We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend in galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deerfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“weekend in galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned home froma very nice weekend in galena. Since it was boy scout weekend in Galena, it seemed like the Goldmoor inn was one of the few quiet places there. My husband and I were very happy to return there each night since aside from the beautiful, peaceful grounds, the staff was very freindly and accomadating. Our room was half the size of my first floor in my home, the food was extremely good, the shower and bed couldn't have been better Plus , my ice bucket was filled for me, along with having a refrigerator filled with water and soda. I will definitely return! Michele from Deerfield, il

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    47
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
387
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, IA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husbanc and I went to the Goldmoor to celebrate our anniversary. It's a beautiful, secluded place and everything you need to relax is provided. We stayed in the Irish Cottage and had our own little deck with a beautiful view of the Missisippi. The accomodations were clean and comfortable. There is a little kitchenette where you can keep and make a snake. They brought us fresh cookies everyday! Breakfast comes with your stay and you can have it brought to your room which we did. That was a real treat. We stayed at the Inn all weekend reading, taking walks, and listening to music. Had supper at the Goldmoor Inns wonderful dining room both night and the food and service were excellent. Galena and shopping are close by if you decide you want to leave the Inn. We'll defininitely go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Went to the Goldmoor Inn for the fourth time. It is a great getaway not too far from Chicago. The Inn has great amenities and is very clean. Breakfast is great! This seems to be our place to get away once a year so I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed here probably about 5 times. We love the property and the rooms. The furnishings are beautiful, the beds are very comfortable, and the rooms feel luxurious. The breakfast is wonderful, and Galena is a great place to visit for a fun, romantic getaway. Just a few minor complaints that we have: the wi-fi was not great, DVD players were removed from the rooms (we love bringing our own movies), and some of the alarm clocks are ancient. Overall, it's still worth 5 stars in our opinion. They offer a 20% returning guest discount as well, so keep that in mind for the future. It's a great benefit! If you are thinking about heading to Galena, you will be so glad you chose the Goldmoor!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicgal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Spent two days here celebrating our birthdays. Our suite had a river view although the entire landscaped grounds are fantastic. We stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday so we were unable to try the dinners, but the breakfasts were great! Of course we strongly recommend the Goldmore.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
14.9 km away
Hawk Valley Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,846 - ₹ 26,254
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing