We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless....”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flawless....”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was the first time staying at Goldmoor for my wife and I. Our stay was perfect from beginning to end. We've stayed at many very good B&Bs but this one stands above all the others. We stayed in the Winston suite for 4 nights in January. The room was outstanding- well decorated, clean, spacious, and loaded with amenities. Amenities included large jacuzzi, big and comfortable bed, gas fireplace, big TV with tons of channels (HBO, showtime, etc), large bathroom and shower, spacious kitchen with mini fridge (for personal storage, not a mini-bar), dishes (cleaned everyday by housekeeping), coffee maker and all you can drink supply of coffee, free WI-FI. We brought our dog and this room worked out very well- the suite is very spacious. They even had a dog bowl filled with treats prepared when we got there- great attention to detail. The food was consistently exceptional, definitely the best we've had at any B&B. The 4 breakfast meals served were mixed berry pancakes, omelette loaded with ham/bacon/onions/peppers/cheese, french toast with fruit topping, and eggs benedict. Not exaggerating to say that pancakes and omelette were best I've ever had. Had dinner at Goldmoor on 2 nights of our stay. I had chicken and dumplings both nights, my wife had the scallop/pasta dish both nights- again, perfect. The Bailey's bread pudding made an awesome dessert- couldn't finish it that night, we were leaving the next morning so I ate it for breakfast because I couldn't bear to throw it away. Not proud of that, but it happened. The service was wonderful- they brought meals to our room on several occasions. The property and building are beautiful- large estate 6 miles outside of Galena on a hill overlooking the Mississipi river. It was great in January and it would be even better during the summer. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and seemed invested in making sure our stay was perfect. Overall, this was the best of many B&Bs we've stayed at, and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhughe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
405
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

What an absolutely beautiful and breathtaking weekend. My husband surprised me for our 21st anniversary, which he has never done before. It is one of the most beautiful, romatic places we've ever been. We went the 2nd weekend in October and loved it so much, we just booked another weekend!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just after Thanksgiving, my husband and I needed to get away from the daily schedule of work and the general routine. After searching for something within driving distance of the Chicago area, I found that the Goldmoor Inn also had cabins. Since we love the Northwoods atmosphere, we chose the Timberland Cabin which is decorated in the woodsy Northwoods fashion. We immediately relaxed next to the wood-burning stove, finally to retire in an extraordinarily comfortable king-sized bed. The cabin was equipped with a whirlpool tub, a separate kitchen, terry spa robes, and cable t.v. Dining at the Goldmoor was another pleasurable experience. The chef created the most incredible meals, and even gave us a tour of the kitchen after dinner. This was truly an amazing experience and an excellent retreat.

Room Tip: Cabins are set back from the hotel for a secluded atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have enjoyed staying at the Goldmoor 4x. Annually, In January, for my hubby's birthday. We can't say enough about it. Great rooms where you cannot go wrong! Good food. Warm, cozy, quiet, spaceous, relaxing. They offer everything you could want. I just love making a hot cup of coffee and stepping out onto the deck/porch where the brisk morning is quiet except for the sound of pure nature. The air is fresh and the Mississippi is grand. The fire is warm inside and you could relax in silence or watch a great movie. We have stayed at many B&B's and this one is our favorite. It's like home away from home. Since we are from Chicago, it's just a short drive away to escape the hustle and bustle. It's a FIVE Star. AND I would recommnd it for friends and solo and family. It's just perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had more than a wonderful dinner, we had a grand evening out, the Goldmoor is a beautiful inn and the food was delicious, elegantly dished, and the service could not have been better. The staff was unbelievably kind and attentive from the moment we walked in the door. We were greeted, they hung up our coats and then seated. We had a wonderful waitress whom was very knowledgeable of the menu and could answer every question we asked of her. The timing of the dishes could not have been better, just enough time between courses. After dinner the waitress asked if we would like to see the kitchen, which we jumped at the chance, we met the chef who was also extremely nice. Then the owner asked if we would like to see a couple of the rooms. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, one more beautiful than the other, as was the common areas. I would highly recommend, and know we will go back again. We live just 15 miles away, but I find myself trying to find a reason to stay overnight. As we were leaving the waitress warned us to watch for deer, and we saw one cross the road in front of us just a half mile from the Inn. Dianne S.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
838 reviews
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,131 - ₹ 27,008
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing