles is an artist and potter who is happy to share his studio with guests. Sandy makes a wonderful breakfast and is a super hostess. Together they share their beautiful home and surroundings with those of us fortunate enough to stay here

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Abe's for her birthday with another couple. We had a remarkable time. The proprietors are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious both mornings! The hot tub and sauna on the premises was superb! We had a very relaxing and enjoying weekend filled with wine tastings, massages and seeing the gorgeous sites that Galena offers in the Autumn. Our guest suite was very charming and spacious. We booked a birthday package and I was contacted to ask what kind of cake we would like for my wife's birthday. It was made next door at the Galena Bakery (I think that's the name) and it was delicious and offered lots to share. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get away and enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gohereforthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Took my BFF for a surprise getaway after her chemo. I researched B&B's, and kept coming back to Abe's Spring Street, boy am I glad I did. Sandy & Charles are the perfect hosts. Rudolphs Retreat room was wonderful. Very cozy, fireplace, king size bed, too many plus's to mention. Did the glaze&graze, just awsome. Sandy's breakfast's were amazing. The sculptures & pottery were breathtaking. Will stay again. Thanks Sandy & Charles, and of course Oreo.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I cannot recommend Abe's enough. My wife and I stayed in Rudolph's Retreat and got some fantastic rest, enjoyed leisurely walks over to Main St. and had some great breakfasts each morning. I used to go up to Galena for skiing and had never enjoyed the downtown and now can't wait to go back again to enjoy some of the wineries as well as another weekend at Abe's.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpminard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We were there for my husband's birthday weekend. It was wonderful and we highly recommend Abe's... Thank you to Sandy and Charles for your unique place and gracious service. We will be back !!! Jim & Sheri Rusilowicz

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.4 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
877 reviews
3.1 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
0.7 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
532 reviews
0.9 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Address: 414 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: ₹ 6,189 - ₹ 9,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing